We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific bargain close to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel La Sabana

Save Saved
You added Apartotel La Sabana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartotel La Sabana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sabana Norte | De la Agencia Datsun 100 oeste y 150 norte, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Dominical, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific bargain close to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stay in this hotel regularly. We live in Costa Rica, and use this every time we visit San Jose, which is a three-hour drive away for us, so it is normally an overnight trip. The staff is wonderful, and we feel like family. Rooms start, depending on season, at $60/night and up. Options include kitchenettes in some, and more. Many rooms have small refrigerators, Pool in the courtyard, some rooms with balconies. The breakfasts here are SUPERB! Fresh fruits, juices, gallo pinto, potatoes, oatmeal, pancakes, toast, eggs cooked to order....served 6 - 9 AM. We have never been disappointed in anything here-we've left things, and they've mailed them to us! Only downside is the showers; they are very small. But overall, this is a terrific find, very inexpensive, immaculately clean, and conveniently located.

Room Tip: All seem quiet unless there is an event in the stadium, or a concert in La Sabana park (rare, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad we can call ourselves your home in San José! Our kitchen staff is a very special group of ladies, they will be so happy to hear you love their brekfast! They are always thinking of new recipes, hopefully we will be able to surprise you on your next visit! Thank you so much and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    57
    6
    9
    6
See reviews for
43
66
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Well I would definitely choose this place for every single trip in the future.
We stayed in January twice and were more than happy. It is a 20 min drive from the airport. The place itself is just next to a large natural park with amazing vegetation and many activities like boats ride, horse riding etc. The shops - both grocery and everyday staff- as well as the drugs store work late, are in 5 min walk(just be careful crossing the main street) and offer whatever we might have needed.
The resturants are in 5 to 20 min walk - from bbq to mcdonalds and seafood.
Parking within the hotel area is very safe.
There is a pool - quite a large one! - and chairs to relax outside.
The rooms are just very good, large, comfy. We stayed in apartments with a huge kitchen/dining room.
I should have started with the team of the hotel but decided to put it as a final unbeatable point. You feel like you're with your family who know you very well, guess your wishes and do care of you.
This is a good place.
The only issue that were surprising me was the fact that one night it was extremely loud outside...there is a kind of disco or something on the opposite side of the street and they might have had a holiday or something that day. We never heard them any other day we stayed though ( totally 5 days on our way there and back).

Room Tip: Apartments include extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad you found our staff helpful, they are a very special group of people and we are so proud of them! Very sorry to hear that Casa España across the street was a bit noisy. They very seldom have activities going on, but we are always in communication with them to avoid this incidents.

Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having been to Costa Rica 7 times and lived there for 3 months, I usually stay at in SJO at the beginning and end of my trip(s) when I go to explore the country. I first discovered Apartotel La Sabana May 2011 and then again May 2012. Service here is outstanding - and that is for every individual. Cristian, Francisco and the other gentleman are very pleasant as well as the gentleman who works at the desk in the evening.

If you're looking for Hilton comfort, this is not it. However, if you want clean accommodations and spectacular service this is indeed. My favorite things are the automatic hot water system, refreshing pool with fountain, wireless internet, balcony rooms, and privacy. The hotel does not let in random guests as the desk is guarded. My friends are respectable native ticos and each have always had to wait for me in the lobby which I understand and respect.

Breakfast is an my favorite and the women make the best gallo pinto I've ever head in Costa Rica. The fresh juice is great as well. The hot breakfast is included in your rate. Undoubtedly, I feel safe staying here always. San Jose can have some sketchy parts. Close to here is my favorite bar/restaurant Mac's American Bar. It is filled with ticos and the menu has lots of native food and a "casado" that I could eat daily. The gentleman are great with directions as well as helping you organize local tours. I will always stay here. The included transfer to the airport in Alajuela is a sweet part of the deal as well! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms facing the pool if you can - the fountain sounds nice at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! We are so glad you have decided to make us your home in Costa Rica, and definitely look forward to your visit in May 2013! We are so glad you like our breakfast, one of our favorite areas is the cafeteria; we so enjoy thinking of new projects for our lovely kitchen staff! As they say, the way to the heart is through the stomach! Hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed in San Jose for 7 weeks and stayed at this hotel all the time. Staff is really nice. Breakfast is great. Pool always clean and I liked the family atmosphere ... and the price is right. I stayed in the one bedroom overlooking the street which had a small balcony an on the other side had the view of the pool :) .. room has kitchen with all things needed. There is a supermarket not too far away and the Sabana Park 3 blocks away. ( I went doing my running over there every day). Buses are nearby and they call your taxi if you need one .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your 7 week stay with us! The park is a great place of joggers, nothing like it in San José! We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markelo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This small hotel is close to the airport and just outside the centre of San Jose. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is nice. There is fruit, yoghurt, bread and there is a cook who makes pancakes, rice or eggs in the morning. Rooms are a little old-fashioned, but clean, so we were content. A few restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you found the hotel up to your expectations. We are currently working on updating our rooms. By early next year, all our rooms will have flat screen TV´s and granite top desks. Also, we are improving the bed sheeting and including a small refrigerator in our Standard Rooms. Thank you for sharing your opinions, they always help us improve! Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I have been operating a tourism business in Costa Rica for over 20 years. This lovely hotel has been a favorite for the past 5 years. It has such a convenient location and we love the inclosed parking area. The grounds are beautiful and impeccably kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. Each time we visit there are new details added to make guests more comfortable and improve the service. They actually keep improving on perfection!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We feel so proud and happy to know that you have been noticing the improvements we work on! Hopefully we will always have new ideas and will be able to surprise you everytime you visit! Thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamorada Fl
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This is a wonderful little hotel. Staff just couldn't get any nicer. The location is great just around the corner from the highway (convenience without the noise) also close to the airport. Has everything you need including a beautiful pool & sauna. They have every accommodation from just a hotel room to efficiencies and full apartments. You are just a few doors from the sabana w/ it's rainbow trees. There is a major grocery store, many nice restaurant choices, casino, major car renting agencies are all within a 2 to 5 minute walk. The bus to take you anywhere in San Jose is just at the bottom of the street. On our last visit my daughter had her wisdom teeth removed. Hotel allowed me to use the kitchen to make her mashed potatoes (the only thing she wanted & could eat easily) Clean, comfortable & friendly...what more do you need?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaHon, Gerente at Apartotel La Sabana, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review! We are so glad we could help during your daughter´s treatment. We hope everything worked out fine and that you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel La Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel La Sabana

Address: Sabana Norte | De la Agencia Datsun 100 oeste y 150 norte, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartotel La Sabana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartotel La Sabana is the perfect mix between an apartment and a hotel.Our fully serviced apartments are the ideal lodging with the comfort of home yet with all the benefits of a hotel, such as room service, front desk services, private parking, laundry, safe deposit box, breakfast and more.We have very competitive rates, specially for long-stay trips either for a single corporate business traveler, for family groups or groups of friends.Enjoy all the privacy that you need with great independence in a friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Apartotel La Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartotel La Sabana Hotel San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana San Jose
Apartotel La Sabana Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel La Sabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.