We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose to your Saves list
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The staff at the hotel were very nice and helpful. The room was great it had two bedrooms a kitchen and living room with a washer and dryer. It was a deal for the price we paid. Breakfast buffet was included and had a nice variety of things including omlette station. Rooms and property were clean. Definately would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Manager at Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello dear friend "CT", we send you warm greetings from Casa Conde! It was our pleasure having you here at our Hotel. We are really thankful about your comment and pleased that your expectations were satisfied. In Casa Conde we try to give all our clients a unique costarican experience, not only for our facilities but also our service and staff's kindness. we look forward to your next stay so we can continue giving you the best of us...
Sincerely,
Jorge Zuñiga Mora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    66
    41
    16
    8
See reviews for
39
59
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Casa Conde. What a place. Nice people nice atmosphere and over all a truly unique ¨hotel¨.
Casa Conde is home away from home. Each of the rooms happens to have a small living room a somewhat small kitchen and an enourmous bathroom plus 2 average size rooms for a total of 4 people per room. Does that make sense? in other words, the room that you get can hold up to 4 people. The ¨room¨happens to have its own A/C unit so as to keep everyone cool during those hot days in the capitol of Costa Rica. The temp here is of some 24 Celsius almost all year round.
The not so cool thing is that some ocasions there is no hot water so as a tip, once you have been given your mini house or room make sure that you do have some hot water in your room the other thing is that there are no elevators so if your hauling a good size piece of luggage it could make things for you a bit tiring púlling that heavy suitcase up the stairs.
Luckily for you there are bell boys. As for the place having a spa I do not recall and also it is not in the center of San Jose but in a small neighborhood that is o.k. not upper class nor low class it is an average type neighborhood

Room Tip: Any of the room are fine but the best ones are the ones close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Manager at Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hello Mr. "Oznog", warmest greetings from Casa Conde Hotels.
First of all, we would like to thank your comment and your preference to our property.
Since the owners of Casa Conde are costarican, we always try to offer our clients the best treat and service and we really appreciate you mentioned that. About the hot water, we are renewing all the system to guarantee a none fail use. it is true we have no elevators but as you told, we always have bellboys happy to help you out if your are assigned to an upstairs suite. We are located just 2 miles away from downtown and we offer a free shuttle service to get there. Also, we have the Parque de la Paz just a couple blocks away, which is one of the biggest in San Jose.
We are glad you had a good time while your stay with us, we hope for your next stay to show you up our improvements and to receive not a customer but a friend.
Sincerely, Jorge Zuñiga M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a multi-building hotel. We stayed there for 10 days on business (a group of 15). We had a great time. We were using one of the conference rooms for a training with coffee breaks served right outside in the garden. One night that we were working until late (almost midnight) they even brought dinner and served it in our conference room so that we didn't have to interrupt the training.
Everybody is very polite and helpful, always with a smile. And the food is really yummy! I think my best memory is having lunch by the pool while a traditional Trio was singing boleros right next to me!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Manager at Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Ms. Kelly MLnt, greetings for you from Casa Conde Hotel & Suites.
We feel honored by your words, it is nothing but our purpose to achieve this satisfaction grade in all our clients. In Casa Conde we are meant to give an exceptional experience since the time you step into our property until you leave as another friend of our huge family, and make you feel like you are in home away from home it is our more important goal. We hope you had time to explore into our beautiful gardens, see the different types of orchids and rare plants we have, such as the Aristolochia which is also the biggest flower in Costa Rica; besides the Parque de la Paz that is less than one block away from our facilities.
Finally, we hope you come back to Casa Conde whenever you like to.
Sincerely, Jorge Zuñiga M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The hotel is a large multi-building compound suitable for tours or anyone getting ready to go to the countryside. It is not advisable to walk the several miles into center city, so if you are here to visit downtown San Jose, you should stay downtown. They have attractively decorated the buildings including plantings with artwork. Food is good and the buffet is the one option that is not a little pricey. The white wine is fine, but they let the red wine sit out and it was starting to turn. My suite was large, including a full kitchen, but the cabinets were empty, not even a pen and paper in sight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge Z, Manager at Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hello Mr. Jhon and Mrs. Linda, we hope you are doing great.
We would like to thank your for choosing Casa Conde for your last stay in Costa Rica.

Gladly we have read your review and really appreciate all your comments and advises, we will take them seriously into account. About the visit to Downtown, I have to let you know we are just 2.5 miles away from there and we offer a free shuttle service from and to the center, I apologize if you were not able to use it but I am sure you will next time. I am very proud to tell you that all the paintings, stained glasses and decorative artworks are made by local artists who we support.
I will speak with the Food and Beverages Manager to solve the wine detail, thank you for the tip.
Finally, we will take a look to the gabinets and make sure that there is a pen and note block in every room.
Now you know you have a home in Costa Rica, we awair for your next visit.
Sincerely, Jorge Zuñiga Mora.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

nice clean apartment style, excellent for several day stay, 30 min from airport, good food at restaurant (bit expensive). nice jacuzzi for relaxing. beautiful pool area but there was a wedding reception the same day, friendly and helpful staff - called the airport when our bags didn't arrive when expected, would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We spent the first and last nights of a 6-night Costa Rica tour at Casa Conde, arranged by Gate 1 Travel. After an evening flight and picking up a rental car, finding the hotel in the dark was a challenge. In retrospect, we probably should have stayed near the airport as it required driving about 30 minutes in busy traffic. That said, our stay at Casa Conde was very pleasant. The staff was exceptional and made us feel very welcome -- even a glass of fresh fruit juice upon arrival. Our rooms were large, actually apartments, with kitchen, living room, and even a washer/dryer. We appreciated being able to dry our suits after using the lovely outdoor jacuzzi. The breakfasts and one dinner were excellent, and the outside dining was very pleasant. The complex has nicely decorated grounds which create the atmosphere of a real hacienda.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The biggest problem we experienced was the limited airport shuttles available at the hotel. The shuttles do not begin until 630AM (which you still need almost an hour to get to the hotel in the horrible traffic). The website does not list the limited times of the shuttles, so beware if you have an early or late flight. The shuttle only runs every couple of hours as well. We booked the hotel thinking it would be a quick and easy shuttle ride to the airport for our early flight, but it was not so. The only other option to get to the airport was an expensive taxi ride - something like US $50.

The rooms were great, with a nice kitchen and bathroom. Clean. Like everywhere in Costa Rica, the beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose

Address: Costado Sur Del Parque De La Paz | 15 milles away from the Intern. Airport, San Jose 68-2400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Conde Hotel & Suites is a neocolonial little town styled hotel located just 1.5 miles from downtown, we offer much services to our guests, such as: free wireless internet access at lobby area, free shuttle service under request and itinerary from the International Airport, free sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool and gym, free shuttle to and from downtown twice a day under schedule, full buffet breakfast,free walking tour to Parque de la Paz wich is just one block away, several gardens into the Hotel, meeting rooms, frontdesk service 24/7, playgrounds for children, fully furnished and equipped rooms (all), souvenir shop, business center and more.We are more than just a hotel, we are your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Conde Apartotel And Suites San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel San Jose
Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Conde Apartotel & Suites San Jose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.