We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and personable staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Bergerac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 85 hotels in San Jose
1 review
“Very clean and personable staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay here. We were traveling with a Tauck Tour, and the staff was very attentive to our needs.
The food was excellent!
The hotel grounds were beautiful and relaxing on the patio. This was our first stay in San Jose, and if we get a chance to return, we would definitely come back to Hotel Le Bergerac

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    98
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
120
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very well located in a quiet place.
Hôtel de charme style with a very friendly and easy going service.
The personnel is dedicated to help the client.
The rooms are big, well equipped but may be not as cosy as one would expect in such a boutique hotel. There is probably some room for improvement (ie in making them more personalized)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

this is my 4th visit to costa rica, but first time to stay a night in san jose. we were stopping over in san jose for one night before moving on to another destination. the hotel was ideal. rooms were clean, staff friendly and the location is close enough to the center of town (about $3 by taxi) but far enough to be away from all the bustle. They allow you to exchange up to $100 into colones at a very reasonable rate, and you can buy your airport exit taxes too. One caveat, we only stayed one night and spent most of the time sightseeing, so we really used it primarily to sleep, bath and breakfast, but it was perfect for that. Very satisfied. however, For an extended stay, I think my 7 yr old would have gotten bored at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We highly recommended Le Bergerac! Great hotel with great service! This place is well located and pretty quite for this town. There is a restaurant inside the hotel offering good food for good value (here again, the service is great).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The staff was very, very helpful. I speak some Spanish, but they were able to communicate in both English and Spanish when I wanted. They were always friendly and eager to help out from directions and suggestions to booking a cab to and from the airport and around town. They were always quick to follow-up via email before I arrived, as well.
The hotel is quiet and has a lot of sun. The private patios were nice for relaxing when you wanted to be outside, but not around other people. The restaurant staff was wonderful, too, and I loved the service, fresh fruit, and juices every day. Nice quaint hotel with a little character. I really appreciated the Internet, as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Eduardo, Sayra and Erik were wonderful. Sayra was so helpful with booking shuttles and tours, etc. but, they didn't seem to know the pulse of young 30 something entertainment. Also, there is no pool, which equals no reason to be there during day. $120/night, just might not be worth it next time. But again, the place is very well kept and I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Also, downtown is only about a 25 min walk...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've been going to Le Bergerac every year since 2005, and besides the restaurant, it has been kept pretty much the same. Unfortunately, the restaurant has declined with the passing of years. It used to be one of the best restaurants in the area, but about 4 years ago, the quality of the food suffered terribly.
Hotel is cute, elegant and cozy. Service is courteous, accommodating and helpful.
Although TV is rather small, rooms are very clean, tastefully decorated and pretty comfortable; but - in my opinion - have 2 major flaws:
1.1 Rooms have no air conditioner; only a ceiling fan. Although San Jose's temperature is nice, it tends to vary significantly during the night. You can go to sleep at 11 pm and the temperature would be about 23ºC (73ºF), which is nice for sleeping, but it can drop to about 16ºC (60ºF) at about 3 am; so you would have to get up to get a blanket in the middle of the night. In other words, you can't control and maintain temperature to your liking.
1.2 Rooms have no air conditioner and windows have no mesh; so you have 2 options: keep the windows closed, which doesn't allow air to flow, so you feel the air in the room lacks oxygen; or keep the windows open and let all sorts of bugs - including mosquitoes - into the room.
2. Shower heads are the water saving kind; which spray an uncomfortable mist, that can be either too soft to remove soap and shampoo, or too rough, which can feel like a thousand needles on your face and skin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's away form the street, or you'll hear every vehicle going in either dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
Boutique, City...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#9 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose, Costa Rica
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bergerac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.