We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Bergerac to your Saves list
Hotel Le Bergerac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Trier
1 review
“very pleasant alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Le Bergerac is a somewhat atypical getaway from the chains in a nice area of SJO. city centre is still walking distance and hotel staff were forthcoming. we especially enjoyed the spacious room and the breakfast that one could enjoy in the garden terrace. i would definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    103
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
56
123
26
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay here. We were traveling with a Tauck Tour, and the staff was very attentive to our needs.
The food was excellent!
The hotel grounds were beautiful and relaxing on the patio. This was our first stay in San Jose, and if we get a chance to return, we would definitely come back to Hotel Le Bergerac

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very well located in a quiet place.
Hôtel de charme style with a very friendly and easy going service.
The personnel is dedicated to help the client.
The rooms are big, well equipped but may be not as cosy as one would expect in such a boutique hotel. There is probably some room for improvement (ie in making them more personalized)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

this is my 4th visit to costa rica, but first time to stay a night in san jose. we were stopping over in san jose for one night before moving on to another destination. the hotel was ideal. rooms were clean, staff friendly and the location is close enough to the center of town (about $3 by taxi) but far enough to be away from all the bustle. They allow you to exchange up to $100 into colones at a very reasonable rate, and you can buy your airport exit taxes too. One caveat, we only stayed one night and spent most of the time sightseeing, so we really used it primarily to sleep, bath and breakfast, but it was perfect for that. Very satisfied. however, For an extended stay, I think my 7 yr old would have gotten bored at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We highly recommended Le Bergerac! Great hotel with great service! This place is well located and pretty quite for this town. There is a restaurant inside the hotel offering good food for good value (here again, the service is great).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff was very, very helpful. I speak some Spanish, but they were able to communicate in both English and Spanish when I wanted. They were always friendly and eager to help out from directions and suggestions to booking a cab to and from the airport and around town. They were always quick to follow-up via email before I arrived, as well.
The hotel is quiet and has a lot of sun. The private patios were nice for relaxing when you wanted to be outside, but not around other people. The restaurant staff was wonderful, too, and I loved the service, fresh fruit, and juices every day. Nice quaint hotel with a little character. I really appreciated the Internet, as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Eduardo, Sayra and Erik were wonderful. Sayra was so helpful with booking shuttles and tours, etc. but, they didn't seem to know the pulse of young 30 something entertainment. Also, there is no pool, which equals no reason to be there during day. $120/night, just might not be worth it next time. But again, the place is very well kept and I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Also, downtown is only about a 25 min walk...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bergerac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.