We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa Roland San Jose to your Saves list
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
bradford
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A great little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for one night as it was near the local airport. We liked the hotel it was very nicely decorated with paintings. It is ideal if you need to catch an early flight with nature air. it was clean and the staff were excellent. What more could we ask for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
23
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at Casa Roland last year (it was recommended since it is near the US Embassy where we needed to be - stolen passport - ugh!) and we found it absolutely Charming! We decided that was the thing to do this year as well - stay there the night before our return flight. They did Not disappoint us! We were in a larger room this time - I believe it might have been for the disabled - still a Lovely veranda looking out on the quiet side street. The staff is Very accommodating - Very helpful with taxi's or whatever we needed. We took a taxi to the "Automercado" in a "mall" - huge supermarket for coffee, rum, etc. We decided to take the same taxi to Escazu to "El Novillo Alegre" - an Argentinian restaurant - Fantastic food (especially the beef, of course!)!. Cooked to order breakfast, taxi waiting to take us to the airport. A Great place to stay in San Jose!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I liked everything about this charming boutique hotel! We stayed here because it's close to the (local) airport, since we were flying on "Nature Air" to Golfito in two days. We had separate rooms, mine was small with a window and doors opening onto a small balcony. My friend's room was larger, with a fully-stocked wet bar! He only had to pay for the bottles we opened! The little bar in the lobby had quite a social group in the evening. A mixture of tourists (including those from Canada and Europe) and locals, who had interesting stories to tell.
But perhaps the best was breakfast!! Fresh fruit in the lobby at 6:00 AM, and from 7:00 to 10:00 AM there is fresh orange juice, eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast and/or waffle.
And our off-season rate of $75/night was reasonable! We liked it so much we stayed there again when we returned from Golfito!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

We found Casa Roland to be absolutely delightful. The staff was very accomodating. The rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was well beyond our expectations. I visit San Jose 2 or 3 times per year, and from now on Casa Roland will be my #1 choice.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

This place is highly overrated. It was expensive, the location is really out of the way and the manager is creepy. I would pick another place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We were looking for a place to spend one night, on the way from Monteverde to Corcovado. Since we had booked an early flight with Nature Air, the sensible thing was to spznd the night as close as possible to Tobias Bolano airport. Casa Roland seemed the good option, since it is the closest ; besides, reviews were excellent.

Well, I must tell I don't understand why others seemed so pleased with the place. The only nice things are the situation near the airport, the free internet, and the airy lobby.

When we arrived, we were given a teeny tiny room (4x3 meters, 13x10 feet) WITH NO WINDOWS WHATSOEVER. Talk about a prison cell, huh? And in a maximum security unit, mind you. We asked for a new one and where given another, same size, with a small windows on a... teeny tiny patio (1x2 meters, 3x6 feet) so no air at all, hardly any daylight... and no air con in this room... I think the pictures talk for themselves. The decoration is OK, but a room with no or hardly any window... Well I need more fresh air and light. We had trouble sleeping in such confined environment, and it was very hot indeed.

When we went out for dinner, there was a posse of young men in the lobby, who stared at us in a very unpleasant way. It was the quickest dinner ever really.

The price was 90 dollars with taxes and breakfast - but since we had to leave at 7 and brekfast was served from 7 to 10, we could not have it. The hotel being near the airport I would have expected an earlier option. Especially since the hustle and bustle in the hotel started around 5 am. I am happy Rolf Hanson from Rainbow Valley Lodge in Monteverde (see my review of this excellent option) negociated the price for us: originally it was 110 dollars without breakfast and without taxes! At 90 with taxes and breakfast it is still vastly overpriced.

If I was to do it again, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — 5 minutes from Nature Air airport
  • Disliked — Price, size of the rooms, lack of fresh air, dubious people
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Once again, an excellent experience at the Casa Roland. I am a regular visitor, but the service and unique ambience is always pleasing. The complimentary breakfast is terrific and the lobby bar is always filled with a cast of interesting characters. Need to check email? They offer free computers and wi-fi if you carry your own. Superb restaurant, The Paragon, right next door OR order room service - excellent food.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Address: at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.