We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Flawless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunn Inn to your Saves list
Hotel Dunn Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florence, Ala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Flawless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed here in Jan 2012. From the moment I arrived I felt right at home. The front desk staff were friendly, informative and responsive (and beautiful) The room was clean, had all amenities with good shower pressure and plenty of hot water. I booked ATV ride and whitewater rafting through the front desk and EVERYONE went to great pains to help with directions(the real drawback to San Jose is there are no street signs/addresses/road markers of any kind in the city). if you are driving yourself get a GPS it is a nightmare. The other staff in the rest. and bar were exceptional, any question was addressed to your satisfaction and the new addition in the back was perfect. They even had a separate cigar area that you could still see the six screen giant HDTV array showing every sport you could want. Great happy hour 2/1 beers reasonable snacks and fine servers! Guy Grand (GMgr) and his wife were accessible ( and she is also the in-house massage lady). Good People. I think this carried over to the guests because I hung out and partied with some and when they left, I found a note and 2 bottles of top shelf booze at the front desk. Overall Great experience.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the back, It was busy in the morning on the street. I am an early riser, but, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    50
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
47
88
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Used to be a nice place, friendly and mellow. Sure, people brought their 'dates' here, but I never felt uncomfortable bringing my kids here. It's changed now -- gringo owners, a business model that caters to the "gentleman traveler", and each room has condoms prominently displayed on the bedside table that are for sale. Not a nice place for families anymore. I've stayed here over a 10 year period, but never again. I won't overypay for a mediocre room and then have to listen to "ay-ay-ay" through the thin walls while my kids want to know "if the lady next door is OK". All the reviews from guys that stayed for "a week" or "six days" -- take them with a giant grain of salt -- they're sex tourists. Boooo! Booo!


Boooo. Boooo.

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Such a great suprise! For only $60/night for a basic room we received a very nice, clean, updated room with 24 hour/day security guard at the main entrance. The Tropix Bar was absolutely beautiful and very reasonably priced. The sports bar immediately next door was also a very nice atmosphere to relax and have a beer at any time of day. Only 20 min from airport and the hotel offers airport shuttle for only $25. Hotel is within walking distance to many resturaunts, bars, and attractions. Would definitely suggest this hotel for anyone staying in the downtown San Jose area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

First time staying at this hotel. Great hotel. I am currently here staying at the hotel. Staff here is very helpful. They go above and beyond whats required especially GUY, great customer service. Now for the rooms, a group of us are staying here. Perfect location for friends and singles. My room is nice size, ac, flat panel, recently renovated, can't really ask for more for the price. Reasonable rates. Nice bar atmosphere, like I said, great for party's and singles. I heard from previous reviews about the noise level, hardly any noise. Quite night. Can't rate the breakfast, never seem to wake up in time to make it.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bedroom. Newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Dunn Inn for 6 days August 18-24 2011. I doubt I will do this place justice but will try. THE ROOMS, stayed in two, the first was real nice and more economical, I knew I wasn't going to be there much so i picked it. Room 11 Perfect! Super clean, nice flat screen, WiFi very good. Hot shower, why pay more when your going to be out and about!. Second room Pure Luxury, super quiet, huge bed, huge bathroom, modern hardwood throughout,, a 5 star room and a 3 star price! THE SERVICE I can't say enough about, Guy and his team are amazing! they cater to your every need and go way above and beyond! For example the Chef picked up on how I like my food spicy so every meal I ordered appeared with a side of home made hot sauce. Each one better than the next! Our Waitress Sophi was always smiling always catering to use, a real pleasure to be around made us feel like we were at home. THE FOOD at Rick's Cafe was outstanding, they even have Draft beer which is Rare in CR. I cant say enough for the team they really are top notch. THE SECURITY although their was never a reason for it I sure felt safe with security in and around the hotel 24X7. WHO SHOULD STAY HERE... If your looking for a frat house Not you... If your looking for a $20.00 Backpacker Hostel their are several up town, If your looking to be in the center of the business district and your company is willing to pay $300.00 a night... then go for the center of the city chains...If your looking to enjoy all that San Jose has to offer in Luxury in a great place with great Staff for an affordable price the Dunn Inn is for you. Bravo DUNN INN Well Done!

