We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Accommodating and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaps Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kaps Place to your Saves list
Kaps Place
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Street 19, Between Avenues 11 & 13, #1142 | De Emergencias del Calderón Guardia 250 metros norte, Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 55 San Jose B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Accommodating and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kap's Place was the first place we stayed upon arriving in Costa Rica. We arrived at the hotel later than we had told them we would be arriving on account of terrifying traffic in San Jose, a street festival blocking streets we needed to go down, and my navigational skills being sub-optimal. They were exceptionally friendly and didn't mind us being late. Our room was very clean and homey feeling.
We had to leave very early for White Water Rafting the following morning so did not get to enjoy breakfast - but saw the preparation for it going on in the kitchen and it looked scrumptious.

We hadn't made arrangements for our final night in Costa Rica because we were traveling around so much we were unsure whether we were going to stay in San Jose or in Playa San Miguel. When we decided, last minute, to go back to San Jose, we called Kap's Place and they were more than accommodating booking us in for a room for the night. We arrived EXTREMELY late and still they were super friendly and welcoming.

Definitely a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    60
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
62
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

One of the highlights of my stay in Costa Rica was the beautiful oasis at Kaps Place, a hostel that feels like your home. From the welcoming and beautiful Karolina to the excellent staff, from the imaginative paintings and decorations in each room to the full-on showers (best in town!), this is one sweet and reasonable place to stay. They help in incredible ways to make your trip easy -- ordering taxis, providing a phone to call home, internet service, you name it.

Room Tip: go for the private bathroom - the room is better and it's worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am not a backpacker and this place is noted in Lonely Planet as 'mid range'. I wouldn't say that. It is (good) backpacker style accomodation and reasonably priced. That said, I liked it. Most of all, the front desk is very, very helpful (thank you Dorothy and Carolina for all of your help).

I was in chalet 4. It is small and has a shared bathroom. I felt like I was transported in some LSD trip to Switzerland, but a hispanic, and slightly warmer one.

It's all about sharing kitchens, spaces and conversations at Kap's place. Lots of internet access and a decent little breakfast.

Try the great vegetarian restaurant at the end of the street and Isabel's ust up the road too - nice little sodas.

Room Tip: Chalet 4 is a little small. Try and find a room that is a little larger if you are a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Previous reviewer who we met during New Year at Kap’s already described the place very accurately and eloquently with 5 stars, so I decided to be brief.

We stayed at Kap’s place for couple days during our Christmas vacation. The place has lovely character and it is quite cozy. Our room was basic but decent. It is located close to downtown (about 15 minutes’ walk) in rather quiet and safe neighborhood. The staff is extremely friendly and fun. Gallo Pinto cooked for breakfast was yummy.

On New Year’s Eve, Kap’s owner Karolina and her family hosted dinner and get together for all the guests which was a blast. We did the count down and celebration in Costa Rican style. After midnight, Karolina took us to terrace to have a view of sky lit by fireworks. It felt like we were at our Costa Rican family’s house for holidays. Two thumbs up for Kap’s.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a great stay here for far too short a time on our honeymoon, though it was packed with great memories!

Karolina is AMAZING! She was very quick in email response and extremely accommodating. The place is beautiful, and the pictures don't do it justice at all; nor does the front entrance, though once you walk in the front door and walk down the long corridor to reception, you enter the sanctuary-like Kap's Place. There are so many comfortable nooks and crannies in this place, you could easily stay for a week and not find all the best places to sit and relax. The variety of rooms and spaces allows for travelers of all types and budgets--very private to very public. We had a big tour and all the rooms seemed nice.

We got there on New Years Eve and were blessed with a wonderful family dinner prepared by Karolina and her extended family. The few long-term guests were all treated as a part of that family, and we were surprised to be welcomed as a part of it too. The spread was incredible and the party excellent. All the guests we hung out with were the type of easy-going, friendly travellers like ourselves, and we were very happy to hang out with everyone. Though not all the guests were at the party and it wasn't a big deal--like I said, there are enough places to hang out there aside from your room to have your own space, even when a party is going on.

We watched fireworks from the balcony where there's a stunning panoramic view of the city. A great place to hang out on any day, but on this particular one, fireworks lit up the night.

