We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Big City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
East Ridge, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Big City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on our first night and last night in Costa Rica as our flights were in and out of San Jose. My first impression was that it was okay, but after more Costa Rican travel, I realized that it was actually quite nice comparatively. The suites were spacious and some even provided in-room washers and dryers. There was great air-conditioning and even though you are in the middle of a not-so-great neighborhood, it feels very safe. We only had breakfast here, but the fruit options and hot bar were decent. They could use some new towels in the rooms (ours had a few holes) and maybe some basics in the rooms like dish soap or coffee filters to make things a little easier. If I had to stay in San Jose again though, I would stay here.

Room Tip: I would recommend an upstairs room to be away from staff noise. If you need internet access be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    66
    42
    16
    8
See reviews for
40
59
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I visit San Jose regularly for business purposes since 2007. My first stays in the city were in Casa Conde because of its location, close to the office. It is true the hotel is located in a not-so-friendly neighbourhood; however, I felt myself safe inside the hotel gated area. Rooms are distributed in 2-story buildings and they can not be actually called rooms - they are fully equipped homes with kitchen, washer, dryer, sofas and 2 bedrooms each unit. My critics to this hotel are: furniture is old and thorn, rooms are not clean, staff makes a little noise by speaking just outside rooms. The good about it is: staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Casa Conde a few times now, and have found the staff to be warm and helpful, the suites clean, spacious and comfortable. The buffet breakfast has a nice selection, including an omelet bar. Great atmosphere!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The suite was spacious, but missing some basic items, such as coffee filters and dish towels and soap. Noisy unit, even away from the road, due to employees congregating outside. Clocks set wrong and cannot reset.
Food mediocre and service very slow ( 1 hour wait for food to be served, and it arrived barely warm, but did not send it back for fear it would be another hour.) No manager around to try to correct the problem. With the isolated location, there are no other food choices nearby.
We were disappointed and will look elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Away from employee service are and away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Casa Conde on our last night in San Jose. It was wonderful. We were greeted with "welcome" drinks before being taken to our plush and spacious suite. The beds were soft (the best all week in CR), and we weren't subjected to the noisy round-the-clock traffic of the city. It was like an oasis in the middle of San Jose. We took advantage of the hot tub after dark - nice set up. We went to the restaurant for dinner - a bit expensive. But we couldn't sit outside b/c they were setting up for a private party. The pool was not available for the same reason. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and outdoor seating the next morning. Loved everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was our first night in Costa Rica. We had some trouble finding the hotel whose address is the near by park. It is off a side street. Feel free to call the hotel for help. The hotel was a suite, 2 bedrooms(small but adequate) with a separate sitting area and kitchen with washer/ dryer. The pool, hot tub, and excercise room were all available. The hot tub was luke warm and the pool was situated outside the resteraunt. Breakfast was quite good-fresh fruit, ham, eggs, and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

After a hellish horrible night at a not-so-nice hotel in Escazu, we decided to pack up and switch hotels. Our lawyer suggested Casa Conde, and we're SO glad he did!! The suite we got is on the inside section of the compound, so it's super quiet, and everything we needed was right here!
The hotel let us check in early, we had a fabulous lunch at their buffet, and then later, we had a wonderful dinner (albeit a little noisy due to the american kids squealing in the pool outside)
The next morning, we had a very early wake-up call to make it to an appointment by 6:30, they even called a taxi for us with no problems. I can't even mention it enough, but to say this hotel is amazing.

In short, I'll never stay anywhere else when visiting San Jose again! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a neocolonial little town styled hotel located just 1.5 miles from downtown, we offer much services to our guests, such as: free wireless internet access at lobby area, free shuttle service under request and itinerary from the International Airport, free sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool and gym, free shuttle to and from downtown twice a day under schedule, full buffet breakfast,free walking tour to Parque de la Paz wich is just one block away, several gardens into the Hotel, meeting rooms, frontdesk service 24/7, playgrounds for children, fully furnished and equipped rooms (all), souvenir shop, business center and more.We are more than just a hotel, we are your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.