We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't regret staying here.....It's fabulous !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel Don Carlos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
PORTLAND,OREGON
2 reviews
“You won't regret staying here.....It's fabulous !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

This is not your BIG BOX hotel. It is charming,has great Costa Rican history and is close to downtown .The front desk was able to book some tours for us,the best was the canopy tour. The zip lines were great . The hotel has a large gift shop and the prices seemed in line with other shops
The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was a nice seating area by our rooms where we were able to visit with other guests.
The restaurant had great food and service. I would recomend staying here to all my friends!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    120
    48
    18
    9
See reviews for
56
104
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Location was perfect for me close to center of San Jose for shopping. Establishment was very clean and well maintained. Exceedingly courteous, helpful, professional staff with many english speakers, which I needed. I was impressed with the extensive original art collection displayed throughout the hotel. Restaurant is very nice with outdoor seating available and serving tastey, inexpensive meals. Made purchase of gifts at the gift shop of which I considered reasonably priced. Would not hesitate staying there again and recommending the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

I had visited Don Carlos on earlier trips to shop their gift shop, but finally stayed there this time. Everything about this Hotel is great. The beauty of the hotel with the artwork, fountains, and decor is the best. Location is right near downtown, but in the beautiful Barrio Amon area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I liked the hotel and having lived in the city for so long. The neighborhood was not that big a distraction. I would take children to this hotel. Two things that ruined the stay where the breakfast (awful) and getting bit by bed bugs.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Realy nice. Good food i the restaurant as well.
It is colonial styl hotel whit big roms at nice patio.
Recomended for a romantic weekend!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We selected Hotel DOn Carlos based on previous reviews from this site, on the artwork they are said to have and for its price/quality. The hotel's common area boast with paintings and other artifacts and the staff is very friendly and helpfull (they even kept some clothes we forgot until our return). However, after two weeks in Costa Rica's tropical jungle, after successfully fighting of the country's mosquitos, I would have never imagined we would be attacked by bed bugs in the capital city, in a 4-star hotel! We were two families with 2 young children each, and both families were bitten in two different rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

This hotel has regular rooms and superior rooms for about $10 more. We visited during green season so the front desk staff had the time to give us a tour and show us a few rooms. The standard rooms were nice, clean and comfortable looking. The two superior rooms we saw were both unique and fun. We ended up taking one at the back of the hotel with a private stairway that went up to a small suite which reminded me of something out of a Harry Potter movie. There was something magical about the room and the hotel.
An earlier post metioned the nearby Peruvian restarant, Las Palmas Grill. We have to disagree with that review. We both love Peruvian cooking and this place is an abomination. We ordered the Causa A La Limena which is a traditional modern Peruvian stack with potato, shrimp, avacado and spice. How can this possibly be bad, right? This one was insipid. For my main dish I had the Aji de Gallina which is supposed to be chicken in a sauce of cream, walnuts, cheese, and spicy Peruvian peppers. It can be a truly amazing and unique dish. Here it was basically chicken a la king from a boil bag. I don't think there was even a walnut in the room where it was prepared. Just terrible. My wife ordered Picante de Camarones. This is supposed to be a delicious spicy shrimp dish. Here it was bland and uninteresting. This was the most expensive meal we had in our two weeks in Costa Rica, it was also by far the worst meal. Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.