We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's worth what you're paying for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunn Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Dunn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's worth what you're paying for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a nice little place with a friendly staff. On the cleaner side and conveniently located. The food in the restaurant was terrible but that shouldn't alter your hotel of choice. (There is a great place 1 block away called Kalu Cafe.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelman321, Manager at Hotel Dunn Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us once again, the best compliment our staff receives is repeat visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    47
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
43
82
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandestin, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a regular at Dunn Inn. I stay there 3 times a year. I stayed at several other hotels, until I stumbled onto Dunn Inn. They exceed my expectations every time. I refuse to stay anywhere else. The entire staff is great. They are as friendly, and helpful as you will ever encounter. I am usually planning my next trip, before I am done with the current trip. I can't wait to visit again in August.

Pura Vida

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have been to Costa Rica many times and have stayed at many places. The Dunn Inn is a very nice and affordable place to stay. The people at the front desk are ever-so-nice and the security guards - the afternoon one is Luis - are as friendly as one could ask. The continental breakfast is adequate with a plate of fresh fruit and a plate of ham and cheese. For 2 dollars. one can get two eggs and the oatmeal , which is really good - would cost 2,75 extra. The servers are very nice and they all speak English. The dining area is small but nice and never was ever that crowded. The room was small with a small bathroom but was comfortable. Many rooms at San Jose hotels have small bathrooms; so I am used to this. At the front desk, Hania is so funny and overall everyone made me feel at home. Rick's Sports Bar is off the dining area and is nice also. There are 6 tvs with ESPN etc. and the menu is adequate and reasonable. I will return to this place and there is no charge for an "extra" person unless the person stays overnight; that would be 10 dollars more. The Promanade shopping area is a short walk and tours are available at the front desk. Rooms range from 70 to 80 which is - I think - a good deal.

Room Tip: One night, the band was very loud; I was on the top floor and I could hear the music in the room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at many nice hotels in San Jose over the last few years. Several may exceed the Dunn Inn for one category (i.e room). But I find the Dunn Inn offers the best experience overall for most budgets.

The rooms are clean and fresh, have flat screen TV's (with US channels if that is important). Their Deluxe King Rooms offers the best room in San Jose in my opinion. Of course it costs more, but it is first class in every way.

The restaurant is very good offering fresh fish, beef, sandwiches and more. The breakfast is great..don't go without ordering the banana pancakes.

The service at Dunn Inn really stands out from the doormen to the housekeepers. All are very friendly and hospitable.

Room Tip: The Dunn Inn has 2 sections, new and original. I would suggest staying in the new wing. The rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Want a great place for a party? I am a retired school teacher living in San Jose. A group of students and adults came to visit Costa Rica. While they where in San Jose I arranged for them to have a group dinner at the Dunn Inn. The manager, John set up a wonderful experience for the group. At the end of the dinner the group said we want to come back here tomorrow night. One of the teachers mentioned we wanted to have dance lessons for the students, but no luck. John, said I have two staff members that are very good. The next night the restaurant was transformed into a club like experience for the students. The dance lessons were fantastic and every student was dancing. The staff made everyone feel like they were special. The evening was a great success and a highlight of the students trip to Costa Rica. Thank you John and staff for making their night very special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We brought 27 high school students to Costa Rica from northern Michigan. Thanks to John at Dunn Inn, their last 2 nights in San Jose will never be forgotten. Their staff opened their establishment, and their hearts to us. John and his staff made all of us feel at home, and we all had a fabulous time!
If you're looking for a place to stay in San Jose - Hotel Dunn Inn is it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently returned from Costa Rica with a group of 27 HS students and 5 adults. It was difficult to find places to accommodate our group size; John did this with ease and the outmost friendliness. Although we did not stay at the Dunn Inn we did eat at the restaurant twice. They created a special menu for us with many choices at extremely reasonable prices, had amazing service, a caring and friendly staff, and John was fantastic! To top it all off, the dance lessons we had scheduled with someone else had been a no-show and John came to the rescue! He moved the dinning room around and called in two fantastic dancers that did not disappoint--in fact, they were fabulous dancers and teachers. It was by far our favorite night in San José. I would recommend that everyone try to visit here as you will not be disappointed in the atmosphere, service, cleanliness, prices, or food. Great job, Dunn Inn staff! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to let you know that we also speak fluent English, French, Portuguese, Italian and German. We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home.This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance.Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in anyway possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.