We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel

Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel to your Saves list
Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4964 | Across from Metropolitan Park "La Sabana", San Jose 1000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Centrally Located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a great place to stay if you like playing tennis or want to be centrally located. It's close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. The breakfast is good. For the price it's an overall good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
7
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaplin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

EF Tour - our last night. Rooms were plain but clean, good hot water and excellent mattresses. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Rooms had either a view of the street or a view of a concrete wall. We were given a "bag breakfast" as we left at 4:30 am - that was a waste - a bag of trail mix, an apple, and a juice box.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I confirm what has been told by others: rooms are fine but outdated, not really big, no king bed, but two individual beds setup as one; good A/C, good mattresses (a little to hard for me, but some people like that kind of mattress), grat staff, great amenities (but too crowded, as expected, on weekends)... I'll just add that walls are two thin: hearing the neighbors do their personal business is one thing, but lying in bed and being able to almost chip in my opinion on what they were talking (and they weren't loud talkers!), that was another thing.

Room Tip: Ground floor is slightly quieter. Ask for a room close to reception as those are farther from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed one night here with a group of students. I didn't experience the loud noise that some previous visitors complained about (though we were there on a weeknight), but I was really disappointed with the quality of the rooms. They really need to be updated and improved. For example, in two of our rooms the doors wouldn't close properly, and one kept swinging open all night long. For this same price, you can do a lot better. Also, the management was not very accommodating to our group's needs - we paid in advance for a boxed breakfast so we could make an early flight, but all we got was a bottle of juice and a bag of crackers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was travelling with two friends and was referred here when our regular apartment hotel was full. Overall our experience was good with only one real issue.
The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. They always had fresh coffee available in reception. They provided wakeup calls and arranged transport for us when requested.
The rooms were a bit dated as reported. I haven't seen that dark wood motif for a lot of years. The carpet was also a bit worn. But the beds (one king, two singles) were comfortable with very good quality sheets. The room looked and smelled clean. Towels were changed daily and there was plenty of hot water. The TV and A/C both worked well. Our view was limited to say the least but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway.
There was no refrigerator in the room but we had an ice machine just down the hall. The strong box was handy though a bit pricey at $3 a night (though split three ways this was less an issue!).
The pool was extremely well kept and located just next to the bar/restaurant. Breakfast was included with our room and the staff were extremely nice and the service was good. Three choices of breakfast were available and all we adequate. A bit of fruit added would have made them excellent.
We only used the pool but the other recreation facilities looked excellent.
The only real negative was the noise. The disco upstairs thumped away until the early morning hours. At about 0530, the commuter train across the street starts running. If you are a light sleeper this will be an issue.
The location in Sabana is not too inconvenient unless you want to be downtown all the time. Its only 5 minutes to Paseo Colon which has lots of restaurant choices and there are any number of Tico-run Sodas in the area. Walking westward down the street, parallel to Parque Sabana provides a number of other restaurant and entertainment choices.

Room Tip: ask for something far from the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed just one night for an emergency. You shouldn't just stay there more.

The place is like they haven't do any update since 1970's. The design is so poor that you feel like in the cheapest motel in US.

The "King size" bed was just 2 single beds together, so just think about how was my sleep quality. It was just POOR!

Then, in my bath, there was a COCKROACH dead!! It was just GROSS!!!

This is a ONLY EMERGENCIES HOTEL.

Room Tip: There are not good rooms. Sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am sorry to say staying at this hotel was a horrific experience. As mentioned by other travelers, the rooms were run down, but they did appear clean. There was plenty of room for two people and luggage. My complaint stems from the fact that the hotel is located right next to a busy street. Regular traffic noise I can deal with, but this was far above and beyond regular street noise. It seems that the locals use the stretch of road right next to the hotel to street race. I am not talking just driving fast...I am talking straight out of the movie "The Fast and the Furious"! The cars/trucks even had neon - just like the movie. The start line was right next to the hotel and the street wraps around two sides of the hotel. This nightmare all started about 11:00 p.m. and lasted till 4:00 a.m. Squealing tires, racing engines, the noise was extreme and non-stop. I kept hoping that the hotel staff would call the police; but obviously nothing was done. It amazed me this was happening on a Thursday night. I have never been so frustrated with a hotel. I would not suggest staying at this hotel unless you would like a ringside seat to Costa Rica street racing.

Room Tip: I don't believe there was a room not effected by the street racing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.0 mi away
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
Barcelo San Jose Palacio
#34 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
1.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel

Address: PO Box 4964 | Across from Metropolitan Park "La Sabana", San Jose 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Tennis Club And Hotel
Costa Rica Tennis Club Hotel San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Rica Tennis Club & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.