We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base in San Jose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Bergerac to your Saves list
Hotel Le Bergerac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great home base in San Jose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two times on our Costa Rican honeymoon. It was our first stop when we arrived in the country at 5:30am and we appreciated the great service as we were of course pretty jetlagged. They were able to check us in when we arrived so we could take a shower and have the delicious Costa Rican breakfast in their cafe. We came back after a trip to Monteverde and stayed two more nights at Le Bergerac in the middle of our trip. The staff helped us book our tour to Cafe Britt, made restaurant reservations, and helped us with cabs. We found them friendly and helpful and it was always nice to return to such a welcoming place after a day exploring. We passed a nice afternoon chatting with Erick at the bar and enjoying the great happy hour deals.

The rooms were a little inconsistent. The first room we stayed in was quite a bit older and on the ground floor so a little dark. When we came back we were in a second floor room with an amazing blue bathroom with tall ceilings and a great view. That was room #12 and I highly recommend it.

Would definitely send friends or family to Le Bergerac when they're in San Jose!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    111
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
61
135
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Le Bergerac. We were very excited to be there but after the Villa Decary [Arenal] and Hotel Belmar [Monteverde] we were disappointed. The hotel looks very charming, the building is beautiful, surrounded by a very nice garden. Unfortunately the room we were [#28 - deluxe] was pretty old furnished. But the worse is the lighting: we understand that hotel needs to reduce their electric expenses but all the bulbs are BASIC FLUORESCENT ENERGY SAVING LIGHT. Which means that your bedroom looks like a hospital bedroom. Le Bergerac has a great potential but unfortunately not explored by the owners. Very sad. The location is really cool, only 15mn from the noisy downtown and take the time to walk all around the hood, there is beautiful architecture to discover especially the "brutalist" church of Fatima, 3 blocks away. Rare piece of architecture.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was hard to find the hotel mostly because no one thought to tell us it was 2 blocks away from a major shopping plaza. So many streets in San Jose are one way and the congestion was horrible,,,,,The rooms were simple but quaint. the little patio was a great place to meet with my business associate. The service was awessome and the restaurant well done..


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been to Costa Rica many times and have always stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown when in San Jose....not anymore

Hotel Le Bergerac has such a friendly and helpful staff, great restaurant, and awesome location. You can walk in to town or San Pedro with ease.

The university is close by so there are delightful places to eat and drink.stopped at an amazing tea shop today near the hotel and had the best iced tea of my life (and live in NC) room is clean and comfortable.

Super happy to have found this place. Love, love, it

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a patio. NIce to read and journal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Iam back again to Costa Rica and I did not want to drive back to fortuna where my destination is, so I look for nearest place to spend the night and I found Hotel Bergerac I really did no know what to expect but when I arrive it felt like I was in a movie set because the place was immaculate and the staff so friendly courteous and on point. So I got to my room which it was super gorgeous, clean and smell super fresh which also had this big window that you open up with a gorgeous garden and natural sky light.
Also the bathroom with the an amazing sky light that makes the bathroom look so cool.
Well to make my story short I strongly recommended to anyone who wants to feel safe and be treated like a million dollar guess.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spouse and I stayed at Bergerac for three nights, in a room with two queen beds, lovely big bathroom, and small private patio. Our accomodations were very clean and quiet. The hotel staff, from the desk personnel, to the waitstaff in the restaurant, to housekeeping, were polite, friendly, happy, helpful and flexible.

The typical Costa Rican breakfast, included in our room price, was tasty, filling and cooked to perfection. Dinners at Cyrano's, the in-house restaurant, were good and reasonably priced, and the bar stocked regular items most people might order.

The location was good for us, and we were able to take taxis, city buses, and walk to the places we needed to visit. Our departure from the hotel at 4:00 a.m. on a Saturday morning was met with helpful staff, ready with coffee and toast, to get us started on our trip back to the U.S. For people seeking a quiet, clean, relaxed atmosphere, this is the place and we will definitely be back.

Cannot think of anything we did not like...everything was great for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent four nights at Bergerac,organised for us by our travel company. The rooms, we stayed in 3 different ones, were immaculate as were the shared areas which were tastefully decorated. The small garden area,around the restaurant, was lovely. The service was friendly and the food tasty. The location, in a quiet residential area, was a short, direct walk to the centre. But what stood out was the friendly and helpful staff, who remembered and welcomed us back on each occasion. On our last day in Costa Rica I needed to see a doctor, Katya, the assistant manager, immediately suggested she could come with us to translate and stayed well past her working hours. Service beyond what would be expected. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear M and J C,

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our tropical gardens and that you found our property with a good location in regards where you wanted to go. Many guests use Le Bergerac as a home base while travelling around our beautiful Costa Rica.

As we read your message we are pleased to know that the hotel and restaurant staffs, we both have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service, hospitality and needs.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.7 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
4.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#5 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bergerac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.