We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Museum - a treasure in the heart of San Jose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Precolumbian Gold Museum

Precolumbian Gold Museum
Calle 5 | between Central and 2nd Ave, San Jose, Costa Rica (Formerly Gold Museum (Museo del Oro))
506-243-4202
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #3 of 40 Attractions in San Jose
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A large collection of indigenous gold art.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Gold Museum - a treasure in the heart of San Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Still one of my favorite places to visit in San Jose! Never crowded, and lots of very interesting history and the most beautiful collection of gold pieces that I've ever seen. Took my husband there as we needed to get out and about for a bit, he and I really enjoyed it. I never get tired of seeing all the gorgeous golden art from the past civilizations...

Also enjoyed the currency exhibit, as well as the temporary (??) exhibit on architecture and currency that was on display. A nice way to spend an hour or two away from the hustle and bustle of San Jose.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    240
    62
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Very nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

There isn't a whole lot to do in San Jose. Most of the interesting stuff is further out from the city and I didn't have enough time because of business meetings to do them.

The gold museum was built by one of the central banks and showcases a lot of gold artifacts. Buying one ticket also gives you admission to the currency museum.

I was there for about 2 hours. It is located just next door to the National Theatre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not just gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The artifacts were fascinating, and exhibits show how the general goldsmithing process was handled, interspersing cultural info that illustrates how the people lived, and traded.

The money displays highlighted the changes in Costa Rican history both in building styles, coffee tokens, and other legal tender. I learned so much in a varied and entertaining way.

Staff were great and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved this museum. Everything is well displayed, with explanations in English and Spanish. The staff are friendly and the gift shop was as interesting as the museum.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gold Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm not into jewelry but WOW was this impressive! You get a sense of what's inside when you have to pass police guard towers to enter this impressive building. The museum does a LOT more than showcase beautiful artifacts, it details how they were created. This is truly a MUST SEE in San Jose - and then, on another day, visit the Jade museum which is nearby and is an equal in quality and presentation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Precolumbian Gold Museum also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Precolumbian Gold Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Precolumbian Gold Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.