We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Jade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Jade to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Jade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pedro, 300 Norte Grupo Q, Los Yoses | San Pedro, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“For the price, very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location slightly outside on San jose city center but within walking distance. Excellent alternative to cookie cutter chain hotels if you value something a little different and maybe a little rougher 'round the edges than the standard hilton or intercontinental. Of course, it would have been nicer to have a single king and a newer bathroom, but the room was very clean and comfortable with reliable internet. The real standout is the tranquil breakfast setting and attention from staff, who go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
4
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marriottsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Good place to stay if u want access to market...safe...friendly staff who go the extra mile to make sure all your questions are answered & find the best deals for excursions
Food at restaurant great with gourmet options
Would definitely stay again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I visited Costa Rica for our Honeymoon for 15 days. We traveled the country staying at various places, but found ourselves back at Boutique Hotel Jade on 2 occasions. Upon our arrival each time the staff at the front desk were so courteous and welcoming! We had two different rooms, and they were both wonderful - very clean!!! Each member of staff we came in contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. During our stay, we ate at Jurgens Restaurant...the food was to die for...just delicious!! My husband was in heaven with his selection of seafood! We plan to return to CR in a few years and we will most definitely plan to stay at Boutique Hotel Jade at some point while we are there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near San Pedro Mall and UCR. The rooms are reasonably clean and modern, but the services are basic. There is no place where you can buy a bottle of water, for example. The restaurant was very nice.

We probably won't be back, however. We tried to reserve a room for our family of four, and were told that no room could accommodate 4 people, and therefore we would have to pay for two rooms. So we did that, and they confirmed both rooms. Then on our arrival, they refused to honor the reservation, which we had in writing, and instead gave us what we had originally requested, one room for four people but at a higher rate. We might have been perfectly happy with this had they not lied to us earlier in refusing our initial request.

Our three-day stay was in the middle of a nine-day trip, so it was time to do laundry. We asked about a Laundromat, and was told by the front desk manager that there is no Laundromat anywhere in San Jose. They would gladly wash our clothes for us for an exorbitant hotel rate ($2 for each pair of socks, for example), but it would take two days and necessitate staying at the hotel for one additional night since it would not be finished until after we were planning to check out and too late to get to our next city. Upon a little further research, we discovered a very nice Laundromat just a couple blocks away. So it was a happy ending but no thanks to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at Boutique Hotel Jade for 5 nights in early March. I was traveling with a work-sponsored group, so this hotel was chosen for me. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. The room, as well as the bathroom, was spacious and very clean. The hotel staff were quick to bring additional towels or re-stock the mini-bar as needed. The front desk staff were also friendly and very accommodating. The hotel breakfast was good - with an assortment of hot foods, as well as pastries, cereals and fruits. The pool was always clean & well-maintained (although not heated, which certainly wasn't a problem considering the 90 degree weather!). The location of the hotel seems a bit out of the way, although it is walking distance (just a few minutes) to a mall, which has plenty of shops and a food court. Overall, I liked the hotel and would consider staying here again if I return to San Jose.

Room Tip: If your room faces the pool area, but warned that it could possibly be loud if hotel guests are at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went to Costa Rica for dental work. The hotel was recommended by the dental practice. The hotel was nice. It was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately the noise level from the room was really loud. At night you could hear people in the courtyard, down the hall, and in the lobby. This was the only real complaint I had with the hotel. The housekeeping staff was great - cleaned the room quickly and efficiently. The rooms are plain but they are very clean and have everything you need. The Jurgen's Restaurant is nice and attached to the hotel. Service was good and food quality was good as well. This was a nice place to stay for the price and made my first trip to Costa Rica pleasant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Jade is a nice, clean, and safe hotel in San José. The rooms are large and comfortable. Issues I had was that the AC did not function very well for the temp that I set and the noise. You can hear people talking in the courtyard and outside of your room. If you have a room on the street side, you are in for a night of cars passing by, people talking, and parrots chirping in the trees. Adjoining restaurant, Jürgens, is excellent.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that opens to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Jade

Address: San Pedro, 300 Norte Grupo Q, Los Yoses | San Pedro, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Jade 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Jade Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.