We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Place To Stay In San Jose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunn Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Dunn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only Place To Stay In San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Cozy, good amenities and gives that down home feeling. Entire staff is accomodating, friendly and willing to help at any time of day or night. A special shout out for Seilyn who endured my calls to have hotel taxi at airport because of flight delays and assisted me with translations throughout stay. Room I had was smaller than I prefer and no Air but was not too warm and size not a problem. Next trip, I will reserve earlier so to get room of choice. Restaurant, bar, room, great staff ... made trip great. David B

Room Tip: Make reservations early - Dunn Inn is popular and desired Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    56
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
9
49
101
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Dunn Inn for the first night of our stay and again a few days late, while traveling in Costa Rica. We rented the Executive King Suite, which was very nice, but it sat directly above the bar and was noisy. It was a Monday night and they were blasting music and no one was in the bar. We called the front desk and they turned it down a little. After traveling all day, we wanted a quiet suite to adjust to the time change. I thought the placement of the nicest room was odd, since it was so loud (until midnight). Our second night at the Dunn Inn, we stayed in the junior king suite, which was quiet & excellent, a better value in my opinion. I would stay here again. I felt secure, the staff was friendly and the inhouse restaurant & bar was decent enough. Free computer access was handy. I recommend this hotel to any traveler doing a layover in San Jose.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Had an exceptional stay there from May 17-26 while on vacation. Good location (very safe) staff was very pleasant and professional. They just underwent a management turn-over, and i was able to witness the change of the guard per say. What impressed me about the ceremony was the loyalty and admiration shown by the off duty & oncoming staff who swung by to say their goodbyes. Clearly they were treated very well, to me it translates to a happier work environment and good customer service.
During my stay, i was able to get help from a taxi driver by the name of Alex Palma. Alex speaks fluent english and has spent numerous years living in the states. He does independant, professional tours around San Jose and outlying areas. A very striking quality about him is that he relies mostly on his professional reputation and word of mouth. Because of this, he aggressively works to get the best possible quote on any given tour. He will be my go to concierge the next time i'm down there. You can find out yourself, his email is: palmaelgallocr@gmail.com

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Comfortable clean rooms at great rates. The location is great too. But more than anything what will keep me coming back is the great staff. Everyone was very friendly and went well beyond my expectations in their efforts to make my stay as comfortable as can be. I would not even consider staying anywhere else. Dunn Inn is where I stay when I am in San Jose.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the Dunn in a few months ago and had a great experience. Sometimes you'll try something out for a second time and be let down. Well, that's not what happens at the Dunn Inn. Really my second stay was just as good as my first, if not better.

If you want to feel comfortable on your trip, I'm not sure why you would stay anywhere else. It's just such a cozy place with great service. That's one of the keys for me. You can have a nice place, but if the service is no good, then to me the place is no good. The Dunn is exceeds all your expectations... and mine are pretty high.

This trip I stayed in one of their suites. It seemed fairly new and was perfect for me. Did I need a suite? Probably not, but I've seen some other "suites" in town and they were nothing like this one. This truly had a ton of space.

Also, on this trip, being from South Florida, I was able to watch the Miami Heat playoff game in comfort at their sports bar. It was great.

Looking forward to making another trip soon and, of course, I'm staying at the Dunn Inn.

Room Tip: The suite had a nice king size bed and a lot of space. Nice bathroom with shower, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Limon, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

After 3 visits at the hotel I feel like I am coming home when I arrive. The food is exellent, the room nice,
The service is very good, the whole staff treat me like I am a old friend.
I have been to several hotells in Costa Rica and this is the one I return to whenever I am in San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a nice little place with a friendly staff. On the cleaner side and conveniently located. The food in the restaurant was terrible but that shouldn't alter your hotel of choice. (There is a great place 1 block away called Kalu Cafe.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelman321, Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us once again, the best compliment our staff receives is repeat visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#3 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home.This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance.Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in anyway possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.