I won't suggest that you'll get a family party every night, but the atmosphere was very relaxed and welcoming. And hopefully our experience gives a sense of the type of person Karolina (CEO) is and how she manages the property and treats her guests. This place is her baby and her guests are an extension of that.

When we go back to Costa Rica, we'll definitely make time to stay here, and hopefully for a longer stay. It'll be a great jump-off for exploring San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary. Kaps Place is a safe, secure family oriented and quiet hotel B&B where we like to provide service and tranquility to all ages. We like to provide you an home in San José where you feel welcome and in the hope to be a repeat guest in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have traveled the world on business and pleasure for 45 years. A recent month and a half stay at KAP’S PLACE in Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose, Costa Rica proved a finer a stay than experienced in much more expensive hotels and pensions. The location of KAP’S is very convenient to downtown. The neighborhood is clean and safe. You will be politely greeted by almost everyone you pass on the street with a sincere, “Buenos Dias!” You will be convenient to places to eat, grocery stores, bars and even WalMart. Taxis and buses are convenient and reasonably priced.

Do not allow the rather plain entrance of KAP’S to mislead you. Owner, Karolina Bermúdez, will provide the warmest, most helpful greeting by staff and management you will ever experience anywhere in the world. Inside is a Zen experience of tranquility and peace. Staff and management will provide encyclopedic knowledge of tours, services and the country in general.

Uniquely individualistic rooms and all areas of KAP’S are squeaky clean. The kitchen, shared with other guests, is well equipped and a wonderful place to get to know your fellow travelers. Fresh coffee and an excellent selection of teas are available 24 hours. Breakfast is at 7 AM.

Very interesting people stay at KAP’S. I met a retired Spanish engineer, whose hobby is drilling water wells for impoverished African villages, several people taking advantage of Costa Rica’s excellent and less expensive medical and dental facilities, a British linguistics PhD studying indigenous languages supplanted by Spanish and English, an American journalist, an English doctor, a Swiss citizen in country to climb local volcanoes, various nationalities in San Jose for a bicycle tour to Honduras and Americans exploring the possibilities of Costa Rican residency.

No matter your purpose, for being in Costa Rica, you are sure to enjoy your stay at KAP’s.

Sincerely,
John McGilvray
Lake Dallas, Texas

Room Tip: Taking extended tours? Going to the beach for a week or so? KAP'S will secure you unneeded lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karolina B, General Manager at Kaps Place, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taken the time to write us your commentary. Kaps Place offers accommodations for long and short term stays with personalized service with a smile. With hotel amenities not often find in hostels. We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your long term stay with us and we do hope to be of your service in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We've stayed at Kaps dozens of times in the past and never had any issues, clean rooms, friendly service, quiet and calm atmosphere, things must have changed because after staying only one night I couldn't sleep due to the incessant noise, we were put in a room literally next door to reception which wasn't bad but being that close to the main part of the house also means you can hear everything, again if the noise was at a reasonable time it would have not been an issue, after going to bed at about 10pm we were woken up by a group of people right outside the door which sounded like locals who seemed to have no respect for those sleeping because they were extremely loud with not a care for those who might be in bed, seriously the worst night Ive ever had at Kaps, I will never book another night at this hotel, if i wanted a hostel I would have stayed at a hostel.

Room Tip: never stay in the main part of the hotel, too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaps Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaps Place

Address: Street 19, Between Avenues 11 & 13, #1142 | De Emergencias del Calderón Guardia 250 metros norte, Barrio Aranjuez, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kaps Place 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Costa Rican family will host and meet your needs providing accommodation, travel agency & personalized services (Spanish lessons, Waxing/Massages, Post Surgery Care & meals). A clean, safe, colorful & comfortable setting w/kitchens, 1st class beds, safety boxes, cable TV, hot water. Complimentary: breakfast, tea, coffee, WiFi, internet access, luggage storage & VOIP calls to @60 countries. Walk to: downtown, Gold, Jade & National Museums, National Theater, Plaza de la Cultura, Bolivar Zoo & Central Market. No sexual tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kaps Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kap`s Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place San Jose
Kaps Place Hotel San Jose
Kaps Place Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaps Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.