We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cacts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cacts to your Saves list
Hotel Cacts
Avenida tercera bis, 2845, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

I enjoyed Hotel Cacts while staying in San Jose. I don't normally like staying in town too long as the rest of the country just has so much beauty to offer, but I just recently stayed here for one night and thought it was one of the better places I have stayed in San Jose. The staff was very friendly and called me on time for my wake-up call (which has not happened at a few other hotels in town). All in all Hotel Cacts is a good value and located in a good area for walking and has easy access to the international airport.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
3
17
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Cacts twice in one trip while in transit from the airport to other parts of Costa Rica. It is a very good but very simple hotel that provides very nice service to those who are not familiar with the area. The owner speaks very good Spanish and is totally trustworthy.

The outside of the hotel is not very impressive, and perhaps a bit dumpy. But the inside of the hotel is perfectly fine, especially the back part of the hotel which is much more spacious. We stayed the first time in one of the rooms in the "B" area, which is just upstairs from the reception area. It is fairly dark and cramped and feels a bit old. The second time we stayed in the back of the hotel which is much newer. The rooms are larger and much brighter and they open onto a outdoor walkway (almost like an American motel). The picture in the May 7, 2006 review below is accurate for these rooms. The rooms are very clean, just not fancy. In my view its all you need if you don't plan to hang around the hotel all day.

The breakfast is held in a large open-air area on the third (?) floor of the hotel. Very pleasant, but again very simple.

Overall, I'd recommend the Hotel Cacts for its helpful service and its simple but very clean accommodations.

  • Liked — Elecxa is great. Very helpful.
  • Disliked — Shower in the B side rooms of the hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

I stayed at this place four times the summer of 2005 with a group. The service is very friendly and the staff is the reason I give them an above average rating. The hallway is narrow if you have to carry a lot of equipment, just don't have to go up the winding staircase... yikes.

The best things I love about this place is that it is relatively close to a nice Mas por Menos (supermarket +) and a great beauty salon (only one block away). The breakfast is so-so. I supplemented with food from the market.

I have not stayed here since I have returned because I have found comparable ammenities for a better value elsewhere and I don't need to be catered to as much since I know the city fairly well.

I will recommend the place if this is your first trip to CR and you are looking for a budget place to stay. They will take care of you and give you great advice.

  • Liked — The staff's service
  • Disliked — Some of the small funky little rooms
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

I stayed here with my family a few years ago. We arrived around midnight, and when the taxi dropped us off outside this place, I stepped up the broken curb and thought,
"What have I gotten us into?" But once inside, the narrow little hallway opened into a courtyard and it was a cool place to stay! We had a nice room with a nice bathroom. It took about 20 minutes to walk downtown. We felt perfectly safe here and the staff was nice. Nice breakfast on the roof terrace. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2002
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2005

The Cacts hotel is in an area of the city called Paseo Colon. It's in a residential area just a few minutes by Cab to the main downtown area of San Jose. The owners of the Cacts are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The older, and cheaper part of the hotel is more like a backpacker hostel than a hotel. We opted to upgrade to the newer, larger and more expensive rooms. They have a travel agency there that was the best I found on my 4 trips to C.R. We wanted to go on a last minute tour to Poas, Cartago and Sarchi, but it was too late, so they called a taxi driver that specialized in taking tourists on day trips. We had a great personalized tour that day. They had no problem cashing travellers checks (unlike some places I've been). It's a bit noisy there, but so is just about everywhere else in the city. There were a few good restaurants in the area, but you had to travel a bit further for better nightlife. They were supposed to have their new swimming pool done when we were there in 2000. I don't think it's done yet. It's not fancy, but a good choice for budget travellers and backpackers that want to be close to the buses, but don't want to be in the central area of downtown. They also have a good free breakfeast buffet with fresh fruit, juices, toast and bagels etc. They have a big storage room where you can leave extra baggage while you go trekking. They will pick you up at the airport too, but it's cheaper to take a cab.

  • Stayed July 2000
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cacts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cacts

Address: Avenida tercera bis, 2845, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cacts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacts Hotel San Jose
Hotel Cacts Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cacts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.