We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay place..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo

El Pueblo
Pavas, San Jose, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 39 attractions in San Jose
Type: Neighborhoods, Malls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: San Jose's nightlife is concentrated in this complex made to look like an old Spanish village.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“okay place..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

el pueblo is a mall decorated like a very old villa. it has around 20 bars and very cheap alchool.
but is not a very safe place to go and to be honest the party there is not good at all.
if you want a better and safer time, go to "la calle de la amargura". its pretty good on friday and saturday.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    16
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun place to get drunk but keep an eye open.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The people who go there are mostly locals between ages 18-30. It was fun to drink, entrance to the mall was free. El pueblo is like a mall composed of multiple bars from which you can choose. We went to "friends" and payed 8 dollars per person for an open bar. It was okay, the line up for the bar was about 5 minutes. The ratio that day was horrible( Friday) ... 1 girl for every 5 guys in the bar... and you have to compete with the locals which makes a bit stressful because you get the feeling you can start a fight...

But in the end if you wanna get out and see something different it is a good place to visit as long as you keep your eyes open.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Seemed okay to me...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was initially skeptical about going to El Pueblo based on the reviews on here, but my friends wouldn't let me chicken out so I said a prayer and went anyway. It was a Friday night and I expected to see loads of thugs, vagabonds and shady individuals but it seemed quite normal to me (just like any other nightlife community). It is a huge compound with a variety of bars and clubs (most were free to get in) so we were able to do some club hopping. A fight did break out at one of the clubs but nothing serious.

If you have the chance, do go somewhere "safer" but if you must do El Pueblo, I would say go with a group (I was with 5 people - 3 of which were big muscular men so we felt a little safe) and be cautious, but overall I found it to be okay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Old and poorly maintained.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It is a shame that this hasn't been better kept. There are many empty shops and it is badly in need of maintenance. It is not a safe area at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great party and dancing...but becareful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I like to go to El Pueblo on Friday's and Saturday nights. Lots of beautiful women going out to dance and drink. You'll find a variety of bars and clubs inside as you walk through the maze. It really doesn't get popping until 11 or 12 at night. One must be careful going in all by yourself. There are some Colombian types that like to go out there and look for trouble.
A suggestion is when you leave, don't take the taxi's out front, they are there to charge you higher than the meter suggests. Walk out the gate, take a left, and walk up to the main road which is only about 20 seconds from the entrance. Take one of them taxi's.
One must go to El Pueblo during your stay in San Jose!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pueblo also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to El Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pueblo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Pueblo to your Saves list