We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Bergerac” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Bergerac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 85 hotels in San Jose
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Le Bergerac”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My sister and I stayed here after a week of driving around Costa Rica. It was a fabulous destination to end our trip before heading to the airport the next day. We were able to walk easily to the Teatro Nacional and see a little bit of San Jose. The service at the hotel was excellent. We dined at the restaurant there and enjoyed our meal and our waiter, Erick, was fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Bergerac during your stay in San José and for taking a few minutes to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, the service we provided and the meals. Erick was proud to read your lines and to know that he made a good impression on you.
Please give all our best to your sister and please consider Le Bergerac next time you visit our beautiful country!

Hasta la próxima!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    98
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
120
25
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Immaculate, very attractive rooms, a small but varied menu of very good food in the restaurant, excellent service throughout. The hotel is somewhat out of the way, with little access to shopping, etc., but it is a short cab ride to the center of the city. We would certainly stay at this comfortable, reasonably priced hotel again, and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our property. Our wooden floors, handmade furniture and surrounding tropical gardens make each and every room cozy and comfortable. As you have mentioned, we have a small menu at our Cyrano`s restaurant, however, you can find international cuisine but also can experience real Costa Rican food such as black soup, Arroz con pollo, tres leches, etc.
We are located 20 minutes walking from San José downtown and its main attractions. However, near Le Bergerac you will find a shopping mall, international restaurants, supermarket (all within walking distance)
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Bergerac meanwhile 5 times ( usually once a year for a stay of one week each) and it has been always a pleasure to be there. The staff and service team is very friendly, always helpfull and anticipating what is needed. I like the rooms,very clean and nicely decorated, especially those rooms that go out to the mountains and have a balcony are really nice. I meanwhile really feel like being at home whenever I am there and that is maybe the bext that one can say about a hotel. By the way: not to forget the restaurant where the (included) breakfast is served ( love that gallo pinto) and where one can have a nice dinner served by the friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for making Le Bergerac your home every year, we are always happy to see you again.
As we read your message we are pleased to know that the hotel and restaurant staffs, we both have accomplished our main goal which is to meet your expectations in service and hospitality.
Thank you for sharing your experience with other readers.

Nos vemos pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited San Jose for a few nights before leaving on a tour. We arrived mid-afternoon and were able to get massages in our room within an hour of our arrival. We had dinner at the hotel that evening and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the meal. Our room was on the second floor at the back with a small patio. The location was peaceful.

While the hotel is simple and quaint, the hotel staff were outstanding and very eager to make sure that our stay was the best possible. These employees went out of their way to help us out: Lilliam Vega, Sayra Torres, Euclides O'Campos, Erik and Kevin. We were treated almost as though we were the only people that they needed to take care of! They made excellent recommendations for dinner out and where to go shopping. When we asked about going on a tour, they were very knowledgeable and made an excellent recommendation for the "combo" tour - a visit to a local coffee plantation, visit to Poas volcano, and La Paz Waterfalls. When I had camera troubles, they were on the phone trying to find a place where I could get someone to help out.

Should we pass through San Jose again, we would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Bergerac during your stay at San José. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the meals, the room and the location.
Our staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed their service. We are always eager to help and provide our guests with information and recommendations so they can experience San José and its main attractions.
We hope to have the pleasure to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica.

Hasta pronto,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night between excursions to Arenal and Manuel Antonio. Service was great. Breakfast was wonderful. We liked the location, a bit east of downtown San Jose and not far from Mall San Pedro.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review!
We are happy to read that we met your expectations with our service, food and location.
Le Bergerac is located within walking distance, from commercial areas as the Mall San Pedro, supermarkets, restaurants and downtown San Jose.
Many guests use Le Bergerac as a homebase when travelling through out Costa Rica. We provide luggage storage in case they will like to travel lighter.
We can also assist our guests with travel arrangements such as: daily tours, transportation to diiferent destinations and hotel reservations.
We look forward to seeing you next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica!

Cordially,

Alejandra G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a stop over when transiting through San Jose. Like previous reviewers have said, the rooms are simple and elegant, and cover the basics although they are somewhat small. Management have done well to keep the French colonial theme going, which gives it quite a bit of character.

We had a room that was street side, so unfortunately noise was a problem (although this is not unique to this hotel). Check in process was easy, and staff were professional.

Recommended as a place to stay if you are not after a large, commercial hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for considering Le Bergerac during your stay in San José.
The elegant warmth of wood floors give each room an atmosphere of tranquility and elegance. The Standard rooms are the smallest rooms in the hotel. Our Superior, Deluxe and Superior are the biggest rooms as they have either one or two queen or king size beds each. These categories also have a private patio or terrace.
Our staff is more than happy to provide assistance to our guests to ensure a relaxing experience at the hotel.
When coming back to San José, please consider Le Bergerac.

Hasta pronto!

Alejandra G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms are simple, large, clean & comfortable. I would have really liked a coffee maker in the room. We stayed in December and the air is on the damp side, everything feels a little wet. AC would be a real treat to take out the humidity. The service was very good, both at the front desk as well as the restaurant. You can walk to a number of places from the hotel, and I heard it is a nice area for San Jose. However there is no charm to the neighborhood. We couldn't wait to get out of the city and found little to do there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We value very much your comments. Thank very much for sharing them with other TripAdvisor readers.
Even though, you do not find coffeemakers in the rooms, complimentary coffee is available during breakfast time, and after hours, it is available upon request. Restaurant and hotel staff is eager to help al ur guests so they can experience the Tico warmth and a great stay in San José.
In dowtown you can find: museums, theaters, markets, shopping centers, international restaurants. San José is also a excellent location for departure of different daily tours to volcanoes, canopy, rafting, national parks, coffee plantations etc.
Please consider our hotel, next time you visit Costa Rica,

Cordially,

Alejandra G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bergerac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.