We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel Suites Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Save Saved
You added Apartotel Suites Cristina to your Saves list
300 Norte del Ice | Sabana Norte, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Euless
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been researching Prisma Dental in Costa Rica for years. Finally made the trip. Stayed at the Cristina on their reccomendation.
I travel for a living and stay in hotel 3-4 nights a week mostly in the United States.
I picked the cheapest room at the Cristina as I'm traveling by myself and don't need much. The basic rooms are akin to a basic La Quinta in the United States. Not overly nice, but clean and in good shape.
I was in room 108 right next to the pool, nice at first, but the noise from people eating breakfast in the mornings got annoying.
Hot water was fine in the shower.
I arrived on the morning flight from Miami on AA. The free shuttle was nice and I was able to check in 4 hours early, no extra charge.
As far as location, there is a decent grocery store about an 8 minute walk away, nicer grocery store about 13 minutes walk and a McDonalds about a 12 minute walk.

The free breakfast is very good. Coffee was amazing.

Overall happy. Will be staying here in the future, though I may spring for a nicer room next time.

Room Tip: Elevator still out of service as of May 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we know that the breakfast noise is annoying in suite 108, so we decided to improve the acoustic isolation of the suites near the swimming pool, this will be done soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
32
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently traveled to San Jose to have dental work completed. We stayed at Suites Cristina for one week and found the hotel to be great in every way. We rented the executive suite which was very roomy and included a full kitchen. The room was cleaned daily. A couple of minor issues on the room were resolved immediately upon notifying the staff regarding the problems. All of the staff was friendly. We enjoyed the full breakfast every morning out next to the pool. In addition to already very reasonable rates, the hotel provided shuttle service back and forth from the airport for no charge, as long as it was booked 3 days ahead. Very convenient location. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to San Jose.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
thanks for your comments and feedbacks, we are passing them to our staff. They are the best motivators to continue to improve day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wife and I spent nine days in our suite. There was always hot coffee available. Desk clerks are helpful. We took a day trip to a rainforest based on their recommendation. Was a great trip. Breakfast is served daily by the pool. You should try the Italian Resturant located on the property. Service and food were very good.
Our maid service for our room was excellent. The rooms were spotless everyday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've been staying at Suites Cristina constantly for the past six months and it is like a second home to me. It's clean, extremely affordable, and the staff is so kind and helpful! My party usually stayed at one of the two room/two bathroom apartments which are very convenient and spacious. The kitchens include everything you need including a large refrigerator, toaster oven, and a four burner stove. The location is perfect since it's walking distance to the Sabana Park, Paseo Colon, and the National Stadium. There are plently of restaurants close by or accessable through a taxi for a couple of bucks. The restaurant L'Olivo is on the premises and is one of the best restaurants in all San Jose. The quality of the food and service there is top notch! There is coin laundry facility for longer stays and the free underground garage is also very convenient. Although the hotel doesn't have a gym you're able to use the facility at the next door Hotel Barcelo. There is free wifi that has excellent speed and is very stable. The free breakfast is very good and includes a variety of fruits, made to order omelettes or scambled eggs, cereals, breads, gallo pinto, ripe plantain and sometimes my favorite, the mini burritos! Thanks Melissa and Alba you're the best! Bottom line is this is the best place to stay if you're looking for a home away from home at an excellent price. Whenever I'm back in town I'll be sure to stay again. Thanks Sergio.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the front of the hotel are easier to access and don't require use of the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
thanks for your comments and feedbacks, we are passing them to our staff. They are the best motivators to continue to improve day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent a week in Costa Rica with two nights at the start staying here, and one at the end before having leave the beautiful country! The staff was super helpful and kind, and we LOVED the room. We stayed in the Executive Suite and I was very impressed! A small room when you first walk in with a kitchen, table, and couch area which is nice to sit on. Then a door to keep closed if you're wanting to keep the AC in, with an awesome bed and great TV to use at night when you're tired from a long day. Nice bathroom and even a few shampoos to use. The breakfast was delicious, you can have an omelet made to eat with the gallo pinto (rice and beans), great fruit, coffee, delicious juice, cereal, and toast. Tables are beside the quaint pool. Wifi works strongly for Skype or anything in the living room area of your room, and then definitely by the pool (not strong in bedroom). On the way back we came in for one last night and I think my boyfriend forgot to re-confirm (I had re-confirmed the first leg of the trip) and so it didn't show up in their system (they ask you to re-confirm before coming), but the woman at the front desk had no attitude and was nice to us about it and gave us a nice room. You get the free shuttle one-way (if you just get in they pick you up with a sign with your name on it outside of the airport, or they take you if it's the end of your trip). Interbus is the shuttle and it's really reliable. This hotel is near Parque La Sabana, a GREAT park that you feel really safe in and it's near a few great restaurants like Soda Tapia and then a convenience store for drinks and snacks (AM/PM is the name). The hotel also sells waters, beers, etc. if you need them, and at a good price. I highly recommend this place for its cost, which you can deduct a shuttle (25-30 dollars) and a breakfast from. Definitely don't hesitate and stay here! A short ride to the airport, too. Using this place again next time we're lucky enough to get back there!

Room Tip: First two nights at the start of the trip we stayed in the first floor Executive Suite 104, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for you enthusiasm about our service, we are very pleased about it. Every day we concentrate our efforts to improve services and your long and detailed review is really helpful for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The apartotel Suites Cristina are very economical and classy at the same time. The suites which are like small apartments are spacious if travelling alone or as a group. They have many different suite options. The suites,the pool as well as the overall property itself are always very clean. I will recommended this hotel to everyone and have stayed there on many visits myself. Sergio and his staff are always proffessional and prompt if you have any requests or problems. There is a coin laundry facility on site if you are there for a while. Breakfast in the morning by the pool is always great and then there is the L'Olivo restaurant which is only steps from the hotel. It is an elegant and affordable restaurant. It is a $2-$4 taxi to get to pretty much anywhere you need to go around Sabana Park or Passeo Colon areas, It is also very nice to see the same fantastic staff with each stay. Free airport transportation and free secure underground parking if you have a car in the city. The compimentary internet works well. Overall one of the best "hotels" I have stayed in for the price point.
Thank you Sergio

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If your staying in San Jose Cristina offers you a clean comfortable apartment at a extremely reasonable price with an accommodating staff and what really more would you need for a starting point they serve a traditional Costa Rican breakfast which is included gallo pinto eggs ect

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of the building can be a little noisy so toward the back can be quieter thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Address: 300 Norte del Ice | Sabana Norte, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport - hotel - airport (SJO) transportation, free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose
Apartotel Suites Cristina Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel Suites Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;