We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaps Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kaps Place to your Saves list
Kaps Place
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Street 19, Between Avenues 11 & 13, #1142 | De Emergencias del Calderón Guardia 250 metros norte, Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 56 San Jose B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place was clean, comfortable, yummy breakfast, wifi access, incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Beds were a little hard, but everything else about this place was wonderful. Stayed here with a group of 8 youth and 2 adults. Everyone enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your comment.

For us it's always very important to read the information provided by customers through their comments. For the team of Kaps Place is very valuable to know that we have offered you a pleasant stay and we could meet your expectations of cleanliness, safety and comfort.

We will continue working hard to honor comments like this one.
We look forward you repeat your visit to our Guesthouse in the near future.
Warm regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    60
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
30
65
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ein Shemer, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay, friendly staff and very helpfull. The rooms are nice and clean, common area is colorful and very inviting, and the location is good - its a walking distsnce from the centre of town. We used it as a base between traveling to places around Costa Rica and it was nice to come back to a homey place. Great value for your money!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest!
Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience.
We were glad to have you as our guest. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and that you found our property with a good location in regards where you wanted to go. Many guests use Kaps Place as a home base while travelling around our beautiful Costa Rica.
We hope you come back to Costa Rica and Kaps Place in the near future.
Pura Vida!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The common spaces are homey, with a hammock and a garden. They gave us parking, and had coffee available all day. The place did have a bit of a hostel feel. Also, we stayed in two different rooms, one of them was nice, but there was one right behind the reception area, which was noisy and small.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary. Kaps Place offers a family, safe and secure ambiance with reinforced quiet hours between 10 pm - 8 am. We ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay with individualized customer service. We do hope to be your home in San José during your next visit to Costa Rica.
PURA VIDA!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Kaps Place has lovely communal areas, including a kitchen, garden and a DVD lounge. The staff were lovely and very helpful and the breakfast was great.The room was a bit basic for the money without a TV or much furniture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary. We like to offer our guest a comfortable, family friendly, secure and safe home during their stay. With our 32 fully equipped rooms with TV/cable, fan, bed linen, soap, clock, phone and hot water and our new addition, Zen House, with 7 rooms equipped with plasma TV´s. We are sorry to hear about your experience, however, we do hope that you would give us another opportunity to be your host in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Kaps place is an absolutely adorable place with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were small yet very clean, and a great value for the price. There are plenty of places to hang out if you are with a group of people (living room style sections). The kitchen was also a great resource that was available. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear KaitDew,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very proud of meeting your needs in an efficient and warmth way. We will continue working hard.

We hope you come back to Costa Rica and Kaps Place in the near future.

Wish you both the best!!!

Karolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a nice hotel not far from the centre of San Jose. We really appreciatet the room with a double and a bunkbed. Perfect for our family. The breakfast was big and delicious. The staff was helpful and friendly. A big kitchen to cook was also there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Lisa,

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our facilities and that you found our property with a good location in regards where you wanted to go. Many guests use Kaps Place as a home base while travelling around our beautiful Costa Rica.

As we read your message we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our "Upgraded Breakfast Buffet". We have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service, hospitality and needs.

We look forward serving you on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I visited Kaps Place for Two Days in July. My trip was short, but the entire team at Kaps Place made me feel quite welcome! I felt very safe in the neighborhood, and received great tips on where to to/what to see nearby. It is a 15-20 minute walk to downtown (centro), and about a 20 minute cab ride to the parties/clubs/bars in San Pedro (by the University).

The facility itself is clean, well maintained and properly staffed. it does offer basic amenities (hot showers, free breakfast, bedding). I found it to be a great value! The "CEO" Karolina, was marvelous to interact with. She said my name in a funny way, and even shared a few drinks with me. I found her hospitality to be reflective of the Costa Rican people as a whole!


Folks - this is no Marriot, but if you are travelling out and about, this is a good, decent and safe place. The taxi cabs may not know where it is located, so bring its address with you. Also, ask Karolina where to go in/around the area. She offers superb free advice! Highly reccomended!

(Yaseen, New York, NY)

Room Tip: Book early, there is double occupancy and single occupancy rooms, choose correctly. Beds are twin si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Yaseen,
Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience.
We were glad to have you as our guest. Kaps Place is blessed with the location for travelers who wish to walk and explore without the need of a car. Downtown has many attractions and interesting places to visit. Barrio Aranjuez, is quiet and safe and just 12 minutes walking from downtown.
We had a nice time with you and we look forward to having you again in the near future.
PURA VIDA!!! Cheers!!!
Karolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Address: Street 19, Between Avenues 11 & 13, #1142 | De Emergencias del Calderón Guardia 250 metros norte, Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Waxing/Massages, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to @60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaps Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.