We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartotel Suites Cristina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Save Saved
You added Apartotel Suites Cristina to your Saves list
300 Norte del Ice | Sabana Norte, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

* About 5.5km from SJO airport, 15minutes driving. Avoid city center traffic, easy to get on the hwy 1. There is rental car local branch (Economy and Avis?) 3 blocks away from hotel, like 5 minutes walking. They don't charge expensive tax like airport.

* They provide free shuttle to the airport. But you have to book it 36 hours in advance. It is pretty strict.

* Buffet breakfast is free - They do omelette in front of you (ham, pea, pepper, onion, cheese). Taste really good while they made it well done. They also serve fresh fruit, scrambled egg, toast, ham, jam, yogurt, juice, cereal.

* The apartment rooms are clean and basic. Every room with TV, AC, kitchen, fridge. It is handy if you want to cook.

* The internet is free and wifi signal is strong. Super like! I was a little worried that a lot of hotels says they provide wifi but when I got there and found out there is signal in the lobby only but not in the room. I stayed at room 111 and 332, both worked very well.

* Location is safe. They have private garage for parking.

Room Tip: I like room 332(one-bedroom) better than 111(two-bedroom).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
32
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

All mini-suites in this delightful little hotel, with excellent service, clean comfortable rooms, outstanding breakfast buffet, great location near the biggest park of San Jose, Park Sabana Norte. Best prices around.

Room Tip: Stay away from near the pool, which can get noisy at night and early mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is my 2nd time at this sweet hotel. In walking distance to the park and only about a 15 minute walk to the dentist office. Or a 3 or 4 dollar cab fare. The rooms are very spacious, beds very comfortable, large bath...very clean...full kitchen...TVs in both bedrooms and living room. Free computers downstairs to use, only I think someone has to service them regularly. They are used by anyone that stays at the hotel, but all working very slowly...or not at sll. BUT, if you have your own computer...free to connect in your room.
Breakfast is great. Super helpful friendly staff.
Room 101 has a bedroom that is right on the street...heard too many sounds and couldnt sleep that first night. They gladly changes my suite the next day.
Gabriella and her father are a bit asset to the hotel. Thank you Gabriella for your recommendation.

Room Tip: Not room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On 9/23/12 I made a reservation for 10/17. They requested reconfirmation "by 10/12". I reconfirmed as soon as I received the request on 9/24 and received no further communication. On 10/13 I reconfirmed again and got back "Unfortunately we have no space available for the requested dates. We hope to serve you in a next future...."
Not likely, but I sent a message asking if they reneged and never heard back.
Checking again saved me from having to hotel hunt at midnight in San Jose
-Rick Brown in Reno, NV

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Owner at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Rick Brown,

We, at the Hotel Suites Cristina in San José, Costa Rica, have no E-mails from you. We have no reservation request for the October 17th , and, additionally, we had space available on the night of the 17th, so is very improvable we rejected any possible customer. Please contact us at info@cristina.co.cr to clarify this situation, thanks!. We believe we are not the hotel that rejected you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just returned from spending 5 days in San Jose for dental care. This is an excellent place to stay for such a visit. The staff is very helpful and the property is immaculate. The rooms--we had a 2 room suite--are spacious and well lighted. Bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast is excellent--fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order, and good, strong coffee! We were given a medical discount. Will always stay here when in San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here twice so far, first time January 2012 and just last week, I stayed in San Jose a week each time to have dental surgery done. Greatly enjoyed it both times. Clean, well maintained, well situated. Excellent breakfast out by the pool in the morning. Super cordial and helpful English speaking staff. I don't know what the standard rate is because both times I paid a cash rate which was offered via an arrangement with my dentist in CR. Great value if you have to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We got a two bedroom, two bath suite for three people at $108 per night. The rooms are spacious, well maintained, and scrupulously clean. We would recommend the hotel to anyone, but they should provide complimentary earplugs. Because the floors are tile and the walls are smooth, the entire building is an echo chamber (this appears to be a widespread problem in the area due to furnishing and architectural style, though). We started out with a room overlooking the pool, but the clanking plates and other preparation noises from breakfast were waking us up at 6am, hours before we had to be up. We moved to another room on the second floor which was better, but we then had to contend with street noise from the adjacent power company (who uses a chainsaw at 6:20am on a Saturday morning? Honestly!).

There were several noisy children staying here. The piercing shrieks early in the morning were so bad that many people complained. Nothing was done and finally, the family checked out as scheduled. There was a serial whistler that could be heard day or night. We didn't ask if he took requests, but were treated to the Loony Tunes theme and other classics. If you sleep in and don't sleep like the dead, you will look forward to getting back home so you can catch up on rest.

They are still having problems with the elevator. I tried to use it only to have it stop in between floors. I picked a different floor and it opened correctly, allowing me to exit. I didn't risk using it again, but when we changed rooms, that meant we had to haul all our luggage down and back up several flights of stairs. To be fair, the staff offered to help us, but we said we could do it ourselves. When we later found out the elevator wasn't working, we didn't ask for assistance and just considered it our workout for the day.

We have only great things to say about the staff. They have all been kind, considerate and exceptionally helpful. We have asked some really weird things and they've done their best to give us the answers we were looking for.

The free breakfast every morning is a lot more substantial than the dry muffins and corn flakes you get with most chain hotel's continental breakfasts. It's standard tico fare with rice and beans, plantains, eggs (sometimes scrambled, sometimes scrambled with veggies, and custom omelets are always available), fresh fruit, toast, cereal, yogurt, and fruit juice. They occasionally have really delicious quesadillas. I scoffed a little reading about the reviewer that had a problem with the breakfasts they offer - If you don't like your FREE breakfast, you can always go pay for more variety elsewhere.

We used a taxi driver named Ramon several times and found him to be delightful company as well as a knowledgeable tour guide. His prices were very reasonable even when going on an all-day outing.

There is an Italian restaurant right in the building. We found it to be good, but a little on the expensive side.

They have an agreement with the hotel a few doors down the street so that guests of the Cristina can use their 4th floor gym. There is access to the patio with a nice view of the city and mountains.

One member of our group has stayed at several hotels in the area and keeps coming back here because it really is one of the best hotels for the price.

Room Tip: Stay on floor 3 or higher for less noise and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristinaCostaRica, Propietario at Apartotel Suites Cristina, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This is an important and well crafted review and it points out some improvements we are going to attend for the next future. We really appreciated the commentary about breakfast!. Regarding the tile floor, this decision was made in order to keep the local tropical ambience clean and safe against bugs.

Our CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) adoption(s) program (supervised by the government) includes the meeting point between new parents (mostly from Europe and USA) and local orphan children. We, at the Cristina, support this important stage for families. Sometimes the apprehensive new parents struggle to keep the children quiet, so we limit our program to one, or maximum two families in respect to our other customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartotel Suites Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartotel Suites Cristina

Address: 300 Norte del Ice | Sabana Norte, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable and fully equipped Suites-Apartments with 1,2 or 3 bedrooms from 420 to 1000 square feet. We have free airport - hotel - airport (SJO) transportation, free high speed wi-fi and free buffet breakfast. We specialize in medical tourism, families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartotel Cristina San Jose
Apartotel Suites Cristina Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartotel Suites Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.