We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel La Sabana

Save Saved
You added Apartotel La Sabana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte | De la Agencia Datsun 100 oeste y 150 norte, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After having a terrible experience at another hotel, the staff at Apartotel La Sabana was a breath of fresh air. They were professional, helpful, and always available to answer my questions. Other people staying at the hotel had been returning for many years to vacation and for medical appointments and surgeries. The rooms are quite adequate. The breakfast was substantial and changed from day to day. The staff was helpful in pointing out restaurants in the area, and in providing general information. Nothing seemed to be too much for them. I was here for a few weeks while I was recovering from surgery. This is not a surgery recovery center, but they said people who are recovering from cosmetic and dental surgery stay there all the time. I will certainly be returning to this fine place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It fills us of such joy to read your review! Thank you so much! We are very proud of having wonderful people in our team, they are very people & solution oriented, and most importantly, they really enjoy what they do! We do hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the future, maybe next time you visit us you will have the chance to do some sightseeing! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    59
    8
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
69
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was out first visit to Costa Rica and a friend booked this for us. Originally for one night as we weren't sure of our plans. They were helpful and there were no issues when we needed to change this to 3 nights. Room were clean and a good size, breakfast was great and staff friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are so glad everything was up to your expectations! Our focus is and always will be, to set new standards in service and overall customer satisfaction. We hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Thank you and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The date traveled is incorrect - I used to live in the neighborhood of Sabana Sur (on the other side of the park from the hotel) and always had my visiting family stay at Apartotel La Sabana. The staff is kind and the hotel is clean, pretty and convenient. It's about a 20-30 minute walk to downtown San Jose. There are buses on the main street about one block from the hotel that will take you downtown; and from the bus stop across the park you can easily get to Escazu and beyond. The Costa Rican art museum is about a 10 minute walk through the park from the hotel.

This is a quiet hotel - not a place to go if you want to party. Sabana/Rohrmoser is a middle/upper middle-class neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad you had your family stay with us during their visits. We are very happy with our location; we can offer a very quiet and private environment, but also easy access to public transportation, both towards the east and west of the city. And we are so greatful for La Sabana, San José´s most beautiful park only a block away from the hotel! Hope to be able to serve you and your family again soon! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here recently after reading such nice reviews. As previously stated, breakfast is consistently good, always fresh fruits and juices and a good variety of other choices. The rooms are a nice size and set up. The views from our room were amazing!! But what impressed me the most was the hospitality of the entire staff. Each staff member that we met was friendly and helpful. Several times Yonder and Mauricio were around to assist us in way or another. They should be commended for their reputation of good service, not only would I return, I would suggest it to others as well. If I could make one suggestion for improvement, it would be the wifi. It was hard to keep a connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! We are very very furtunate to have such a wonderful team, they really are an inspiration to everyone!! Thank you for your comment on the Wi-fi. We have already changed the location of one of the main Access Points, it is working very well now. Sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused. Hopefully, you will see the improvement during your next visit. Best regards and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed twice at this hotel in 2013 for lengthly stays as we had dental work done in San Jose, and we have grown to love it. The staff is so welcoming. Christian the manager greeted us by name when we returned for a second visit, and all the staff are cordial and helpful with booking tours, restaurants, etc. We love the location and the discreet scale of the hotel. It is quiet and beautifully appointment with art, tilework and sculpture in the common areas and rooms. The price is very reasonable and they offer a dental discount, and a tray of soup and other soft food, so welcome after a long day at the dentist. It is right across the street, too, from Park Cafe, one of the best restaurants/antique shops in the city, and half a block from the large Parque La Sabana. Lots of Costa Ricans stay here for business and many Americans getting dental work done in San Jose. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We've had kitchenettes on both sides of the hotel and both are quiet and fine. We like the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed the special menu for our dental-treatment guests. It is just a small token of our appreciation; we know a long day at the dentist chair con be both physically and emotionally demanding! All our artwork and tile work is done by local artist Patricia Barrantes, the paintings in the rooms are all done by my mother Rosa Cheng. We are so proud of them! We hope to see you again very soon and hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Walk around the room floors for just a few minutes in bare feet and your feet will be BLACK on the bottom--my friends' room was the same. Next day I saw the reason why----housekeeping has to use a bath towel, instead of a regular mophead, mounted on a mop pole to mop the floors and halls---and with no mop bucket for rinsing either ! Rooms and halls always seem to just be given a quick vacuuming since mopping them is ineffective anyway. Management needs to properly equip the housekeeping employees so they can do their job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are very sorry and preoccupied about your experience regarding the floors in the rooms and hallways. This morning we had a meeting with all housekeeping personnel and discussed your review and the need to improve in the cleanliness of floors. It was a very productive and positive meeting. With the housekeepers participation as well as new supervision methods and practices, we are sure we will be able to improve. We thank you for sharing this with us and for giving us the opportunity to be better every day. Hopefully, you will give us another opportunity and visit us again, so that we can share the improvements with you. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viña del Mar
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I spent a week at the Apartotel La Sabana, and was a very wonderful location to reach the city center, very safe, friendly and good price.

Is located close to a beautiful park, some restaurants, and you can take a taxi, that is not expensive, and reach the city center, or go to the Mall (Multiplaza Escazú was really nice),

Good traditional breakfast, and don't miss the pool......
Also free cold bottled water to drink close to the rooms, for you to serve....

Nice stay!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are so glad you enjoyed our location. We think we have the best of both worlds: accessible and private at the same time. A short 3 minute taxi ride will take you downtown, and at the same time you will feel in the middle of the tropics enjoying a sun bath next to our pool, surrounded by mosaic art and humming birds zooming by. We hope we can serve you again in the future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | De la Agencia Datsun 100 oeste y 150 norte, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel La Sabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.