We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place near Tobias airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Roland San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
San Mateo, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute place near Tobias airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night before taking Nature Air to Drake Bay. After arriving at the international airport, and changing money upstairs at the departure area (getting a full 100 colones extra compared to the changers in the arrival area), we took an orange cab to Casa Roland. The driver recognized the name of the place right away. Cab fare came to $25.

Jessie at the reception was very welcoming. I wonder if she lived in the US--she spoke English without an accent. I had called the day before to ask for advice, since I was reluctant to make a reservation because of iffy flying weather, but she said they had lots of room on that day, which they did. We had no problem when we arrived, and she gave us the rate she mentioned on the phone, along with a nice room. I paid USD cash and got a decent exchange rate (503) although there wasn't a cash discount per se. She also helped us figure out what time we'd need to be up to make our plan, and set up a wakeup call.

We stayed in 124, which is a junior suite, and is in the back, and very quiet. The room has two windows, although there's no view; about 4 feet beyond the windows is some kind of sun screen. It was super quiet. The wifi signal is great and the hot water worked well. Nice, spacious room. I guess this is an old mansion so the rooms are laid out in groups of 4 or 5 with a seating area in between, and entertaining art.

Since we rolled in at 1pm with nothing in particular to do, we decided to walk to the mall about 1km away. It's a nice enough neighborhood so this wasn't an issue during the day. No idea how it is at night, but there are nice-ish houses around that area, and closer to the mall it gets higher end. We saw a few security guards, and also some police presence. We never felt unsafe.

On the way to mall there's a few restaurants, and then the mall has a food fair, and smattering of stores, and a cool café called Azafran. We saw lots of public buses on that road too. The walk was a nice way to introduce my wife to a costa rican neighborhood. We also happened on a high end grocery store called "Fresh." Prices were pretty similar to California, except some items like fruit juice seemed a good idea, and some imported items seemed expensive.

This was a great place to stay on our way to Drake Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in 124, which is a junior suite, and is in the back, and very quiet. The room has two wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before we took a nature air flight to Manuel Antonio. The room was clean and reasonably priced. The hotel provided breakfast and was a short trip away from both San Jose international airport and the small airport in pavas

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the recommendation of regular clients. Decor is very dated but the staff are wonderful and very friendly. Spent some time in the lobby bar in the evening and staff were eager to engage you in conversation. Everything was spotless throughout. About a twenty minute drive to SJO in the morning traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A delightful change from the "cookie-cutter" hotels. We stayed there one night before flying to Osa. With several stairways, alcoves, and sitting areas, it was fun finding the route to our room. Breakfast was made-to-order and excellent. The staff was especially helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here on a layover between arrival in San Jose and departure to the Osa Peninsula via San Jose's domestic airport. It was about 5-7 minutes by taxi away from the airport so perfect to get to for our early morning domestic flight. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the place itself is an interesting maze! Every corner is unique and decked out with interesting decor or art. The rooms are modern, clean and very spacious. We were a group of 8 and most of us were placed in this apartment type place with various bedrooms and a communal sitting area and kitchen. Our breakfast was also served to order. The only downside is that it is a little far from downtown San Jose and the international airport (about a 20-25 minute taxi ride which was about $25-$30 each way depending on traffic).

Room Tip: IF you are a group or a family booking various rooms, ask for the apartment/suite area down a flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Casa Roland last week for 2 days. This is a unique hotel, very
cosy with great local artwork on all the walls. There are numerous levels to the hotel and
nooks & crannies with sofas & chairs - it is like an big, multi-level home. There is a nice covered
patio area at the front entrance, a small bar near reception and a dining room for breakfast (which
is included in the room price and is made to order). The staff speak excellent English and are
extremely helpful. We will definitely use Casa Roland for any future trips to San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed three nights hear and loved it. No complaints at all. beautiful hotel, lots of lounge areas, nice covered patio, very comfortable and relaxing, great artwork everywhere. Very friendly staff that went out of their way to find information I wanted and get reservations made (no tipping necessary in costa rica so they were not motivated by how much they thought I would tip).
the rooms can be a little loud because it is a old building with spanish style louvered windows and you can hear a little bit of the outside noise but it did not keep me awake. In my experience the guests were polite and quiet and the hotel is in a residential neighborhood so it was relatively quiet as well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Address: at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.