We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Jade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Jade to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Jade
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Pedro, 300 Norte Grupo Q, Los Yoses | San Pedro, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Long Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at Boutique Hotel Jade for 5 nights in early March. I was traveling with a work-sponsored group, so this hotel was chosen for me. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel. The room, as well as the bathroom, was spacious and very clean. The hotel staff were quick to bring additional towels or re-stock the mini-bar as needed. The front desk staff were also friendly and very accommodating. The hotel breakfast was good - with an assortment of hot foods, as well as pastries, cereals and fruits. The pool was always clean & well-maintained (although not heated, which certainly wasn't a problem considering the 90 degree weather!). The location of the hotel seems a bit out of the way, although it is walking distance (just a few minutes) to a mall, which has plenty of shops and a food court. Overall, I liked the hotel and would consider staying here again if I return to San Jose.

Room Tip: If your room faces the pool area, but warned that it could possibly be loud if hotel guests are at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
4
10
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I went to Costa Rica for dental work. The hotel was recommended by the dental practice. The hotel was nice. It was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately the noise level from the room was really loud. At night you could hear people in the courtyard, down the hall, and in the lobby. This was the only real complaint I had with the hotel. The housekeeping staff was great - cleaned the room quickly and efficiently. The rooms are plain but they are very clean and have everything you need. The Jurgen's Restaurant is nice and attached to the hotel. Service was good and food quality was good as well. This was a nice place to stay for the price and made my first trip to Costa Rica pleasant!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel Jade is a nice, clean, and safe hotel in San José. The rooms are large and comfortable. Issues I had was that the AC did not function very well for the temp that I set and the noise. You can hear people talking in the courtyard and outside of your room. If you have a room on the street side, you are in for a night of cars passing by, people talking, and parrots chirping in the trees. Adjoining restaurant, Jürgens, is excellent.

Room Tip: Do not get a room that opens to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first trip to Costa Rica and I did not know what to expect from this small, independent hotel in San Jose. It was selected by the group operator for the Spanish language immersion program I was enrolled in. So, arriving late at night after a long day of flying, I was hopeful that I wasn't going to end up in a flea-bag. As it turns out, this is a wonderful small hotel (30 rooms), just a few minutes walk from the University of Costa Rica. Although it's not appropriate to compare hotels in developing countries to what we are used to in the US or western Europe, this hotel met or exceeded all my expectations. The room was good size, clean and modern. It was also quiet (at least until the early morning when street traffic noise started to seep in). The room overlooked a central courtyard with a pool, very good restaurant and breakfast room. The staff at the front desk were always friendly and responsive. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom with contemporary fixtures kept spotless every day. For people who need to be near the University of Costa Rica campus (eastern part of the city), this hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't front on the street if day time traffic noise is a problem for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Jade (pronounced Hah-day in Spanish) for a couple of days in January 2013. Overall, the hotel was nice - rooms were comfortable, breakfast was basic but good, nice pool area in the center of the hotel. There is a refrigerator in the room stocked with bottled water and some other drinks - generally all was good.

My greatest disappointment is that it looks like they're letting some basic maintenance slip by. The fly-screen in the bathroom window was damaged, which is a no-no in any tropical country. Also, the shower was not cleaned when I checked in - hair, soap and other stuff was left in there. Pictures of both are with this review.

I would stay there again - seems like it's one of the better options, but I do hope they don't let basic stuff like this slip.

On the communications front, I didn't find any English speaking channels on the TV. Only mentioning this because I know it can be an issue for some people. But they do have good WiFi coverage, so it's easy enough to pull something up on a laptop / tablet if you need.

On security, there was a safe in my room, but it was tiny. Some of my fellow travelers mentioned that they had been unable to get theirs to work. Don't count on leaving a laptop or larger item in the safe as a result.

Lastly, we had a couple of power outages while we were there. This is Central America, so to be expected, but it points out that there was no backup power at the hotel. Thankfully there was plenty of light left to finish my shower ... could have been interesting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a good trip to Costa Rica, with a 2 day stay in San Jose prior to departing to the Arenal Region. We thought that the hotel was cute and quaint, and good value for the money. It was clean and the there were double sinks in the bathroom. Other amenities were a desk and a in-room safe.

We at at the breakfast buffet, which as good, but did not get a chance to try the restaurant.
I would also like to point out that on check-out, I accidentally left my Amazon Kindle Fire in my room. I called the hotel a few hours later and they were able to retrieve it and lock it up for me. After coming back from Arenal area, I stopped by the hotel a few days later and it retrieved it. Kudos to the hotel and thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I asked and received a business rate . I had to play around with the A/C unite but once it got going ,(or maybe they fixed it) it was freezing . Beds a little on the extra firm side . Breakfast was good .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Jade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Jade

Address: San Pedro, 300 Norte Grupo Q, Los Yoses | San Pedro, San Jose 2050, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Jade 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Boutique Hotel Jade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Jade Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Jade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.