We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful on the Outside, but terribly noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Waupun, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful on the Outside, but terribly noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is a beautiful escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. A bit further from the airport with other hotels or the downtown life. To get to the Central Market and Museums, it was at least a $7 cab ride one-way. The rooms were clean for the most part but mold was all over the bathroom. The jacuzzi was a perfect way to end the day. We never actually swam in the pool but it looked nice and inviting. Our lower review comes from the noises that kept us up all night. We learned on our first night that our room was located by motorcycle/moped parking, there was a group of teens just hanging out right outside our room in the courtyard, and the room above us never slept. We heard their commotion all night, doors opening and closing, chairs being dragged across the floor, and finally at 3am we heard them zip up their luggage and roll it out. (must have had an early departure). Each time someone entered or left their room on our wing, the door noise and latch was so loud that my husband and I both woke up startled at different points of the night thinking that someone had entered our room! Add to that list the usual traffic noises and birds that were chirping by about 3:30am and we started off our Costa Rica Vacation in not the best of conditions. My advise for staying here, invest in good ear plugs!

Room Tip: We tried to upgrade our room but did not have any luck. Avoid the ground floor at all costs!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
48
63
16
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end if a challenge, the rooms are spacious and clean, beds are comfortable but the staff weren't the most helpful in the world!

On the second day we were relaxing around the pool it there was only 4 sun beds so I sat on a towel on the floor! The staff didn't bring any sun beds out despite there being loads in storage!

Food was okay though and a nice choice for breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a group travelling across Costa Rica, we opted to stay one night at the start of the trip and two nights at the end. The only reason for this was that it is located not too far from San Jose airport.
I don't believe that I have stayed in a hotel where the hotel staff make the guests feel so uneasy before. EVERY TIME I spoke to a member of staff at the reception I was interrupted by the staff member either answering the phone or dealing with someone else at the counter who speaks the local language (it must have just seemed simpler to
ignore me).

Try asking for more coffee or water at breakfast and you'll get it, but it won't be with a Smile!

On the last day we spent the day in the sun by the pool (as there's nothing to see on the outside of the walls) drinking beer and cocktails. We had ordered the drinks and placed them on various room numbers throughout the day as rounds were bought, this all seemed fine until checkout the next morning when the group was presented with one bill and left toms ort it out between themselves.

The rooms are basic but adequate, to sleep in. I was surprised by a lack of bottled water available in the room, no tea or coffee. If you want anything then get it yoursel, or be charged for it.

The food was awful, I have no idea what breakfast was supposed to be but it resembled playdoh. A group evening meal was also requested to celebrate our achievement, we were put in a quiet room, no music, lights on full, with the waiters patrolling the tables taking plates a away before everyone had finished (was someone in a rush to go Home?)

And lastly, unfortunately half of our group contracted an illness from this hotel, which meant we spent the night before flight home on the toilet. The flight home was very unpleasant as a result.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, we apologize for the inconvience that you had during your stancy in our hotel, we are going to take your comments very seriously in order to improve our services for future guests.

Best regards from Casa Conde hotel &Suites.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel was part of our fly-drive package, so we stayed there on the first and last nights of our trip for flying in/out of San Jose.
Good thihgs:
the 2 BR suites are very spacious. There's a sitting area with a sofa and large flatscreen TV. There was a complete kitchen including stove, microwave, and coffee maker. The first night they included coffee, but they had run out so we didn't get any on our last night. There was a washer dryer too. The suite felt a little dated but was very clean. There's a pool area but the water was too cold for swimming. The hot tub was lukewarm.
The daily breakfast buffet was the best of our trip because of the large variety of of offerings. In addition to the usual selections, there was also cereal and milk, yogurt, pastries, ham and cheese, and even eggs and omelettes cooked to order on weekends.
We ate dinner here twice. Though a little overpriced by CR standards, the meal was well prepared and quite good. I had a chicken/pesto dish and my girl had pork with tropical fruits. On our last night, we weren't all that hungry and opted to just have appetizers. Both my ceviche and her French onion soup were excellent and left us completely full.
The bad:
Location, location, location. You are a virtual prisoner here because it's like a gated community in a congested residential area, and there are no restaurants nearby at all. Though it's surrounded by 10 foot walls, it adjoins two busy streets. Our first night, a neighborhood barking dog didn't shut up until 10:30pm. On our last night, our room faced the very busy street so there was a lot of traffic noise from trucks and motorcycles. All 4 or 5 buildings face into a central courtyard that is pretty much a giant parking lot, so it feels cold and sterile.
The beds are full size, smaller than a queen. The A/C was barely cutting it in our second unit. There was no ice in the ice machine our last night.
So, I have mixed feelings about this place. I would have preferred something with more access to shopping etc for locals, but it was okay for our limited needs.

Room Tip: Good luck finding the entrance. Our navigation system brought us to the backside of the hotel. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, we apologize for the inconvience that you had during your stancy in our hotel, we are going to take your comments very seriously in order to improve our services for future guests.

Best regards from Casa Conde hotel &Suites.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Casa Conde was certainly the weakest hotel during a two week round trip in CR
- Inflexible staff
- Our room was oriented to the street and very loud. It felt like trucks driving through the sleeping room.
- very small beds for two

But the San Jose area seems difficult for hotel anyway. Next time I will take one of the airport hotels

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, we apologize for the inconvenience that you had during your stancy in our hotel.

We wil take in count your comments, and we are going to improve our services for future costumers.

Best regards

Hotel Casa Conde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate nights as we toured Costa Rica. Stayed Feb 8 and 18, 2014. The hotel is well layed out in a residental area. Beautiful murals and gardens on the property. The accommodations are more than we expected. They are actually 2 bedroom fully equiped apartments. Wifi, washer & dryer, stove, fridge etc. Very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Omar went out of his way to be helpful. We had supper at the restaurant both nights that we stayed there. The food was well prepared and delicious. Service was excellent. The prices were less than what I would pay for a comperable meal back home. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. Lots of good fresh fruit. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,

Complase we know that enjoy all the benefits provided by our hotel, since everything is designed to give our customers an unforgettable experience

Hope to see you soon for this which is home

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were visiting friends in San Jose and wanted something close to their home. After checking various websites, Casa Conde seemed to be the best choice, and in fact it was a very good choice. The accommodations were 2 br. suites,rather than just rooms, giving us more room than needed, but it was nice. The exterior of the property was most unusual and attractive and well maintained. The rooms clean, beds comfortable, and the bathrooms good. We had dinner in the restaurant, and was quite good, however a bit on the expensive side. The breakfast buffet was also good. the staff was efficient and helpful. Check in and out was quick and easy. All in all, a good choice and value. Wouls stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Gerente at Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to comment.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we will consider your comments related to restaurant menu

Complase we know that enjoy all the benefits provided by our hotel.

Hope to see you soon for this which is home

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
2.9 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
2.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, located just 5 minutes from San Jose and 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport, offers comfortable facilities to Local and International Guests. Enjoy 110 fully furnished two-bedroom luxury suites, equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room, TV, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. We provide laundry service, prescheduled Hotel-Airport transfers, meeting room facilities, along with wireless Internet access, computer desk and gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.