We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Bergerac” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Bergerac

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Bergerac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Bergerac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Le Bergerac”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Overall I loved this hotel, the staff were amazing, they helped me with everything from picking us up at the airport to renting a car that was delivered and picked up at the hotel. Since driving in SJ is a bit of a challenge this was a real plus. The food was good and the rooms were clean. My only complaint was that on our last night we were put in a room that had just recently had the floors redone and it smelled strongly of the varnish..thought I could live with that for one night but then the noise from the lobby really travelled and I had trouble sleeping. Just a word of advice, make sure your room is well away from the top of the stairs and you will have an amazing experience. If it were not for that one little issue I would give them a 100%. BTW- I do blame myself in part for not insisting that they move me from the smelling room, which they would have gladly done. Bottom line, I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not at the top of the stairs. All the hard surfaces just make sound travel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reviews and recommending Le Bergerac to other travellers..
We are happy to know that everything went ok with the airport pick up service and the car renting.

We regret that you have not told us about the smell in your room the last night you stayed with us, we would have moved you to another room.

Thank you for telling us about the noise you got from downstairs, we will check that all the doors have the noise avoiders we have installed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our beautiful Costa Rica. Pura vida!

Alejandra García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    94
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
117
24
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Le Bergerac is a classic styled hotel. The furnishings are understated but very nice. The hotel staff offers splendid service. The grounds are lovely. Like the lovely the hand-blown chandelier in the lobby, the hotel is a treasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. They are wonderfully large. Rooms without a balcony are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers.

The chandelier, the main stairs, and some furniture in the lobby are original from the house built in 1940`s. All the rooms have wooden floors and handmade furniture that provides our guests a quiet and relaxing ambience. The gardens and its tropical flowers make our hotel an oasis of tranquility in the heart of San José.
Our staff is focused in giving a personalised service. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed yourself in Le Bergerac.

Please consider our property next time you visit Costa Rica.

Cordially at your service!

Alejandra García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Le Bergerac, is very beautiful clean hotel, its small but the staff was very attentive to our needs, they have a shuttle service that picks you up from the airport at a low cost that is added to your hotel bill, and they also include breakfast, which was very good, the grounds are very secure and its close to everything , for a group of 8 adults we really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Le Bergerac.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second level have an awesome view, the rooms on the lower level are more secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBergerac, Assistant Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Bergerac and that you have shared your experience with others.

It makes us proud to know that the staff met your needs taking good care of you with the rooms, the pick up sevice at the airport, the Costa Rican breakfast at Cyrano´s restaurant.

We hope the 8 of you had a wonderful time in our beatiful Costa Rica and that we could have the pleasure to see you on your next trip.

Hasta pronto y Pura vida!

Alejandra García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First night in Costa Rica and our tour company had reserved us a room at this hotel. They like to choose local hotels rather than international chains... I like that. Support the local community and and what a gem this was!
Located on a quiet street more like a residential area, the rooms were big and clean, bathroom was also big and clean (had a hair dryer too), and the little courtyard off our room had a table, two chairs and was private and surrounded by gorgeous vegetation! Like I said, it resembled a residence more than a hotel in my opinion. (I have included some pictures)

Just up the hill to the main road and then right (up another hill) is a grocery store. Or, to the left on this main road was a Bagelman, a little coffee shop with food. Did not get there so I can not report on it.

The next morning our Pacuare River rafting trip with Adventures Naturales picked us up in the Turismo Bus earlier than we could have breakfast so the hotel staff arranged coffee and croissants to be brought to us. What a wonderful touch! The bus was on time...so if you do an excursion, be ready! They will be there to pick you up smiling and full of "pura vida!"

On our way to the hotel, our airport pick up driver suggested a restaurant down the hill on the main road called Nuestra Tierra. It was a good walk, a bit of a distance though so if walking is not your thing try elsewhere. (and watch out for the sidewalks! they are in terrible shape) Order a coffee...it will be quite a conversation piece! I have not laughed so hard in a long time... I will leave it at that. Across the street from Nuestra Tierra was a block of local vendors shops. Similar to a flea market. So after we ate we walked through and looked at all the souvenier stuff.

