We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax near the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunn Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Dunn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax near the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent seven days at the Dunn Inn in a junior suite and had a great time. I have been coming to Costa Rica with freinds for sixteen years and this has been one of the best hotel experiences. The room had a king size bed with dark hardwood decor. Although the room had an air conditioner it took me a couple of days to realize i really didn't need it as the temperature was between 62 and 80 degrees f. The service was excellent and the staff was superb. John, the hotel manager made himself available to us the first day and pretty much gave us the VIP treatment. The breakfast was OK but the lunch, dinner and appetizers were pretty darn good. The hotel was for me, always quiet and relaxing. The hotel is probably an old coffee barrons home that was converted to a hotel. It is located near the middle of town and fairly safe to stroll around in the day but i would recommend a taxi after dark. As in any large urban area you could easily wander into trouble if you are not familiar with the area and there are always people lurking waiting to take advantage of lost and bewildered tourist. Over all a great experince that i would recommend to anyone looking for a nice hotel in San Jose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    49
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
7
47
88
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I went to Costa Rica for the first time with two other friends of mine. We very much enjoy the country and the hotel that we stayed. The hotel had very good accommodations and services. I highly recommend it to other tourists.
Reza

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My partner & I chose to stay at the D.I. Upon our arrival to CR only bc after a long day of travel we thought it best not b searching for a hotel in the dark...our room- the corner room on the ground floor was noisy- traffic & chattering front desk adjacent to room...Ricks cafe adj. to hotel was nice enough and the food and drink quite good but the bar seemed to be a rendezvous point for lonely old men and young "available" Costa Rican women...a little odd.. In short an ok place to crash if ur options r minimal... Would not b excited bout having to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Superior room was nice and roomy..food average.., location convenient for the artist craft market .. However sat nights must be a popular night for the shady characters of the night.. Maybe its the fact it's linked to a sports bar( nice one I may add) within the hotel.. To me San Jose was a pit stop so I'm not complaining.. Some of the clientele that walked in was pretty comical.. It made for some good entertainment! Overall it was a decent stay for a night but glad I'm not staying in the area for a longer period of time...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The first night in San Jose Dunn Inn hotel was recommended by me from a friend who visited previously. The Dunn Inn Hotel was a GREAT choice for me to stay in before I started my vacation around Costa Rica. The airport shuttle pick me up at the airport, at a reasonable price. When I arrived at the Hotel, the Security Guard that was on duty, helped me with my luggage. The girl working at the front desk gave me a real warm welcome and a very fast check in. I had lunch at the Tropix. The server was very friendly and kind. I was surprised about the great service and food that they had to offer there. I was so impressed about the Dunn Inn on my first stay there, that I cancelled my reservation from a different hotel and spent the last night of my vacation at the Dunn Inn again. The staff recognized me and asked me about my trip. I would highly recommend the Dunn Inn Hotel to any one who is looking for a home away from home. When I come back the Dunn Inn Hotel is where I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I recently visited San Jose and stayed in Dunn Inn. I had chosen that hotel for its price and certainly wasn't disappointed! My room was way better than I expected, even if it was a little warm. I contacted front desk staff and they fixed the problem in a heart beat! I was very pleased that the hotel offered to arrange car rental for me. Dining experience at Tropix Bar was phenomenal too. ALL THE STAFF was very sweet and pleasant and did above and beyond to make my stay comfortable! Hoping to be back this coming summer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spend 3 nights in San Jose in Jan 2013. I had never been to Costa Rica before, but my co-worker and her husband spent their honeymoon over there a few month ago and highly recommended me to stay in Dunn Inn. As expected, my stay was very charming and welcoming! My room was very well maintained, and the hotel in general was very clean and tidy from top to bottom. The property was gorgeous and all of the stuff was very friendly and personable! The hotel does a great job reflecting local hospitality of this beautiful country! I was very happy with my choice!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home.This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance.Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in anyway possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.