We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Safe in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The grounds make this hotel very Disney-like. Beautiful flowers, decorations and trompe l'oeil make a relaxing, enchanting setting. Our accommodations were clean,safe, comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was yummy and relaxing to sit by the pool. Rooms have air conditioning.

Although the hotel is not located within walking distance of anything, for a small fee ($4 -$6 total for up t0 4 people) you can get a ride to and from downtown, or Walmart (haha the only place we found people don't speak English).

I liked it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    66
    44
    17
    8
See reviews for
41
60
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

we spent a nite on either side of our CR vacation. In fairness we didnt experience the hotel very long as we arrived late the first nite and left early the second nite.
Front desk was efficient (but certainly not as warm as the other hotels we visited on the trip). room was clean and spacious (hot water intermittent on second visit). Didnt eat there so cant comment (left before breakfast was served both days). Had a drink by the pool - had to go to the bar when the order wasnt satisfactory - not sure where the server went? Pool looked just ok - and is rite beside the bar (hope you are not self conscious in your bathing suit!)
Finally - i think the main issue i had is the location. You definitely dont want to wander outside the gates (day or nite) Not that it is really unsafe - but nothing there to see within walking distance anyways. In fairness - there appeared to be lots of business people there - so maybe this is the attraction of the place. We would definitely look for something different next time (either more downtown or closer to the airport - quite an adventure getting back and forth with our rental car)

Room Tip: we stayed in 2 different buildings on our two nites both seemed good - top floor is preferable and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Agree with many comments already made. It is not in the best or accessible area but with a driver from the airport, it was not an issue. The hotel compound is a nice place to come home to. Restaurant served tasty dishes and buffet was nice. Rooms were spacious. Washer / dryer was appreciated. We were looking for an evening soccer match and the hotel helped us set it up. They are very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is one-of-a-kind; high on character with interesting architecture and colors. It is definitely NOT the generic name-brand hotel, so stay away if that is what you are looking for. It is an authentic latin establishment with all its quirks. The buildings themselves are rather old but have been renovated and maintained. One clue to the age is kitchen had a high "chimney" going up from the ceiling to take the cooking heat away - needed in pre-A/C days. Since it is older, some may also find the wear on the floors, doors, etc. putting off but I find it adds charm and history. You can also find modest dirt and grime in the less accessible nooks and crannies if you give it the white glove treatment, but you can also tell it has been cleaned and the important areas, such as bends, floors, and bathrooms, were very clean.

The location is not great - it was almost a half-hour ride from the San Jose airport and there is nothing in the immediate neighborhood. You need to take a taxi to get anywhere you need to go. But that is thankfully very easy - the hotel arranges for transport and it only costs a few dollars. We took a taxi to the downtown, and the driver arrived back at the agreed upon pickup spot within 2 minutes of our requested time. The location was quiet at night so good for sleeping - much better than downtown San Jose.

Overall, this hotel is not a destination in of itself but is an excellent stayover for arriving / departing through the airport if you would rather stay in a quiet, out-of-the way place with some color and character rather than a generic hotel that the general herd goes to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It took us about 2 1/2 hours to get from the car rental facility to Casa Conde because we got lost numerous times, but not complaining. We stopped to talk to the locals as well as see San Jose and eventually had one of the kids in the neighborhood where Casa Conde is located, lead us to the facility as we followed him on his skateboard. Again, a great adventure but I would highly recommend purchasing/using a GPS. The Apartotel & Suites are literally off the beaten path in a residential area but once you reach it, you are amazed. The entrance is beautiful (and guarded) and the facilities are top notch. Easy check-in, parking right outside of our buliding, bellman service and a beautiful interior make this a great place to stay and relax. Definitely a place I would recommend but there isn't much to see directy outside of the complex. Casa Conde offers modern and comfortable fully furnished 2-bedroom suites equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room with sofa bed, 25-inch TV, DVD player, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. I was able to use the fitness center and the equipment was modern and in good shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had made prior arrangements to be picked up at 9:30pm (after the usual shuttle hours) and we had given our Frontier flight number so when we finally arrived at 11:30pm, we were very pleased to see our shuttle driver with our name on his sign. He drove us the 45 minutes to Casa Conde and the next day our rental car was delivered to us so we didn't have any real experience with the neighborhood. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable and we were exhausted. Breakfast the next morning was simply amazing, it was so good! We don't think it was because we hadn't eaten since the afternoon before in Denver, CO. All kinds of fresh fruit, waffles, omelets, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, and more. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and it was a good "entrance" to our month long stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent four nights here in a four week visit to Costa Rica. The location is inconvenient for downtown but the hotel has a free morning and afternoon shuttle which help to alleviate the problem. Taxis are easily available with the various destinations and prices posted in the hotel lobby.

The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is unsafe for walkers and we were told by hotel staff to only turn left outside the gates, not right, and to never walk at night. The razor wire and window/door bars on all properties in the area were more evidence of the kind of area we were in.

Our apartment had a kitchen and a very useful washer and dryer, a small sitting room/dining room, two double bedrooms and the smallest bathroom we had during our stay. The sofa (hide-a-bed) couldn't be sat on in any comfort and the tv was disconnected on our arrival but the helpful staff soon got that fixed. The floors were covered in a fine dust which we feel is likely volcanic in origin, so wear slippers! Generally, the whole place looked "tired" and needed an update. The pool is unheated with no loungers available and the spa/hot tub is tepid. We later discovered the loungers near the spa in a noisy location without a view of any kind. Our room was quiet at night.

The staff did their best to make our stay pleasant. Many speak reasonably good English and all were helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the breakfasts but did not like the one evening meal we ate there as the mushroom risotto was undercooked and made with evaporated milk. We'd recommend eating prior to arriving back for the evening or bringing something back with you. The fully equipped kitchen is not full or equipped as 2 of everything does not constitute a workable situation.

Room Tip: We were in building no. 4 on the ground floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a neocolonial little town styled hotel located just 1.5 miles from downtown, we offer much services to our guests, such as: free wireless internet access at lobby area, free shuttle service under request and itinerary from the International Airport, free sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool and gym, free shuttle to and from downtown twice a day under schedule, full buffet breakfast,free walking tour to Parque de la Paz wich is just one block away, several gardens into the Hotel, meeting rooms, frontdesk service 24/7, playgrounds for children, fully furnished and equipped rooms (all), souvenir shop, business center and more.We are more than just a hotel, we are your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.