We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find but worth the look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Bergerac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 85 hotels in San Jose
San José
1 review
“hard to find but worth the look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It was hard to find the hotel mostly because no one thought to tell us it was 2 blocks away from a major shopping plaza. So many streets in San Jose are one way and the congestion was horrible,,,,,The rooms were simple but quaint. the little patio was a great place to meet with my business associate. The service was awessome and the restaurant well done..


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    99
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
123
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been to Costa Rica many times and have always stayed at the Holiday Inn downtown when in San Jose....not anymore

Hotel Le Bergerac has such a friendly and helpful staff, great restaurant, and awesome location. You can walk in to town or San Pedro with ease.

The university is close by so there are delightful places to eat and drink.stopped at an amazing tea shop today near the hotel and had the best iced tea of my life (and live in NC) room is clean and comfortable.

Super happy to have found this place. Love, love, it

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a patio. NIce to read and journal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Iam back again to Costa Rica and I did not want to drive back to fortuna where my destination is, so I look for nearest place to spend the night and I found Hotel Bergerac I really did no know what to expect but when I arrive it felt like I was in a movie set because the place was immaculate and the staff so friendly courteous and on point. So I got to my room which it was super gorgeous, clean and smell super fresh which also had this big window that you open up with a gorgeous garden and natural sky light.
Also the bathroom with the an amazing sky light that makes the bathroom look so cool.
Well to make my story short I strongly recommended to anyone who wants to feel safe and be treated like a million dollar guess.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spouse and I stayed at Bergerac for three nights, in a room with two queen beds, lovely big bathroom, and small private patio. Our accomodations were very clean and quiet. The hotel staff, from the desk personnel, to the waitstaff in the restaurant, to housekeeping, were polite, friendly, happy, helpful and flexible.

The typical Costa Rican breakfast, included in our room price, was tasty, filling and cooked to perfection. Dinners at Cyrano's, the in-house restaurant, were good and reasonably priced, and the bar stocked regular items most people might order.

The location was good for us, and we were able to take taxis, city buses, and walk to the places we needed to visit. Our departure from the hotel at 4:00 a.m. on a Saturday morning was met with helpful staff, ready with coffee and toast, to get us started on our trip back to the U.S. For people seeking a quiet, clean, relaxed atmosphere, this is the place and we will definitely be back.

Cannot think of anything we did not like...everything was great for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent four nights at Bergerac,organised for us by our travel company. The rooms, we stayed in 3 different ones, were immaculate as were the shared areas which were tastefully decorated. The small garden area,around the restaurant, was lovely. The service was friendly and the food tasty. The location, in a quiet residential area, was a short, direct walk to the centre. But what stood out was the friendly and helpful staff, who remembered and welcomed us back on each occasion. On our last day in Costa Rica I needed to see a doctor, Katya, the assistant manager, immediately suggested she could come with us to translate and stayed well past her working hours. Service beyond what would be expected. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear M and J C,

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed our tropical gardens and that you found our property with a good location in regards where you wanted to go. Many guests use Le Bergerac as a home base while travelling around our beautiful Costa Rica.

As we read your message we are pleased to know that the hotel and restaurant staffs, we both have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service, hospitality and needs.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a small hotel, located in a mixed residential, small business area of San Jose. The hotel, itself, was made from about three homes linked together and turned into boutique hotel. Although it is located on a quiet side street, it is less than a block from a main avenue, with very easy public transportation choices. Within walking distance is a nice size supermarket, right next to an absolute dream of a bakery. About three blocks further is a 3 story mall with just about everything you could possibly want to buy. The location made it very convenient for us to get around. And, because we were in a fairly upscale neighborhood, we didn't have concerns about the petty crime that can be common in any large city.

The restaurant in the hotel was great, with an enormous breakfast included in the room rate. Dinners were terrific as well. Not a huge selection, but the food was heavenly. The entire staff was warm and welcoming, and we enjoyed many laughs with them. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with internet available everywhere. There were several repeat guests who refuse to stay anywhere else. You truly feel like the guest of a welcoming family here.

Only two minor drawbacks to mention - no air conditioning, and lots of stairs. If you have not been to San Jose before, it is in the mountains, close to the equator. Temperatures year round are between ~ 60 - 80 degrees. So air conditioning really is not needed. The ceiling fans keep everything very nice. Humidity is the only real issue, and then only if you want a very dry environment. The stairs can be tricky if you have any knee or hip problems, or trouble with balance. Otherwise they simply are not an issue at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Le Bergerac during your stay at San José. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the meals, the room and the location.

Our staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed their service. We are always eager to help and provide our guests with information and recommendations so they can experience San José and its main attractions.

We hope to have the pleasure to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Hasta pronto,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Le Bergerac twice during our Costa Rica trip, everything about our stays were fabulous, the service, the rooms, the location. Whilst its not in central San Jose we liked the fact we could walk to a nearby tapas bar and restaurants at night. The staff were great helped us with anything we needed, let us check in early, def recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bergerac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.