As for the Hotel, it was a short visit but very comfortable. Staff was so friendly and carried our bags to our rooms. If you want a taste of local flavor...I would certainly consider Hotel Le Bergerac!

Room Tip: This hotel does have stairs leading to rooms further down the hill. If walking and stairs are not ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for telling other readers your experience in our property. We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed our services and stay even though it was a short one.
The artisans market is right across from the restaurant you mentioned and also is the National Museum, the Gold Museum, the National Theater, all of them within 20 minutes walking distance. However, public buses going to San Jose downtwon can be taken at the corner of the hotel as well as regular taxis.
We hope you can consider Le Bergerac next time you visit Costa Rica and can enjoy our delightful Costa Rican breakfast!

Pura vida!

Le Bergerac Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Bergerac for 2 days. My family loved it. The service was great and the staff very friendly. The hotel made transport arrangements for my family from San Jose to Fortunate and Manuel Antonio. The transport company was very reliable and professional. We'll definitely recommend it for a family or a somebody who would like to stay in a nice and small hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Le Bergerac. Our goal is to provide a personalized and reliable service so you could have an unforgettable trip in our beautiful Costa Rica.

Please give all our best to your family and we hope to see you in the near future.

Pura vida!

Le Bergerac staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

lovely private patio garden, walking distance to San Pedro Mall. in a quiet and safe area. coffee was phenomenal. staff was friendly.

it is older inside so you walls are sort of paper thin and floor makes a lot of sounds even tiptoeing so bring earplugs if you don't want to wake your roommates up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments.
Superior, Deluxe and Grande rooms offer private patios ideal for a quiet and relaxing stay.
All the rooms have wooden floors and as a matter of fact all of them were replaced 4 years ago. The hotel is made of 4 houses built in the 1940`s and all the walls are made of concrete.
We are sorry to read thet you had sounds in the room. If you had told us abut it, we would had move you to another room so you could spent a good night stay.
We hope you decide to stay at Le Bergerac, next time you visit Costa Rica, and enjoyd with us a delicious cup of Costa Rican coffee!

Cordially at your service!

Le Bergerac Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is very comfortable and the service is excellent. The rooms are ok: good beds, good tv, safety box and I had wi-fi connection for free.
The breakfast is included and its ok, it is the local breakfast: gallo pinto (rice and beans) and eggs, bread, coffe, fruits and juice.
There were fast foods restaurants nearby: KFC, Quiznos, and the mall is at walking distance.
I would stay there again.

Room Tip: My room had a small balcony, very nice view #12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebergerac, General Manager at Hotel Le Bergerac, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking you time and reviewing Le Bergerac!
We are more than happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. All the rooms have digital safety boxes, ceiling fans, double, queen or king size beds, LED flat screen, cable television, direct phone and WI-FI.
You can enjoy our delicious complimentary Costa Rican breakfast in our Cyrano`s restaurant on in its exterior terrace surrounded by tropical gardens.
Within walking distance you can find a supermarket, fast food and international restaurants as well as shopping Malls, movie theaters and museums.
We will be eager to have you as a guest once again next time you visit our beautiful Costa Rica.

Best regards,

Le Bergerac Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Bergerac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bergerac

Also Known As:
Le Bergerac Hotel
Le Bergerac San Jose
Hotel Le Bergerac Costa Rica/San Jose
Address: Calle 35 Los Yoses entre avenida 8 y central, San Jose 1107, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Bergerac 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 25 comfortable, colorfully furnished rooms, nine of which are small standard rooms whilst the remainder, from superior to luxury, all have a small private garden patio or balcony.Many of our touring guests have commented on how they look forward to returning to the peace, quiet and comfort of our small hotel. Free services include continental breakfast, Wi Fi and internet connections in all rooms and Secure parking.We can arrange airport pickup and transfer to Le Bergerac, situated in the old embassy district of Los Yoses. Our beautiful hotel is within minutes of the downtown city, while the rest of the incredible central valley is also easily accessible.The hotel has an experienced staff of well trained management that will delight in helping you with any travel or tour arrangements throughout the whole of this exciting and beautiful country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Bergerac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Bergerac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.