We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our flight was 2 hours late but they were there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our flight was 2 hours late but they were there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had made prior arrangements to be picked up at 9:30pm (after the usual shuttle hours) and we had given our Frontier flight number so when we finally arrived at 11:30pm, we were very pleased to see our shuttle driver with our name on his sign. He drove us the 45 minutes to Casa Conde and the next day our rental car was delivered to us so we didn't have any real experience with the neighborhood. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable and we were exhausted. Breakfast the next morning was simply amazing, it was so good! We don't think it was because we hadn't eaten since the afternoon before in Denver, CO. All kinds of fresh fruit, waffles, omelets, coffee, juice, cereal, toast, and more. All of the staff were extremely pleasant and it was a good "entrance" to our month long stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    64
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
37
59
15
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent four nights here in a four week visit to Costa Rica. The location is inconvenient for downtown but the hotel has a free morning and afternoon shuttle which help to alleviate the problem. Taxis are easily available with the various destinations and prices posted in the hotel lobby.

The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is unsafe for walkers and we were told by hotel staff to only turn left outside the gates, not right, and to never walk at night. The razor wire and window/door bars on all properties in the area were more evidence of the kind of area we were in.

Our apartment had a kitchen and a very useful washer and dryer, a small sitting room/dining room, two double bedrooms and the smallest bathroom we had during our stay. The sofa (hide-a-bed) couldn't be sat on in any comfort and the tv was disconnected on our arrival but the helpful staff soon got that fixed. The floors were covered in a fine dust which we feel is likely volcanic in origin, so wear slippers! Generally, the whole place looked "tired" and needed an update. The pool is unheated with no loungers available and the spa/hot tub is tepid. We later discovered the loungers near the spa in a noisy location without a view of any kind. Our room was quiet at night.

The staff did their best to make our stay pleasant. Many speak reasonably good English and all were helpful and cheerful. We enjoyed the breakfasts but did not like the one evening meal we ate there as the mushroom risotto was undercooked and made with evaporated milk. We'd recommend eating prior to arriving back for the evening or bringing something back with you. The fully equipped kitchen is not full or equipped as 2 of everything does not constitute a workable situation.

Room Tip: We were in building no. 4 on the ground floor. There is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had the opportunity to spend 8 wonderful nights in this hotel. The staff was courteous, my breakfast, which was different each morning, was included in the price. They are definitely large suites. I had a two bedroom, kitchen, dining area and living area with a 20 foot arched ceiling and all this for a very reasonable price. I was able to witness several Costa Rican festivities, like a wedding and a birthday party, in the common reception dining/pool area. The halls are nicely appointed and the walls of the various buildings are all painted with floral/jungle patterns intermixed with actual vines. Very nice.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor suites have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I just spent two nights in their modest style apartments, the staff were friendly and helpful, but you can't walkout the compound, very run down area, not safe at night. The apartment needed refurbishing and upgrading, the washroom is so small, when you stood up from toilet you hit the wall. The buffet breakfast included was quite good, as sitting outside on patio. The two nights I was there, the car alarms went on and off all night ruining any chance of a restful sleep. The other concern was they had a large gathering of the outlaw motorcycle gang the Bandito's staying the second night I was there in full colours and revving their bikes at night and morning, which seemed to set off vehicle car alarms. Not impressed staying at hotel which caters to outlaw motorcycle gangs as their clients. I won't go back there.

Room Tip: Away from parking area, many separate buildings on compound,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The buildings in the hotel compound are charmingly painted, and there are beautiful stained-glass windows in several of the buildings, but when we entered the building where our room was located, we were hit by a powerful musty smell which also pervaded our room. In addition to the smell, we had been assigned a room right next to the hot pool, and the noise from the pump was horribly loud, even with the windows closed. We were also desperate for a walk after a long day of traveling, but did not feel safe heading out beyond the guarded entrance to the hotel. My recommendation to the hotel owners is to take those rooms by the hot tub out of commission, or else move the hot tub to another location where it won't disturb people's rest.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Overall the stay at the hotel was nice. The problem was, the hotel was in a very bad part if town, so we couldn't go out sightseeing. It was also about 40 mins from the airport, so the cab ride there and back ate up any savings we may have had, but that part was our fault.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I liked the place but was warned that the area was unsafe to walk at night. The accomodations were nice the first 4 days we were there and clean but the floor was very dirty( like I had put my finger on an finger print pad not kidding) my feet were filthy. I thought maybe they had not mopped. The breakfasts were nice but I would not go back for dinner again. We came back for the last day of our trip to stay there and in a different room and the floor was the same way and the shower would not give hot water. I mentioned it to them and they said it was because of the wind etc. what a crock. All the other places we stayed had clean floors even the place we stayed in Monte Verde that has very high winds this time of the year had clean floors. I will never stay in the San Jose area again crazy drivers, people step out in front of you to try to get hit, it is flat scary. We loved the Cloud forest area, Puntarenas area, La Fortuna, Liberia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a neocolonial little town styled hotel located just 1.5 miles from downtown, we offer much services to our guests, such as: free wireless internet access at lobby area, free shuttle service under request and itinerary from the International Airport, free sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool and gym, free shuttle to and from downtown twice a day under schedule, full buffet breakfast,free walking tour to Parque de la Paz wich is just one block away, several gardens into the Hotel, meeting rooms, frontdesk service 24/7, playgrounds for children, fully furnished and equipped rooms (all), souvenir shop, business center and more.We are more than just a hotel, we are your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.