We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet unique hotel in residential area of Pavas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Roland San Jose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet unique hotel in residential area of Pavas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Casa Roland last week for 2 days. This is a unique hotel, very
cosy with great local artwork on all the walls. There are numerous levels to the hotel and
nooks & crannies with sofas & chairs - it is like an big, multi-level home. There is a nice covered
patio area at the front entrance, a small bar near reception and a dining room for breakfast (which
is included in the room price and is made to order). The staff speak excellent English and are
extremely helpful. We will definitely use Casa Roland for any future trips to San Jose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed three nights hear and loved it. No complaints at all. beautiful hotel, lots of lounge areas, nice covered patio, very comfortable and relaxing, great artwork everywhere. Very friendly staff that went out of their way to find information I wanted and get reservations made (no tipping necessary in costa rica so they were not motivated by how much they thought I would tip).
the rooms can be a little loud because it is a old building with spanish style louvered windows and you can hear a little bit of the outside noise but it did not keep me awake. In my experience the guests were polite and quiet and the hotel is in a residential neighborhood so it was relatively quiet as well

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Left my ipad in my room... not in the safe (of course not) and checked out. Flew home to Nosara. Freaked out and called hotel. Liza went to the room I had (#14... very nice) found ipad, wrapped it, took it to Nature Air, and had it flown to Nosara the next day. No charge.

Thank you Liza. Thank you Casa Roland.

Room Tip: Room #14 did have noise from the bar but I slept through it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were surprisingly pleased when we arrived at Casa Roland. I say surprised because it was recommended by our taxi driver so we wern't sure what we were going to get and from the outside it didn't look like much. But the moment we walked through the entrance we were in aww. The reception was great and the staff also spoke English. The ambiance in the hotel was very warm. The art and plants all around was simply gorgeous and done with great taste. Woke up the 1st morning to a beautiful healthy complimentary breakfast. The rates were fair, the rooms clean, comfortable, well decorated and air conditioned. Everything about the place was great, I would definetly recommend Casa Roland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Let me say from the beginning that my wife and I are Spanish-speakers, lived in San Jose in the 70's and have spent MUCH time in this beautiful city. San Jose is like a second home. However, tourism in Costa Rica has become a major industry since our time there many years ago, and I make no pretense of being on top of the exploding tourism market. Casa Roland took us by surprise - all good.

We had decided to combine a few days R&R with a visit to a young friend whose mother has been dealing with major health issues recently. I have stayed many places in San Jose over the years, both hotels and private homes. This time location would be the major factor so as to be close to the family we would visit. I checked out some hotels in the normal touristy areas that are in the general vicinity of where we wanted to be. I also asked our young friend for some recommendations. While providing a Holiday Inn and a couple of Marriott products, she also asked if we had heard of Casa Roland. We had not, but it was literally just a few blocks down the street from her house and that certainly warranted checking it out. She had never been in the property, but had heard some good reports and was very curious as to what it might be like.

Our personal travel preference is to avoid the usual international chains in preference of unique local establishments. That, plus the fact that Casa Roland's price came in quite a bit cheaper than either Holiday Inn or Marriott were deciding factors in giving Casa Roland a try. We were glad we did.

Here's some stuff you need to know. The hotel is NOT in a normal hotel zone, but in a predominantly residential neighborhood. However, the airport is less than 20 minutes for a knowledgeable driver and equidistant from downtown San Jose - very convenient location. Txis are abundant, safe and cheap. Additionally, it is very close to the hot spots of Santa Anna and Escazu, just not a commercial location, which I consider to be a plus. It seems the hotel has purchased three corners of an intersection in a residential neighborhood. The hotel itself is in what appears to be a large home on one corner and diagonally across the street is another area labeled "suites" that appeared to be overflow or extended stay, but I'm not sure. Directly across the street is another property that formerly was home to what everyone says was a wonderful restaurant operated by the hotel owners. Apparently the location doomed that type of restaurant and the space was being renovated and converted into something else while we were there.

