We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Valparaiso, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of Character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is one-of-a-kind; high on character with interesting architecture and colors. It is definitely NOT the generic name-brand hotel, so stay away if that is what you are looking for. It is an authentic latin establishment with all its quirks. The buildings themselves are rather old but have been renovated and maintained. One clue to the age is kitchen had a high "chimney" going up from the ceiling to take the cooking heat away - needed in pre-A/C days. Since it is older, some may also find the wear on the floors, doors, etc. putting off but I find it adds charm and history. You can also find modest dirt and grime in the less accessible nooks and crannies if you give it the white glove treatment, but you can also tell it has been cleaned and the important areas, such as bends, floors, and bathrooms, were very clean.

The location is not great - it was almost a half-hour ride from the San Jose airport and there is nothing in the immediate neighborhood. You need to take a taxi to get anywhere you need to go. But that is thankfully very easy - the hotel arranges for transport and it only costs a few dollars. We took a taxi to the downtown, and the driver arrived back at the agreed upon pickup spot within 2 minutes of our requested time. The location was quiet at night so good for sleeping - much better than downtown San Jose.

Overall, this hotel is not a destination in of itself but is an excellent stayover for arriving / departing through the airport if you would rather stay in a quiet, out-of-the way place with some color and character rather than a generic hotel that the general herd goes to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
48
63
16
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It took us about 2 1/2 hours to get from the car rental facility to Casa Conde because we got lost numerous times, but not complaining. We stopped to talk to the locals as well as see San Jose and eventually had one of the kids in the neighborhood where Casa Conde is located, lead us to the facility as we followed him on his skateboard. Again, a great adventure but I would highly recommend purchasing/using a GPS. The Apartotel & Suites are literally off the beaten path in a residential area but once you reach it, you are amazed. The entrance is beautiful (and guarded) and the facilities are top notch. Easy check-in, parking right outside of our buliding, bellman service and a beautiful interior make this a great place to stay and relax. Definitely a place I would recommend but there isn't much to see directy outside of the complex. Casa Conde offers modern and comfortable fully furnished 2-bedroom suites equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room with sofa bed, 25-inch TV, DVD player, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. I was able to use the fitness center and the equipment was modern and in good shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had made prior arrangements to be picked up at 9:30pm (after the usual shuttle hours) and we had given our Frontier flight number so when we finally arrived at 11:30pm, we were very pleased to see our shuttle driver with our name on his sign. He drove us the 45 minutes to Casa Conde and the next day our rental car was delivered to us so we didn't have any real experience with the neighborhood. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable and we were exhausted. Breakfast the next morning was simply amazing, it was so good! We don't think it was because we hadn't eaten since the afternoon before in Denver, CO. All kinds of fresh fruit, waffles, omelets, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, and more. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and it was a good "entrance" to our month long stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent four nights here in a four week visit to Costa Rica. The location is inconvenient for downtown but the hotel has a free morning and afternoon shuttle which help to alleviate the problem. Taxis are easily available with the various destinations and prices posted in the hotel lobby.

The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is unsafe for walkers and we were told by hotel staff to only turn left outside the gates, not right, and to never walk at night. The razor wire and window/door bars on all properties in the area were more evidence of the kind of area we were in.

Our apartment had a kitchen and a very useful washer and dryer, a small sitting room/dining room, two double bedrooms and the smallest bathroom we had during our stay. The sofa (hide-a-bed) couldn't be sat on in any comfort and the tv was disconnected on our arrival but the helpful staff soon got that fixed. The floors were covered in a fine dust which we feel is likely volcanic in origin, so wear slippers! Generally, the whole place looked "tired" and needed an update. The pool is unheated with no loungers available and the spa/hot tub is tepid. We later discovered the loungers near the spa in a noisy location without a view of any kind. Our room was quiet at night.

The staff did their best to make our stay pleasant. Many speak reasonably good English and all were helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the breakfasts but did not like the one evening meal we ate there as the mushroom risotto was undercooked and made with evaporated milk. We'd recommend eating prior to arriving back for the evening or bringing something back with you. The fully equipped kitchen is not full or equipped as 2 of everything does not constitute a workable situation.

Room Tip: We were in building no. 4 on the ground floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend 8 wonderful nights in this hotel. The staff was courteous, my breakfast, which was different each morning, was included in the price. They are definitely large suites. I had a two bedroom, kitchen, dining area and living area with a 20 foot arched ceiling and all this for a very reasonable price. I was able to witness several Costa Rican festivities, like a wedding and a birthday party, in the common reception dining/pool area. The halls are nicely appointed and the walls of the various buildings are all painted with floral/jungle patterns intermixed with actual vines. Very nice.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor suites have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I just spent two nights in their modest style apartments, the staff were friendly and helpful, but you can't walkout the compound, very run down area, not safe at night. The apartment needed refurbishing and upgrading, the washroom is so small, when you stood up from toilet you hit the wall. The buffet breakfast included was quite good, as sitting outside on patio. The two nights I was there, the car alarms went on and off all night ruining any chance of a restful sleep. The other concern was they had a large gathering of the outlaw motorcycle gang the Bandito's staying the second night I was there in full colours and revving their bikes at night and morning, which seemed to set off vehicle car alarms. Not impressed staying at hotel which caters to outlaw motorcycle gangs as their clients. I won't go back there.

Room Tip: Away from parking area, many separate buildings on compound,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The buildings in the hotel compound are charmingly painted, and there are beautiful stained-glass windows in several of the buildings, but when we entered the building where our room was located, we were hit by a powerful musty smell which also pervaded our room. In addition to the smell, we had been assigned a room right next to the hot pool, and the noise from the pump was horribly loud, even with the windows closed. We were also desperate for a walk after a long day of traveling, but did not feel safe heading out beyond the guarded entrance to the hotel. My recommendation to the hotel owners is to take those rooms by the hot tub out of commission, or else move the hot tub to another location where it won't disturb people's rest.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#6 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
2.9 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
2.5 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Conde Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Hotel & Suites

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, located just 5 minutes from San Jose and 30 minutes from the Juan Santamaria International Airport, offers comfortable facilities to Local and International Guests. Enjoy 110 fully furnished two-bedroom luxury suites, equipped with a kitchen, dining room, living room, TV, air conditioning, secure parking and all the amenities to make you feel right at home. We provide laundry service, prescheduled Hotel-Airport transfers, meeting room facilities, along with wireless Internet access, computer desk and gift shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Casa Conde Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.