We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Del Rey to your Saves list
Hotel Del Rey
1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“first time stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been to costa rica many times and had never stayed in a hotel in the downtown area, I felt that i made a good choice, room was small and directly behind the DelRey but the breakfast in the morning and the staff were very helpful to me I will stay here again hopefully in about 6- 8 months.

Room Tip: do not stay in rooms near the delrey choose the other end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
7
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Probably one of the best places on earth for a single guy. I got in at noon on a Wednesday and took a cab directly to the Del Mar. I went to the front desk and asked for a room. It was $60 for a king size bed that came with a mini fridge and lock box. Having read previous reviews, i asked for a room at a higher level and was politely given a room on the 5th floor. Also, i paid in cash because I read about some customers being charged extra. They have no problem with you paying in cash.
So now to the fun stuff....first off, I'm a single 26 year old travelling solo thru Costa Rica. So a place like this is paradise. It's almost overwhelming. At any given night there's at least 75 gorgeous latinas just waiting for you to make eye contact with them. I also like to play poker, so i jumped in a cash game that was running on the main floor. All i can say about that, is if you know even a little bit about how to play poker, it's an extremely good game. As an FYI, they play in colones chips. So $1,000 colones is $2. It was actually kind of fun to play in a foreign currency.
In conclusion, you basically have to go and experience this for yourself. This is obviously not a place to bring the whole family. But if your down here with your boys or just backpackin' it like myself...this is a must stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level above third floor for a little more quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Its been several years since i've been here. It hasn't changed much. Still entertaining. Rooms could use some improvements. As could the food. But overall stay was ok. The staff was helpful and polite.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It's an OK place to stay but they triple billed my credit card 1 charge when I checked out and 2 more times a day later. I have not got the money back. I don't sujest staying there but if you must don't use a credit card for the room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

While the Casino and Bar offers a nice layout to socialize the rooms can be noisy with music from casino all day and night.. And if you like sleeping on beds as old and as hard as rocks this is the place for you. If your going for the "action" the hotel/casino offers I would suggest staying in the hotel next door (Sleep inn). BED ARE SOME OF THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE BEDS I HAVE EVER SLEPT IN, which is a shame because the hotel has a lot of character and a wonderful attentive staff.

Room Tip: Don't wander far outside hotel at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I Chose this hotel specifically because I could get a room with a balcony (5th or 6th floor). Checking in was no problem since I already had a reservation.
The room I requested though (a room on the 5th or was it the 6th floor) with balcony) was not ready so they gave me another room (same floor with balcony).
Balcony has some cheap plastic furniture (really).
The hotel clerk ran me through the typical buttons to push, Airco to put on etc.
The room was dark and the Airco was a small window unit which took awhile for the room to cool down.
What can I say.
The hotel is dated and tired.
Hopefully management will take this to heart and try to improve the quality of the rooms considering the price.
The hotel can be a real winner because it is centrally located but ...
Would I recommend the hotel? Reading other peoples desires to stay at this hotel for a certain purpose I would say you are all-right but overall it was just a so-so hotel

Room Tip: If you want a view you have to take a high up room/balcony room which I wanted. Don't think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Not much to add about what this "Pink Palace" as it is called is all about. Can't imagine though how anyone could seriously give it a very good or excellent rating in terms of a hotel, forgetting about what draws guys there on the first floor. Glad to see no couples have rated this place. i have stayed there a number of times, but as infrequently as i can. The rooms are old, they are all loud due to the open nature of the common stairwell so all the casino machines, music and bar noise goes on loudly all night, all the way to the fifth floor. No carpeting in the halls makes every chica with high heels clanking and echoing as noticeable as can be. Street noise the other problem from dawn to passed dark--busses, trucks, taxis, motorcycyles all the way to the fifth floor. And it ain't cheap.

But the location is very centro, the food is surprsingly very good, the drinks are OK, the casino is fun, and the rest I will leave to the other reviewers. One thing is certain--this place is well known throughout North America.

Stay elsewhere, like next door at the newer American chain Sleep Inn, and if you are solo and not with your girl or family, have a ball playing on the first floor of the DelRey, whether it be gambling, or drinking, or eating or whatever!

Room Tip: None--stay elsewhere, party here if you are solo or travelling with your buddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Address: 1st Ave & 9th St, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Specialty Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Costa Rica/San Jose
Del Rey San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Rey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.