We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you want to stay here....?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Why would you want to stay here....?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A strange place to book if you are a tour operator. Why on earth would I want to drive from the airport to San Jose in all that traffic after hours of flying, just to drive back in the same direction the next morning toward the Arenal or Monteverde areas (and then do the same crazy thing a week later)? Service and staff very friendly, most speak English amazingly well. The murals on the building walls are picturesque, the fountain with colorful tiles in the center gives it a village feel. Food is fair; eat here it you are too tired to drive somewhere else, although, the kids meals are good and large enough for an adult, if a burger or a quesadilla is ok; breakfast buffet is not the tastiest we've encountered. Ample parking; drive around the block to the Alamo-looking entrance. There is a reason it looks like the Alamo - you are basically inside a very lovely looking and well protected fort, not a place you want to venture out from and take a stroll. There is probably a good reason even the humblest of abodes in the area has iron gates and bars in front of their windows and doors. Rooms are ok, but why would I need a kitchen for an overnight stay? And be careful, the sodas in the fridge were not left by someone else, they are part of the minibar. Check the price list on the counter!!! I'd rather have a nice large hotel room. Small bathrooms (wish it was as large as the kitchen) with mildew odor (the two that I encountered). Room 121 - to avoid getting scalded while taking a shower, let the sink hot water run while you take the shower. Also, bring ear plugs, the room is right by the road, and the motorcycles and trucks are very loud. Room 420 - the hot tub is right outside your bedroom window, could be fun or very noisy. Best to take a taxi if you are planning to go downtown, unless you really enjoy good bumper to bumper traffic with some zipping motorcycles thrown in. Pool looked great, but unless you are a bit of an exhibitionist and enjoy it when the entire restaurant watches, not the best place for a swim (therefore, not one person in it the two days we were there). Wifi works well in rooms (get code from front desk); guest computer in lobby did not work when we were there (and had no printer, in case you want to print your boarding passes). If you are returning from Monteverde area, do yourself a favor and take the Rt 27 toll road (about $3) back to San Jose rather than Rt 1, much less stressful.
Overall, not a bad place if you really need to stay in the San Jose area, maybe for a conference or such, then the kitchen may come in handy. But if you don't have to, just stay in the airport area and make the drive to your next destination an hour shorter (1/2 hr plus traffic).

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and leave the A/C on, best noise cancellation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
36
57
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It was nice to have an apartment unit with a full kitchen but the bedrooms and bathroom felt really cramped. The unit didn't seem that old but I think things could have been laid out better. There was mildew and mold in the bathroom shower, walls and celing and the kitchen seemed half completed with not cabinets under the sink counter. Friendly staff, nice pool, good food.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Casa Conde is a good hotel under new management since my last visit. Good meals and safe property. Fair value! It has a great pool. The breakfast is a good Costa Rican experience. Access to shopping is easy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrive at the Casa Conda very late at night after a stressful day of traveling. We walked the ought the arch into the dining and pool area which was all lit up with folded napkins and a buffet set out for us. That immediately made me feel so much better. The food is fantastic and the rooms are clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Read other reviews of the Casa Conde and after staying here thought they were petty. I really enjoyed my stay here. I found the staff, attentive and eager to please. The wifi was fast and available in my room and in the dining room. I worked out at a small outdoor gym area that was clean and well equipped. I ate breakfast and dinner here and found the food tasty and well prepared. The breakfast was especially good- a nice selection of fresh fruit and eggs cooked to your preference. It was around a 8-10 dollar taxi ride to the central areas of San Jose. taxis were plentiful, safe and fast. I didn't mind staying at Casa which is away from the crowded and inner city. A huge group of American school kids were staying here as well. They seemed to be happy and well cared for. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is truly beautiful outside, lovely shrubbery and pool. Very helpful and courteous staff. The breakfast was very good. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip to Costa Rica. The rooms are large and adequate with two separate bedrooms, but need some work. A kitchenette was included. There were no filters for the coffee machine and utensils were sparse. On our first stay, the WiFi worked, but could not be received in our room on the second stay. The bathroom floor looked clean, but when we happened to spill some water on the floor, it became a sea of dirt. The second time we stayed, the bathroom window handle was broken off and it took some ingenuity on our part to get it shut when it started raining. The inside needs to be as carefully cared for as the outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupun, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. A bit further from the airport with other hotels or the downtown life. To get to the Central Market and Museums, it was at least a $7 cab ride one-way. The rooms were clean for the most part but mold was all over the bathroom. The jacuzzi was a perfect way to end the day. We never actually swam in the pool but it looked nice and inviting. Our lower review comes from the noises that kept us up all night. We learned on our first night that our room was located by motorcycle/moped parking, there was a group of teens just hanging out right outside our room in the courtyard, and the room above us never slept. We heard their commotion all night, doors opening and closing, chairs being dragged across the floor, and finally at 3am we heard them zip up their luggage and roll it out. (must have had an early departure). Each time someone entered or left their room on our wing, the door noise and latch was so loud that my husband and I both woke up startled at different points of the night thinking that someone had entered our room! Add to that list the usual traffic noises and birds that were chirping by about 3:30am and we started off our Costa Rica Vacation in not the best of conditions. My advise for staying here, invest in good ear plugs!

Room Tip: We tried to upgrade our room but did not have any luck. Avoid the ground floor at all costs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a neocolonial little town styled hotel located just 1.5 miles from downtown, we offer much services to our guests, such as: free wireless internet access at lobby area, free shuttle service under request and itinerary from the International Airport, free sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool and gym, free shuttle to and from downtown twice a day under schedule, full buffet breakfast,free walking tour to Parque de la Paz wich is just one block away, several gardens into the Hotel, meeting rooms, frontdesk service 24/7, playgrounds for children, fully furnished and equipped rooms (all), souvenir shop, business center and more.We are more than just a hotel, we are your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.