We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special little getaway in San José” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milvia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Milvia
Save
You added Hotel Milvia to your Saves list
San Jose 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 56 San Jose B&B and Inns
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A special little getaway in San José”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

This small hotel is actually listed as a museum/hotel in some websites and GPS navigator units. Located in a quiet neighborhood near San Pedro, it is only minutes away from downtown San Jose and from shopping, universities, museums and other places to visit in the city.
Tucked away in a residential neighborhood, it is not totally quiet, as other reviewers have noted. You will still here the regular city noises that you will find in a busy city like San Jose. However these are not overwhelming or bothersome and normal for the city.
Staff is super helpful and very eager to assist you with any special requests. They are fully bilingual and very friendly and accommodating. Rooms come with breakfast included, which is basic but complete, including eggs made to your specifications (you have to ask or they may ask you), plenty of coffee, juice, bread, fruits, marmalades and such.
Perhaps the most interesting part of this hotel is the art found everywhere throughout the facilities. From hand-painted tiles in the bathrooms to large murals, oil paintings, sculptures and artifacts the place offers an interesting and creative alternative to regular hotels. An indoor small courtyard with a pond, a small terrace on the second floor, and a beautiful and private small garden completes the setting.
This is one of our favorite places to stay overnight when we go to the city for work. It is conveniently located, it has several good restaurants within walking distance (we like sushi and they are two within three blocks of the hotel) and the area is safe. It has become our home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room is different and has its own charm. Ask for a room with good hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place was very cute. It looks like a house being converted into a hotel so gives a feeling of being in a house. The service was very good. They helped us get to the down town, get to airport and when we had to leave on a tour to tortuguero they obliged to have us leave our baggage with them as we were coming back after the tour. The place was very clean and beautiful. It is located close to the down town and we could easily take a bus to go to down town. It is located in a safe place.
Mind you it is a little difficult to find this place. Our taxi driver had a tough time. Please get the landmark from the owners before you go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I hovered between a 3 and 4 star rating for this hotel, so other reviewers may disagree with me. Here are the highlights first: comfortable beds, good-sized rooms, very nice decor, several comfortable couches, patios and other seating areas for relaxing, and good prices. We also appreciated the emphasis on security, off-street parking for our car, and very pleasant and helpful multilingual staff. The problems included some difficulty getting hot water from our bathroom and a limited breakfast (tea/coffee, eggs on request, white bread for toast, fresh papaya or pineapple -- that's all, nothing more. Boring after three days.) We also found the dining options within walking distance to be rather limited. And we don't understand how everyone else can describe this as a quiet place. We were woken nightly by loud train whistles, street chatter, and car horns.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I originally decided to stay at Hotel Milvia because it's only a block away from Universidad Latina, not realizing how lucky I was to find this gem of a hotel. The room was quite large with a private bathroom, amazingly quiet, and decorated with simple elegance. I enjoyed spending time on both the rooftop patio and in the lush and well-maintained gardens. The staff were very nice, breakfast hit the spot. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is superb. Tucked away and very quiet. The owner could not be more charming and the walls are decorated with his wife's excellent art. The architecture of the building is quite breathtaking. If you are going to San Jose, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is very quiet and very nice; more like a B&B. Hidden out of the center of town it does require a taxi ride in but worth it! Includes a great breakfast, its clean, the owner and staff are SUPER, nice garden enclave surrounded by high walls and security gate. The decor is tasteful and the rooms are quite large and comfortable. One can walk to the main street area for a shopping center and miscellaneous eateries.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Since the breakfast and lounge areas are downstairs where there are rooms, I would suggest an upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Milvia became our home away from home as we based our (too) short week in Costa Rica from here. Steve and Carlos were excellent help in securing bus routes and taxis for us. The breakfasts were perfect for what we wanted. Some of the most interesting and friendly people shared breakfast with us and all were repeat customers who made Hotel Milvia their destination whenever in the San Jose area. When we left on for a night at La Selva Biological Station, we were able to leave our carry-ons at the hotel at no charge, leaving us only having to take our backpacks. The same was true for our 2 nights at Tortuguero. In addition, we were able to use their washer and dryer one night for a very small fee. (If you leave your laundry with them in the morning, they will return it to you neatly folded later in the day for, I believe, $10.00.)

The gate is closely monitored and it feels completely safe. The rooms are spacious and even though ours was on the street and there was street noise, we never found it annoying. If you are looking for a clean, safe, quaint, original place to stay, I highly recommend Hotel Milvia. We were grateful that it was part of our short stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milvia

Address: San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hotel Milvia Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milvia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.