We arrived late at night and found the night crew on duty. They were friendly, accommodating and efficient. Check-in was a breeze and they explained where breakfast was served. Our local friend was a bit nervous because her first impression late at night was that this might not be a "family" place, if you know what I mean. Words that come to mind are: eclectic, eccentric, artsy, unique, boutique, unusual and different. Original art of all varieties covers every available space - good, bad and ugly - but it strangely seems to work. As you look toward the direction where you head to your room, past a small bank of computers and sitting areas is a large landscape-oriented painting of a topless, reclining woman that looks very much like what you remember hanging over the bar in a saloon from an old Western movie. Things looked a bit differently in the morning and we assured her that it everything was very good!

Here's the deal. Every room is a new adventure. The layout is totally unpredictable along with just about everything else. But, it's all good! our room was spacious, quiet, well-equipped and clean. Wi-fi and TV were good. No complaints. Not 5-star, but it was everything we wanted for a few nice days in San Jose. If you want Four Seasons, go there. If you want fun and different, this is the place.

Breakfast was the next pleasant surprise. Rather than the normal hotel type buffet, this was order what you want. Costa Rica has a unique system of giving you a menu where you take a pencil and check what you want on the menu, a system that was started in the many "sodas" years ago. This is the system employed at breakfast. The menu is not extensive, but you can order eggs, rice and beans (gayo pinto), waffles and other fare. Breakfast was included in our price. The food was great and the service excellent. Food was correctly prepared to order and they were more than accommodating to any requests. One morning they were out of the unqiue Costa Rican version of sour cream (natilla) for the gayo pinto, and the server made sure she picked some up at the store that afternoon to have for us the next morning. It was never a problem for our young friend to join us and no charge for her ever showed up. They made us feel as though we were in a home. It was a very special experience.

Our young friend's father has his office literally right around the corner and we later learned that the hotel is a favorite place for him to come for a beer to relax in the late afternoon. Again, the attitude of the staff, all of them, is to treat you as in your own home. And, they were all just plain fun to be around - very relaxed, eager to please and not the least bit stuffy or grouchy. I am so done with stuffy and grouchy hotel staff!

Another surprise was to hear fairly equal amounts of English and Spanish. We also heard some German. Some were Costa Rican/American families back to visit; some were obviously tourists and others business people who clearly use this hotel often as their base in San Jose. There were also some tourist groups who staged here on the way from or to other parts of their excursion packages. The hotel appears to be friendly for families, singles, or couples as well as the business crowd. Unusual, but it works. We were told that the owners are Americans, but it seems a true piece of eclectic fusion. Kudos! The staff seems very comfortable in both languages. We spoke only Spanish while there because that is natural for us, so I cant' speak for everyone, but I can say for a fact that the front desk people all speak flawless English from what I could overhear.

Bottom line: Casa Roland is a blast! I'll be back in San Jose this August and plan to be back at Casa Roland. Love it!

Room Tip: I hear that rooms to the back tend to be quieter. That's where we were and that's true.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

When describing my stay at this hotel, I couldn't help but describe it as a tree house as the structure had lush vegetation and was very cozy. You don't feel like you're staying in a hotel but rather a friend's cottage and there are surprises behind every corner. There is a lot of interesting art on display throughout the property and has its own little restaurant inside that's good for breakfast. Not the best accommodations in San Jose but certainly an experience...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here one night because we had an early morning flight to Tortuguero from Pavas airport. If you are looking for something just for that purpose this hotel is perfectly adequate and reasonable in price. It was a 6 or 7 minute drive to Pavas airport. The hotel is really interesting, it obviously caters to businessmen who are in town for business. There is all sorts of art all over the walls and it is very dark inside, almost like a bordello. Our room has no windows, only a balcony door that led to an airshaft, However the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Also they had free strong WIFI, which after traveling through the less populated areas of costa rica was a nice change. I certainly wouldnt stay here as a vacation destination but for transient purpose I thought it was a great hotel

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lobby and ask if you can have one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa Roland San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Roland San Jose

Address: at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Roland San Jose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Casa Roland San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Roland San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.