We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to start your trip to Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaps Place

Save Saved
You added Kaps Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaps Place
Street 19, Between Avenues 11 & 13, #1142 | De Emergencias del Calderón Guardia 250 metros norte, Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 52 San Jose B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to start your trip to Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Kaps Place is a pretty hostel - located conveniently in the city center of San José. They offer a great breakfast, access to a kitchen, and free wifi. The staff is extremely nice and helpful, attending to all your needs. It is a great place to start your trip, meet other travelers, and explore the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    57
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
29
62
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Kaps Place has a unique flare that is comfortable for any budget traveler. Your stay will be safe and secure. You'll be surrounded by many traveling people loyal to this hostel. The staff are helpful and knowledgable of what to do in Costa Rica.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Kaps is a very pretty, clean hostel with friendly staff and guests. They have a great breakfast included and the rooms are very comfortable. The wifi works well too. The staff is very helpful with directions around town, etc. It is a pleasant 10 minute walk to the city center and pedestrian boulevard, with some nice parks on the way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

the place has a wonderful community feeling. the people were friendly, it was comfortable, very clean, had lots of beautiful, airy and open common space, amazing gallo pinto for breakfast, and FAST wifi - even in the rooms! oh and an awesome free DVD selection to watch at your leisure if you've got some down time... at half the price of anywhere else, and super close to the also-excellent "cafe mundo," i can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else in san jose. this place rocks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Within very easy walking distance of the central pedestrian area of San Jose, this hostel has lots of private rooms, great staff, a couple of kitchen areas, and a very nice breakfast included in the price. They will also arrange shuttles to and from the airport and have free internet and international calling available for guests. We stayed there on our arrival in Costa Rica and again for a couple of nights before we left to return home.

Room Tip: Double rooms may have private or shared bath so you may want to inquire if that's important to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I ran across this little place quite by accident, I arrived late into San Jose missing my 7:30 am Interbus pick up, so here I am at the airport at 8 pm and no reservations. I called the place I always stay and find them full but he recommends this place Kaps and the lady cab driver knew the place and thanks goodness because believe me you would never find it otherwise. I am so thankful the lady had held a room for me when she only had two. she met me at the gate, helped me with my luggage and showed me her tea selection. I was in heaven, she had lemon grass. I had my own staircase and I looked over the breakfast/courtyard area. I had a good quiet nights sleep, (I needed a blanket with the fan on) internet was in my room, my own hot shower, breakfast and off to Playa Chiquita I headed. She even helped with Interbus to tell them where I was. Oh, it was only $40. "YOU GO GIRL"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was pushed out from another very nearby place where my friends were staying. There were no more rooms so I rolled over to Kaps. Well, what an upgrade. I was paying much less than my friends and having been in the other place was blown away by how much more I was getting for the price!!! I could not think of one additional thing that Kaps could come up with in order to make a traveler's stay more convenient and comfortable. Thanks and see you next time I come to San Jose!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Address: Street 19, Between Avenues 11 & 13, #1142 | De Emergencias del Calderón Guardia 250 metros norte, Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Waxing/Massages, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to @60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaps Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.