Room Tip: I had two rooms the first was room 11, Perfect lower cost high quality! Second room 25 was 5 Star Lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I went to the Dunn Inn on the strength of hearing about it from other ex-pats and local homeowners in Guanacaste. My room which cost $79 a night (there was a misleading come on saying that rooms were available at $45 and I cringe to think how they must be) had NO outside window and NO airconditioning. It shared a wall with a main staircase so I got to share in the joy of all coming and going traffic as well as phone conversations through the indoor window from people using the computers provided by the hotel. Yes, it was very, very clean, the bathroom was nicely outfitted. But my bed was a matress on a wooden platform. The room was a nice size, too but painted a dull brick red which made it feel as claustrophobic as it really was. The staff were very nice, friendly, English speaking. I only had two breakfasts in the hotel's restaurant: one was part of the price and consisted of whole wheat toast, fruit, cheese and coffee. The other was an outrageously priced ($12) for two scrambled eggs, a single slice of ham and a scattering of dried, greasy potatoes and a side of English muffin. Ahhhh....I don't get the attraction to the place. Oh, the Sports Bar which is connected to it has decent food and decent prices.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Just recently I returned from vacation in Costa Rica and marking my fifth trip in 3 years.Booked my usual stay at a familiar hotel,the Dunn Inn and was slightly disappointed
this time. It seems that during a shake up in management and staff the atmosphere has
changed.I'm not sure exactly what the direction is but hope that the local Tico trade can support it's future success. As a bachelor,I've always enjoyed the local of the Dunn Inn to
the nightclub scene and cigar bars.The staff has alway been pleasant and attentative to my needs.With the addition of sportsbar and lounge I was convinced this hotel was on the way to becoming a legendary stop in San Jose.I feel now I am mistaken.With the Clarion hotel closing across the street,poor lighting on this avenue,and lack of the previous smiles from the friendly Tica's at the bar.(no doubt due to managements on the fence approach of whats good for business) I'ts this travellers opinion that possibly change might be good in respect to a different hotel. I wish the best to the Dunn Inn and
its staff and will check in from time to time to see old friends,but it is this travellers opinion that the hotel is going against what could have been a great combination for their success.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunn Inn

Address: Calle 5, Avenida 11 | Historical Barrio Amon, San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to help you while in San Jose, Costa Rica, if you don't speak Spanish or in case you want to feel more at home.This charming 1929 mansion is known for providing exceptionally friendly service and is a favorite among many locals. From the moment you arrive you will experience firsthand the warmth of Costa Rican hospitality and enjoy the benefits of a full service hotel with excellent value. The New Standard for San Jose Costa Rica Hotels...The 28 guests rooms are attractively decorated with warm, rich woods, original brick, hand-painted native artwork, colorful quilts, and have indigenous BriBri Indian names. All are equipped with quality linens, cable television with over 60 channels in English and Spanish, mini bar, direct telephone service, ceiling fan, private bath, clock radio, hairdryer, fresh flowers, local information and a free map of Costa Rica. The hotel has wireless internet in all rooms, two Internet stations, parking, 24-hour security, car rental and tourist information, laundry service, business services, safe deposit boxes, room service, and an onsite barbershop. The hotel offers complementary services of tea and coffee 24 hours a day and a late 1pm check out. You will also enjoy breakfast, lunch and / or dinner in the beautiful tropical restaurant and Tropix bar that is truly an oasis in the city; brimming with bromeliads, ferns, orchids and other tropical plants. The daily happy hour from 4pm - 6pm is sure to provide fun and interesting conversation. New to our long list of services is free in-house medical emergency assistance and reasonable medical insurance.Every effort is made to ensure an enjoyable visit and every one of our long term bilingual staff will gladly assist you in anyway possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dunn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunn San Jose
Hotel Dunn Inn Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.