We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My room was creepy and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel Los Yoses

Apartotel Los Yoses
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Apartotel Los Yoses to your Saves list
Apartotel Los Yoses
Barrio Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My room was creepy and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I'm so confused by the good reviews - maybe my room was just a dud? I stayed here recently with a tour group and my room (either room 20 or 21) was gross. There was a toothbrush and toothpaste left from a former guest, the towels were grey (but had once been white), the shower door was hanging off its hinges, the blinds were black (but had once been beige), and the wall behind the bed was black from people's heads. I actually washed down the wall with soap before I went to sleep, but never got it off. My room looked nothing like the pics on the website. On the positive side, the bedsheets seemed clean. My fellow travelers thought their rooms were fairly clean, so maybe the housekeeper assigned to this room wasn't the greatest. I really couldn't wait to leave and fortunately only spent one night there.

I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, though. I just wish they'd give the rooms a nice deep cleaning (please, replace those blinds! Just paint over the grimy walls!). At least the floor was wood and not carpet, maybe there are fewer creepy things. I didn't see any live bugs but there was a smashed cockroach on the bathroom wall.

Room Tip: Ask for the clean room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

When staying in San Jose (15-20 times), I prefer Los Yoses for its affordable pricing, attentive staff and location in the San Pedro community in San Jose. The rooms are old, but the housekeepers do a good job of keeping the place clean. The check in staff are very friendly and attentive at all hours. If you are going to stay for a prolonged period of time, this is a good choice since most rooms have a kitchen. It has a safe and secure parking lot for rental cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is one of the only accomidation options in the east side of San Jose near Downtown San Jose , San Pedro, Curridabat, Tres Rios and other close towns. The property is old yet a good value since the service and rooms are well maintained. Nice pool in the back area and across the street from San Pedro Mall

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is an old hotel which a little bit of paint and care. It has all what you need including AC, Microwave, Kitchen, Refrigerator, Hot Water and Cable TV. It has a good location because the San Pedro Mall is very close and the area is not so dangerous. However is a little far away from the Downtown, so you might have to take a Taxi to go there, which is cheap it only costs 3 USD. You can take a cab in the San Pedro Mall at any time.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stay for a whole week with my 18 year old daughter, the staff, everyone was very friendly always remember our names. Great place to rest after a long day, no bar, no restaurant, no casino but a friendly face asking how was your day and if you need anything. We had a huge room with a fully equipped kitchen,TV,nice bathroom with hot water always and wi-fi connection. We needed to make a phone call to our tour guide (twice) and they made the call without asking any question and no charge. The San Pedro mall is across the street and there is a great pizzeria just a few steps from the hotel, La Fabbrica, good pizza. Downtown San Jose is very close but if you go in the night call a cab, we took a walk on a sunday morning and had lunch at Nuestra Tierra,the best Casado we had, don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed in this hotel almost 3 weeks. We had an apart with 2 bedrooms. The apart was spacious, with TV, sofa, big dining table, and a little kitchen. The problem was that our apartment was on the main road (Avenida Central), which is really noisy (lot of traffic) and polluted (lot of black dust in the apartment). I'm sure the other rooms are much better because they are not facing the main road. Our baby didn't sleep well because of the noise from the street and also because there was lot of light in her room (windows just behind the big "apartotel Los Yoses" sign). The hotel staff was really nice, even if not all of them speak English. The 2 cleaning ladies were really nice (especially with our little girl), but they are unfortunately not really efficient. The toilet bowl was not clean when we entered the room, and during their daily chores, they didn't really clean the floor. They cleaned (with a broom) only the main path from the door to the kitchen and to the bedroom, ... the clothes of our little crawler were dirty after only 2 minutes on the floor...
And one more thing : if you travel with a baby or if you are disabled, note that this hotel has no lift, so ask for a room at ground level

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

I've stated other times at this hotel and it was ok, no luxury just a simple "loft" apartment with commodities for travelers.

Last time I TRY to stay in here was't possible. I arrived from the airport and went in to the lobby, when I asked for the reservation that I confirmed... twice therewas NO reservation, staff did not apologize about this mistake, and didn't help to solve the problem

Although the hotel is very outdated, dark, NOISY and uncharming son I won't book there never !!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noise, uncompetent staff, bad service, outdated and dark hotel, location near to the highway
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel Los Yoses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Los Yoses

Address: Barrio Los Yoses, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apartotel Los Yoses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Los Yoses Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel Los Yoses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.