We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upscale, excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel Don Carlos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“upscale, excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying the night at Hotel Son Carlos. We had a stop over between Antonio Manuel and LA Fortuna. The hotel is historic as a former presidential residence and is located in a central part of San Jose.The staff was helpful in assisting us to book a rental car over the Thanksgiving holiday and offered us a free drink from the bar upon arrival.The included breakfast was wonderful. Our room was very spacious, had a delightful bathroom and was comfortable. The hotel also has a few indoor/outdoor sections where the weather and birds meet beautiful sculptures, artwork and nooks to enjoy Costa Rican coffee. Additionally, there is a lovely gift shop supplied only by local artists and artisans. My wife and I took a recommendation from a friend that is from San Jose to stay at Hotel Don Carlos and we are very glad we did.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    133
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
64
122
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very nice and quaint hotel. Very well situated and easy to get to. It has a very good restaurant with very good food.
This is a very charming hotel and the employees are very accommodating. The rooms are spacious And very clean. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was started by an expert in pre-Colombian art who set it up as a guesthouse for researchers, archeologists, intelligent. Has a huge collection of local art and archeological reproductions, plus lots of nooks and crannies to sit peacefully and chat or relax. Interior is very spacious and quaint. Lovely outdoor garden area with tiny pool where you can watch the local birdlife. Restaurant is typical Costa Rican food -- good service, inexpensive, tasty, and filling. Ceviche is great.
Excellent gift shop with local art and crafts. Brief walk to downtown area. Gold museum is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at the Don at least a half dozen times and when friends from out of the country go to San Jose this is where we recommend they stay. The location is excellent, the ambience is Costa Rican and the service is outstanding. The amazing art collection and comfortable lobby areas make this a destination in and of itself. It is an older building, so if you want a brand new corporate chain hotel stay elsewhere, but it will be your loss. You can rely on the gentlemen at the front desk for solid restaurant recommendations , directions and they can even tell you the best place to bumpy what you are looking for. All of the staff is friendly and helpful. I would give it 10 stars if I could.

Room Tip: If you have a problem climbing stairs or have a lot of luggage be sure to tell them you need a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Like many guests, we stayed here for one night prior to taking a flight out of San Jose. The hotel has a lot of charm and the staff in reception and in the restaurant were all most friendly and helpful. Many of the older buildings in San Jose have been destroyed to make way for offices, impersonal hotels or even parking lots, and it is refreshing that the Don Carlos remains intact. The hotel is on the north side of the city centre and has a lot of charm. It is quite an easy walk into the city centre. We didn't feel threatened even at night but can understand that this may happen on occasions. We liked the hotel notwithstanding the rather dated look and feel to the bedrooms which would require attention if the hotel were to attract guests wanting to stay for much longer than one night. We thought the pricing was good value for money and the sheer quirkiness of the hotel made for a memorable visit.

Room Tip: Room 25 was quite a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valence, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

After arriving in Costa Rica we stayed one night in San José before moving on to Limón. For the city that was more than enough, I find it an ugly city where I do not feel safe. The dangerous areas are incredibly photogenic for street photography, but it gets crossed off the map for tourists as an absolute NO GO.
Hotel Don Carlos is nice. We had spacious rooms with AC, and a view on the hotel's backyard and city. The public areas of the hotel are filled with little corners to lounge in, and national art or historic items. A free glass of punch on arrival, a safe in the room when you place a deposit, and a good breakfast in the morning with very friendly staff made this one fine stay for the night.

Room Tip: Invest a little more when possible to take one of the bigger rooms. The smaller ones are incredibly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The place is definitely eccentric with lots of art, history, and quirky touches throughout. I'm not sure how "authentic" it all is, but there are plenty of curiosities to explore which make this place maybe worth checking out for a night. The location is nice as well, on a quiet street just a few blocks from the city center. The rooms are very dated though, and there is zero sound barrier between rooms. We aren't too picky about this kind of stuff, but this place is quite ancient for the price - toilets don't flush well, broken beds, old upholstery, cloying flourescent lights, etc. Also, yes, the place is small, but doesn't have that quaint, owner-operated kind of personal service that we usually prefer. The service felt more corporate to us, even though it's an independent place. It's clearly been operating for a long time and doesn't really have that personal feel anymore. Could definitely use a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#15 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#20 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#24 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Jose
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.