We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel La Sabana

Save Saved
You added Apartotel La Sabana to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte | De la Agencia Datsun 100 oeste y 150 norte, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed in downtown San Jose before and it can get very noisy at night. Since my wife was having dental surgery, I wanted somewhere quiet and with kitchen facilities. Apartotel La Sabana fit the bill very well. While it was further from the city center the tradeoff was peace and quite (at least for San Jose anyway). There is a grocery store fairly close as well as several restaurants. Try and get a room on the pool side versus the street side. Barking dogs in the neighborhood can be a problem. The breakfast is better then most, in that you have choices instead of just bread and fruit, which is the norm. We were there for a week and it was nice to have access to a washing machine and dryer. I found the staff to be very helpful. We have to go back after the first of the year and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad everything went well during your visit, and that you plan to keep coming back! Two of the things that make us most proud are our staff and our breakfast buffet!! All hot dishes are complemented with fresh tropical fruits and juices. We also have pancakes and cereal for those who are missing home... All of this prepared and served with much care and love by our lovely staff. Thank you for noticing! We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
69
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed there dozens of times over a decade. Great place with a small kitchen. Immaculate. Get a room on the poolsie,, car noise on the street side, and junk yard on the other outer fringe with dogs barking. Laundry is nice. Sauna. Free good bk, good wifi.Staff is experienced and many of them have been there for a long time, good sign. Korean owned incidentally.

They have had problems with the airport thing forever.

Room Tip: Poolside if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you keep returning to our hotel, we work very hard in building long lasting ties with our clients, providers and employees. Working in harmony and balance is one of our priorities! Thank you for your comments regarding the airport transport. I will look into it immediately. Because this service is not an "ongoing shuttle" back and forth from the airport, we do need to book the service and confirm it. I don´t know if this is what caused the problem; nevertheless, we will analize the situation and hope that we will be able to make it run as smoothly and transparent as possible. Again, thank you very much for your comments and for your continuing preference. Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's good standard, nice breakfast AND their transfer service to and from the airport: "We will gladly schedule your transport service from/to the Juan Santamaria International Airport to Apartotel La Sabana This service is free of charge" it says on their web site.

Unfortunately our plane was delayed and at one point we were scheduled to arrive at midnight and were very happy we already had arranged pick up through the hotel. BUT when contacting the hotel with our new flight time they said they couldn't pick us up any longer. Changes to the pick up time had to be made at least 24 hours in beforehand, but how is that possible when the flight is delayed?? And being two girls, the pick up would have been even more important to us when arriving in the middle of the night. We didn't feel comfortable grabbing a taxi at such a late hour.

"Luckily" our flight was even more delayed and we ended up being scheduled the next morning. We contacted the hotel again (and they had our flight no. all the time) and asked if they could arrange pick up in the morning, but still they said there was no way they could help us with pick up. We ended up taking a taxi. Arriving at the hotel we needed change to pay the taxi driver, we only had 20 dollar bills. We asked the hotel staff to help, but they were very difficult saying they couldn't change a 20 dollar bill. At last they lent us the few dollars we needed to pay the taxi driver. If you ask me, the least they could have done was to pay the whole taxi bill when canceling their transfer service because of our delayed arrival!!

When we left the hotel the next day we tried to explain to the staff at the front desk that we had a really bad experience with their transfer service promises and that this experience had colored our whole stay. They showed no sign of understanding. This really disappointed us, again, and is why we rate the hotel as poor. Had they only kept their promise about the transfer service it would have been very close to great. Too bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so sorry this situation arised and that we did not act accordingly to solve your problem. You are completely right, we should have been able to provide the transfer service, even if your flight was delayed twice.

We provide the transfer service through a transportation service, who is contracted by our hotel to do so. This company does not offer service from midnight to 4am, this is why we specify in all our information that the service is subject to schedules. Either way, because your flight was delayed twice and you ended up arriving the next morning, the company should have completed the transfer service. And even though the service was not offered by the transportation company, we should have covered the cost of the taxi you took, I agree completely.

We have discussed this situation with all staff and hope this kind of situation will not arise again. Please accept my sincere appologies on my personal behalf and on behalf of all our team. We hope you will give us the opportunity of making it "great" the next time, and we thank you for sharing your experience and helping us improve and evolve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

In a quiet street away from the main road, all is quiet. The room has a large fridge and most have a balcony facing the swimming pool, with wifi for work. Nice classy tiled artistic pool; one of the best breakfast - inside or by the pool.
Friendly staff. Walking distance to 4 restaurants, 15 mn to grocery store. Will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you mentioned our location, we are so happy to have the best of two worlds: accessible yet quiet and private. All our artwork has been done by local artist Patricia Barrantes, our pride and joy; so glad you liked it!! We hope to be able to continue serving you. Thank you for your encouraging words, see you soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved the hotel itself, the service was great, the staff was pleasant, and the rooms were clean. The only issue is the location which the hotel can't change. If you're in Costa Rica vacationing and are interested in any of the nature tours, San Juan is extremely far from any excursion. There is also very little typical food around, it's really extremely Americanized. They have a huge mall nearby, outback, Starbucks,McDonalds, BUrger King, etc. Not really my scene but if that's what your looking for, then this is your spot. There is also a supermarket near by, which comes handy, and most rooms have a small fridge. They also can exchange US money for you into colones, they offer filtered water throughout the hallways, and the breakfast is amazing! The pool is nice but during the rainy season, which for them is most of the year, you'll never get to use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are so glad everything went well during your stay! I agree with you, San José has become highly americanized. I think is is a trend in third world countries, but agree that there is a balance to be seeked. It would be ideal to have the convenience and efficiency of first world countries, and still keep our identity. This fine line is very easy to cross, and to be able to balance both ends is an art in itself, as in every aspect of our lives.

I am happy to say there are good news! This year we will be certified in the Sustainable Turism Program. We have been wathering all sorts local, rural and community information on activities, self-guided walk through tours, traditions, recipes, etc. Also, we are shifting all our operations towards local manufacturers and suppliers. We hope to be as authentic as we possibly can! All the art work you saw around the hotel has been designed and executed by local artist Patricia Barrantes, our pride and joy! So there is hope!

Thank you again for your review and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After having a terrible experience at another hotel, the staff at Apartotel La Sabana was a breath of fresh air. They were professional, helpful, and always available to answer my questions. Other people staying at the hotel had been returning for many years to vacation and for medical appointments and surgeries. The rooms are quite adequate. The breakfast was substantial and changed from day to day. The staff was helpful in pointing out restaurants in the area, and in providing general information. Nothing seemed to be too much for them. I was here for a few weeks while I was recovering from surgery. This is not a surgery recovery center, but they said people who are recovering from cosmetic and dental surgery stay there all the time. I will certainly be returning to this fine place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It fills us of such joy to read your review! Thank you so much! We are very proud of having wonderful people in our team, they are very people & solution oriented, and most importantly, they really enjoy what they do! We do hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future, maybe next time you visit us you will have the chance to do some sightseeing! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was out first visit to Costa Rica and a friend booked this for us. Originally for one night as we weren't sure of our plans. They were helpful and there were no issues when we needed to change this to 3 nights. Room were clean and a good size, breakfast was great and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so glad everything was up to your expectations! Our focus is and always will be, to set new standards in service and overall customer satisfaction. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | De la Agencia Datsun 100 oeste y 150 norte, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel La Sabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;