We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a brothel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Del Rey to your Saves list
Hotel Del Rey
1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
newmarket, ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Its a brothel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So if that's what you are looking for great, though I would recommend the Cocal casino in Jaco beach over this. Many of the girls are quite beautiful, but I found them not as skilled as Canadian girls. Sort of a production line mentality as opposed to GFE. The rooms are two star. No pool of course, or beach. The casino is crap. San Jose isn't much to speak of either - just an average city, which makes it better than average for the tropics - much less evidence of abject poverty here - thye seem to be doing well.

Room Tip: 5th floor to get away from the noise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
7
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

November 17, 2014 i just got back from the hotel its low season any male who are looking for companionship should visit hotel del rey its a casino and packed with single weman who love to party a lot of dyme pieces and the rooms start 55.00 for a standered room if you want the pent house its 150.00 go to hoteldeyrey.com for mor info very nice staff to ask for karen or yahaira exsolent in finding outings for your vacation please cheak it out bring a lot of protection [condoms] to keep safe.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Not a family place as it is simply a brothel and casino. There are lots of girls from Colombia and the Dominican Republic that have residence permits to live in Costa Rica based on being trafficked to Costa Rica via sham marriages to old Costa Rican men.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This hotel is a blast for the single male traveler. I have been to Del Rey a few times and will keep coming back. Clean, safe, friendly, and fair pricing. The food is decent and room service fast. Take time to get to know the bell men and housekeepers and your every need will be met promptly. (Tipping helps too!)

Room Tip: I have tried the standard room and the deluxe. There is not a huge difference. I prefer the standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

In searching the web, you will see a number of reviews for this hotel and what you will find there. I am sure upon first read of most of these sites, you think the people are exaggerating about what you find there. I thought the same. Well, what you read elsewhere is all true and then some. I was there on a Tuesday and Wednesday evening and I just never saw anything like it before. For one thing, you will never see or experience anything like this in the US. While there, I remarked to one of the bartenders what a great experience with so many beautiful people there. His response to me was you really should be here on Friday or Saturday night, you think Tuesday and Wednesday are great, you will not believe the weekends.

Room Tip: Book your room direct with the hotel. Rooms higher up are quieter. I have seen other reviews that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been to costa rica many times and had never stayed in a hotel in the downtown area, I felt that i made a good choice, room was small and directly behind the DelRey but the breakfast in the morning and the staff were very helpful to me I will stay here again hopefully in about 6- 8 months.

Room Tip: do not stay in rooms near the delrey choose the other end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Probably one of the best places on earth for a single guy. I got in at noon on a Wednesday and took a cab directly to the Del Mar. I went to the front desk and asked for a room. It was $60 for a king size bed that came with a mini fridge and lock box. Having read previous reviews, i asked for a room at a higher level and was politely given a room on the 5th floor. Also, i paid in cash because I read about some customers being charged extra. They have no problem with you paying in cash.
So now to the fun stuff....first off, I'm a single 26 year old travelling solo thru Costa Rica. So a place like this is paradise. It's almost overwhelming. At any given night there's at least 75 gorgeous latinas just waiting for you to make eye contact with them. I also like to play poker, so i jumped in a cash game that was running on the main floor. All i can say about that, is if you know even a little bit about how to play poker, it's an extremely good game. As an FYI, they play in colones chips. So $1,000 colones is $2. It was actually kind of fun to play in a foreign currency.
In conclusion, you basically have to go and experience this for yourself. This is obviously not a place to bring the whole family. But if your down here with your boys or just backpackin' it like myself...this is a must stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level above third floor for a little more quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica/San Jose
Del Rey San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.