We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable rooms with good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel Los Yoses Suites

Apartotel Los Yoses Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apartotel Los Yoses Suites to your Saves list
Apartotel Los Yoses Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrio Los Yoses, San Jose 1597, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable rooms with good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

When staying in San Jose (15-20 times), I prefer Los Yoses for its affordable pricing, attentive staff and location in the San Pedro community in San Jose. The rooms are old, but the housekeepers do a good job of keeping the place clean. The check in staff are very friendly and attentive at all hours. If you are going to stay for a prolonged period of time, this is a good choice since most rooms have a kitchen. It has a safe and secure parking lot for rental cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hotel is one of the only accomidation options in the east side of San Jose near Downtown San Jose , San Pedro, Curridabat, Tres Rios and other close towns. The property is old yet a good value since the service and rooms are well maintained. Nice pool in the back area and across the street from San Pedro Mall

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is an old hotel which a little bit of paint and care. It has all what you need including AC, Microwave, Kitchen, Refrigerator, Hot Water and Cable TV. It has a good location because the San Pedro Mall is very close and the area is not so dangerous. However is a little far away from the Downtown, so you might have to take a Taxi to go there, which is cheap it only costs 3 USD. You can take a cab in the San Pedro Mall at any time.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stay for a whole week with my 18 year old daughter, the staff, everyone was very friendly always remember our names. Great place to rest after a long day, no bar, no restaurant, no casino but a friendly face asking how was your day and if you need anything. We had a huge room with a fully equipped kitchen,TV,nice bathroom with hot water always and wi-fi connection. We needed to make a phone call to our tour guide (twice) and they made the call without asking any question and no charge. The San Pedro mall is across the street and there is a great pizzeria just a few steps from the hotel, La Fabbrica, good pizza. Downtown San Jose is very close but if you go in the night call a cab, we took a walk on a sunday morning and had lunch at Nuestra Tierra,the best Casado we had, don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed in this hotel almost 3 weeks. We had an apart with 2 bedrooms. The apart was spacious, with TV, sofa, big dining table, and a little kitchen. The problem was that our apartment was on the main road (Avenida Central), which is really noisy (lot of traffic) and polluted (lot of black dust in the apartment). I'm sure the other rooms are much better because they are not facing the main road. Our baby didn't sleep well because of the noise from the street and also because there was lot of light in her room (windows just behind the big "apartotel Los Yoses" sign). The hotel staff was really nice, even if not all of them speak English. The 2 cleaning ladies were really nice (especially with our little girl), but they are unfortunately not really efficient. The toilet bowl was not clean when we entered the room, and during their daily chores, they didn't really clean the floor. They cleaned (with a broom) only the main path from the door to the kitchen and to the bedroom, ... the clothes of our little crawler were dirty after only 2 minutes on the floor...
And one more thing : if you travel with a baby or if you are disabled, note that this hotel has no lift, so ask for a room at ground level

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

I've stated other times at this hotel and it was ok, no luxury just a simple "loft" apartment with commodities for travelers.

Last time I TRY to stay in here was't possible. I arrived from the airport and went in to the lobby, when I asked for the reservation that I confirmed... twice therewas NO reservation, staff did not apologize about this mistake, and didn't help to solve the problem

Although the hotel is very outdated, dark, NOISY and uncharming son I won't book there never !!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — noise, uncompetent staff, bad service, outdated and dark hotel, location near to the highway
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

I have stayed at this hotel many times while living in Costa Rica for a summer as well as on subsequent trips. The hotel is located in the Los Yoses area of San Jose and is situated close to lots of bars and restaurants. This area is far superior to downtown because it is more upscale(for Costa Rica) and much safer at night. The Mall San Pedro is located directly across the streeet with many cheap places to eat if you are on a budget but still want some Costa Rican food. The mall also has an internet cafe! For those who like to experience the local nightlife, Calle de la Amargura(the Street of Bitterness) is about a five minute walk from the hotel. This is where all of the local Tico students from the University hang out because of the very cheap beer. Also there are a few bars within about 100 yards of the hotel(Rio, Taos, etc). The rooms are very spacious and all of the ones I have stayed in have had large walk in showers and kitchens. The rates are very reasonable, especially for the size of the rooms($60-$80/night). One more additional piece of information that might be helpful is that cabs in San Jose are very cheap and you can catch one at almost any time right across the street in front of the mall. I hope you enjoy this hotel as much as I have. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Bergerac
Hotel Le Bergerac
#36 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#4 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
Hotel Ave del Paraiso
#1 of 2 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#31 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#27 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartotel Los Yoses Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Los Yoses Suites

Address: Barrio Los Yoses, San Jose 1597, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel Los Yoses Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23 suites from 450 sq ft to 860 sq ft 24/7. Swimming pool. We are located in one of San Jose's most upscale neighborhoods, known as "Los Yoses." Only ten minutes away are the University of Costa Rica, the Cultural Centers and downtown shopping. Also within walking distance, our guests can find a wide variety of restaurants and one of the largest malls in Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apartotel Los Yoses Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel Los Yoses Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel Los Yoses Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.