We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cacts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cacts to your Saves list
Hotel Cacts
Avenida tercera bis, 2845, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Schofield, Wisconsin
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel staff are the best we have found anywhere in our travels. They consistently went out of their way to help us navigate San Jose and make our stay easy and comfortable. Elexca was so helpful to us in booking the room, arranging our pickup from the airport, our rental car and even let us borrow one of the staff to help us find a gas station! Awesome service and friendliness!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
2
12
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have traveled to San Jose frequently over the years from 1999 onwards. I stayed at a number of hotels in and around San Jose until I found Hotel Cacts, and now I never go anywhere else. It is simply the best the best hotel in terms of comfort, cleanliness, value, safety and service you can find in the region. If you are looking for a hotel in San Jose, look no further, you have found Hotel Cacts. It is a calm cool oasis in the hot bustle of life in San Jose. The owner and staff at Hotel Cacts are also wonderful, genuine people who put you first and go out of their way to help you. Their outlook and the way they treat all people is one of the reasons they have built up such loyal support. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, you will be happy you stayed here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was beautiful! It has a great Costa Rican feel, and it is well managed. The beds were nice, the bathrooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. My favourite part was the balcony. You could see most of San Jose!
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

In my opinion, Cacts Hotel is a wonderful experience because the hotel is situated between downtown San Jose and a large beautiful park with a 15 minute walk to both. Cacts is also in a quiet and safe neighborhood with police station across the street, a dentist next door and grocery store 10 minutes walk away. Just 5 minutes walk brings you to a cluster of shops offering excellent handmade leather goods and repair services. The rooms are clean and comfortable, not fancy. If you want to have a genuine Costa Rican experience, with local, extremely pleasant and efficient staff, you must stay at Cacts Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor furthest down the hallway are quieter because they are furthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My first visit to Hotel Cacts was in 1999 as a member of a group of volunteers heading to Cano Palma Biologica Station near Tortuguero. I have since been a guest at the hotel on a regular basis (10+ visits) with my last visit on February 22nd, 23rd, and March 5th, 2014. My visits to Costa Rica usually involve group travel and I am the person responsible for making arrangements for the group.

All of my experiences at the hotel have been exceptional. From the first visit in 1999, I found the service to be excellent, the rooms very comfortable, clean and affordable. The experience starting with making reservations right through to check out is always reliable and efficient. Communication with Elecxa and the staff at the hotel is great and responses to requests are handled in a professional and timely manner. Most importantly, every member of every group I have taken to the hotel has been very pleased with their experience at the hotel. I have never had a complaint only praise.

I always recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to San Jose and I always stay there when I am in San Jose. For me, there is no other place to stay. The reason for my loyalty to this one hotel is the dedication and hard work of Elecxa and her staff to providing an exceptional experience every time I visit. I also feel it is very important to support local hotels that are owned and operated by individuals rather than large corporations. Elecxa and Hotel Cacts will always have my support because of the service I know I will receive each and every time I visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a great place to use as a base for seeing San Jose. Rooms are tidy and provide phone and wifi. This is an older building with unique features and lots of interesting plants. Breakfast is served on a rooftop patio that is lovely. The front desk staff are gracious and very helpful. Convenient if you are seeing the dentist next door. It even has a small pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Although I have read some reviews that are less than flattering, I can tell you that the person who said he registered at the Cacts did,, in fact, not have a room there. The closest he came to a hotel room was the lobby. He was upset because he had parked illegally in the space in front of the hotel and was belligerent with the manager when she tried to explain that he had left his car in the space that was meant for unloading baggage, etc. for more than nine hours. This is a fine hotel for its price. Nobody should bypass this hotel based on accusations by a kill-joy who was mad at the manager because he couldn't make her cower. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is on a limited budget.l

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cacts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cacts

Address: Avenida tercera bis, 2845, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cacts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacts Hotel San Jose
Hotel Cacts Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cacts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.