We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected hideaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Casa Roland San Jose)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Miami
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An unexpected hideaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

When describing my stay at this hotel, I couldn't help but describe it as a tree house as the structure had lush vegetation and was very cozy. You don't feel like you're staying in a hotel but rather a friend's cottage and there are surprises behind every corner. There is a lot of interesting art on display throughout the property and has its own little restaurant inside that's good for breakfast. Not the best accommodations in San Jose but certainly an experience...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
20
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here one night because we had an early morning flight to Tortuguero from Pavas airport. If you are looking for something just for that purpose this hotel is perfectly adequate and reasonable in price. It was a 6 or 7 minute drive to Pavas airport. The hotel is really interesting, it obviously caters to businessmen who are in town for business. There is all sorts of art all over the walls and it is very dark inside, almost like a bordello. Our room has no windows, only a balcony door that led to an airshaft, However the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Also they had free strong WIFI, which after traveling through the less populated areas of costa rica was a nice change. I certainly wouldnt stay here as a vacation destination but for transient purpose I thought it was a great hotel

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lobby and ask if you can have one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estarillos oeste
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

great place to stay . full breakfast with waffle's very very clean staff is the greatest. you can not do better I have recommended it to all my friends and they all love it. enjoy we all have. .

Room Tip: ask the staff anything they will tell you the truth i like ground floor back but they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Interesting and beautiful art. Located in a quiet area and it takes about 20 minutes by taxi to the city center. Friendly staff and good breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

It was not what I had expected.
We were on the third floor (walk-up) in very interesting room with very interesting artwork.
There were two TV sets with one set up to only play CDs or VHS tapes.
It is pretty close to the US Embassy and that's why we chose it.
By Costa Rican standards it was overpriced.
HOWEVER, the breakfast was EXCELLENT.
Cooked to order.
The staff was another plus... helpfull and friendly.

Room Tip: Take a look at it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had to stay at Casa Roland when our flight to Puerto Jiminez was cancelled due to bad weather. It is located quite close to the Pavas (Tobias Bolanos) Airport, so it was very convenient place to stay in time for an early morning flight. The staff was nice, the inn was nicely decorated, and it's located in a pretty safe area.

However, we got stuck in Room 1, which is right in the front of the hotel. The bed and room were comfortable, but it was extremely loud. We could hear the music in the lobby blasting all evening, then a bunch of drunken revelers were hanging out in the bar until 1:30 am (on a Sunday night) shouting for drinks and food until my husband called the front desk and complained. I'm not sure whether the rest of the hotel was subject to this level of noise, but I would guess not, since no one else seemed to be bothered. So ask for any room except rooms 1 and 2 and you should be safe.

Complimentary breakfast was fantastic and we got a ride to the airport as well.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

My son and I discovered this wonderful hotel quite by chance. We randomly chose it from a list of hotels on our GPS. What a god send. This is a beautiful, classy hotel and was wonderful break from the crazy traffic and rain we experienced in San Jose. It is a beautiful facility with a nice, helpful bilingual staff. The space is gorgeous. There is a plethora of artwork in this wonderful hotel. It has a bar and restaurant. The rooms are incredible with awesome linens, a refrigerator, DVD, phone, WIFI, etc. Our room was on the second floor. In the morning I got up to read in a lovely sitting area outside of our room while I waited for my son to wake up. They serve a full breakfast cooked to order. They also have properties in Manual Antonio, Golfito, and Nosara. We absolutely loved this hotel and it was only $80 a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland

Also Known As:
Casa Roland Hotel
BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: at the end of Rormoser Boulevard | 150 mts south, Pavas, San Jose 1200, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Casa Roland San Jose)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Roland San Jose is conveniently located near downtown San Jose and Tobias Bolanos Airport, making our hotel perfect for business travelers and vacationers alike. The hotel boasts 27 rooms plus an executive room and two luxury suites. All of our rooms are exquisitely decorated and come with queen-size beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini bar, cable TV, telephone and hot water. All guests can enjoy high-speed internet access and a state-of-the-art gym. Additionally, we offer an excellent restaurant specializing in international cuisine and a fully equipped business and conference center. Casa Roland San Jose is a great springboard for enjoying day trips to steaming volcanoes, whitewater rafting, majestic waterfalls, coffee plantations and much more. The capital city's vibrant nightlife and wide range of excellent dining and shopping are at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Casa Roland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.