We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Business Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunn Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Dunn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Charleston, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Value, Business Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

GREAT staff. "B" food, close proximity to downtown businesses; good climate for a two person casual business meeting. My associate and I stayed at the Dunn Inn for six days/nights.... in between business meetings we spent a weekend fishing in Quepos. The management checked our luggage (can only take 25 lb on the puddle jumper to Quepos) and worked room schedules to accomodate our schedule. Rooms were spacious, shower excellent, nice TV, relatively fast internet access. There is an especially nice "local" restaurant one block away... also the area of town seemed "safer" than many others.

Room Tip: On business days there is a commuter train that is close. If you are not planning on an early rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Our main commitment is to meet the expectations of our customers. It is satisfying to know that they you were comfortable during your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    47
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
43
82
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If You do not Speak Spanish this the place to be everybody speaks English.This a small place and every person in there staff will do everything to help have a good experience.I have stayed at 6 downtown hotels this the best.I was there from 10-23 to 10-28. They even have Depature tax form there.That will save 30 minutes at airport.The only thing I can complain about is when I came back from Jaco Beach 11-1 to 11-4.They were sold out had to stay at sleep inn.Sleep inn would not allow my local girlfriend in because she had shorts on. Dunn Inn is friendly to USA citizens.If Dunn inn don't have rooms.Stay out of Downtown San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments. I will share your comments with our staff. It's good to know they helped to make your stay a pleasant one. We will be waiting for you in your next trip to Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

First, I'll say that we have not stayed at other places in downtown San Jose, so maybe this is comparatively better than other places. Still, for the money, probably not worth it. I booked online. When we got to the hotel, they showed us our room and it was right off the lobby behind the reception desk. That seemed odd. But they were happy to show us other options that would cost more. All of the rooms downstairs seem to be very near or right off the restaurant, and since I'd seen other reviewers say that it could be loud, and it seems weird to open your door into a bar/restaurant, I didn't want to deal with that. We ended up upstairs, apparently in the newer area, and it was fine. There was A/C and the sound of it seemed to drown out the sound of the music from the restaurant.

The location was good, easy to walk to places including the bus terminal for the Caribbean. Coffee was available in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelman321, Owner at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear sir and madam , I am sorry your experience was just ok. We feel like we offer a conventional tico experience . It is not really like a Remada,Clation , or a chain hotel. Our hotel features local ambience, the smell of coffee , music, clean rooms, good service, and decent food. This is not a cookie cutter hotel , but we do not try to fit that profile either. Perhaps there was some confusion as to your expectations. Thank you for giving us a shot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this beautifully restored Inn for my birthday. The staff as well as Geoff were very pleasant and attentive.

I would recommend your San Jose stay here per within walking distance, you will find the famous Gold Museum, shops, restaurants and a casino right across the street. If you do not wish to walk, their "most attentive" security staff at the door will flag down a cab for you.

Staff at check-in counter can arrange all of your tours, which they will pick you up. Airport is nearby as well.

We enjoyed our stay and plan on returning. Will also highly recommend to family and friends and YOU!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Michael Kent from Baltimore,MD

I stayed 8 days here at this nice hotel in August of 2013. The first day I got here, while
starting to unpack tne TV went up in my room. The maid and the maintenance man both worked
on it to get it operational, but no luck. It was a blessing in disguise as they moved me immediately to another room across the hall that was a lot bigger, and had a much better layout..
The maid staff was wonderful and met all my little requests promptly and with a cheerful smile. There will be times when you will need earplugs. I would put mine on right when I went to sleep, and set my cellphone alarm and put it right next to me on the night stand. The food was very good overall and they have a wide variety of foods to choose from. I thought the prices were a little high though, on many of their items. They have a menu you can look at on there webpage to see prices and types of food that they offer. I want to specially thank all of the doorman / security as I am a night owl and love to stay up late and hang out. Many nights I would go out late and come in and the very early hours of the morning.........The ladies at the front desk were
awesome, especially Seilyn. She was so very helpful with getting me information, and directions to different places that I needed to go to...It was nice that she speaks perfect English but I speak pretty good Spanish. So we conversed in Spanish and in English. She had originally set me up with my reservation, so the whole process was smooth and easy.........The one thing that I wish that the Hotel Dunn Inn had was a Swimming pool, as that alone would increase your customer traffic flow......... I thank all the Staff for making my vacation a great experience... Michael K.....


Great overall experience as this was my second trip to Costa Rica. I was able to relax and unwind and do a little touring of the area.I see that they have a sister hotel in Jaco beach, so
I hope that by the time I return, that they will have really gotten that aspect of there buisness
running smoothly......

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs in the back section of the hotel are a lot quieter.... There will be times when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mr. Kent. Thank you for choosing us as your place to stay in Costa Rica. I will like to thank you for your positive comments. Your comments about our staff are unique and I'll make sure to share them with our people. We look forward to welcome you back many more times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recently had the pleaure of staying at the Dunn Inn in San Jose Costa Rica. I had traveled with friends for one week and decided to stay a second week due to day trips I still wanted to take. Since I had already checked out of my original hotel one of my friends recommended the Dunn Inn where he was staying. I had no reservation just showed up and I was treated as if they had been waitng for me from the start. This hotel is well kept and clean with a nice decor. The rooms come both with AC or without your choice. One nice part about my stay was that a continental breaksfast was included with the price of the room. About $79 US, less if you choose a non A/C room. The Hotel location is great with a short walking distance to the center of town. The Staff at the Dunn were always ready to help with what ever was requested. They even got me a private van at the last minute to take a day trip the following morning to Jaco Beach which has a sister hotel there called the Nine. Also very clean and had a pool. I really could go on and on about the Dunn Inn but to keep it short all I can say is if you're needing a nice hotel on your next trip to San Jose you won't go wrong with the Dunn Inn it's a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Guadalupe it's very nice to find out that we were able to provide the quality of service you deserve. Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to welcome you back in San Jose or Jaco soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am a business owner and part time resident of Costa Rica,when I have business in San Jose I love to stay at Hotel Dunn Inn.The hotel has reasonable rates(60-80usd)a fresh and newly renovated sports bar a great restaurant comfortable rooms and is alking distance to many attractions downtown.The hotel has a friendly and capable staff that makes you feel at home,Seilyn Srios is one of these special people that makes sure your stay is the best anfd that you will return.Great value and great location.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, General Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Mr. Jon P. Our ain goal is to provide excellent service to customers who honor us with their presence. It's an incentive for our staff to receive such positive feed back on their performance. I'll make sure to share your review with Seilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to let you know that we also speak fluent English, French, Portuguese, Italian and German. We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home.This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance.Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in anyway possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.