We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Don Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel Don Carlos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for shorts days. is a real colonial Building. The romos are largers, basic ist not luxurious.
The staff was the best are terrific. they help us in everything.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    128
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
59
119
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Also, the location can't be beat either. Very close to all downtown attractions, and a nice little restaurant, especially for sitting outside. Very helpful staff and a welcome drink as well. Parking onsite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I just came back from my second trip to Costa Rica...and again spent my last day at Hotel Don Carlos. The staff is exceptional and responds promptly by phone or email. I would recommend a room not on the first floor (too noisy with street traffic and folks arriving late). The hotel is chock full of culture, sitting areas, outdoor dining, etc. rooms are great. The food in the dining area is very good but the staff there did not speak much, if any English...and service was slow. But you know what... It was part of the culture...it made me relax and enjoy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. When I arrived this time, they did have someone to help with luggage. A delightful man who is a deaf mute...with a fantastic attitude and huge smile! Loved him!

Room Tip: Not on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

e only had one night here en route to the Caribbean Coast.
We did not arrive until 2200.
It is a beautiful building and full of artwork and wonderful ceramic tiles. It is on several levels with different courtyards, adding real charm to this old colonial building.
The bedrooms are large but rather basic, as is the bathroom. However it is all clean.
We had to leave early the following morning and there was no problem with the staff providing us with a packed breakfast.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would have been OK as the street outside does not appear to be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed here the first night of our last two trips to Costa Rica. Nice little place with all sorts of interesting artwork. We spent the mornings, before breakfast, just looking at it all. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were impressed that on our last trip, with the plane more than 4 hours late, our midnight arrival went smooth. Breakfast is good, best enjoyed on the streetside seating where you can watch the sparrows, doves, and parrots along with the waking city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is glamourous upon arrival, the architecture, paintings and attention to detail make you think that you have found a pure gem of a hotel to stay at! Alas, once you are inside your room it becomes quite obvious that external appearances are misleading! There is so much going on outside keeping the grounds spotless, the tiled floors polished,the waterfall area neat and tidy....that they have lost focus on the main reason tourists stay at your hotel.....for a good clean bedroom, bathroom and a good bed for some quality sleep! Needless to say, the bathroom smelled awful and even though we were staying only one night my wife had us buy some disinfectant to clean the bathroom. The carpet by the bed was quite dirty and the wooden flooring had been moped but was also dirty.......if you wiped a damp cloth on the floor it came up black! The beds matteress was worn out and had seen better days numberous years ago at which time it shoud have been retired. Another thing missing is a small refridgerator....especially in a hot climate! Maybe they want you to purchase your drinks at the bar, but if you have water or food...you are at a loss! Once again, the front desk staff were exceptional and the breakfast excellent! It is really sad that the management can not see that if they rectified these problems that they would have a GEM of a hotel and one of a kind in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the waterfall and common area as I am sure that in peak season it gets very noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went through a travel agency for our trip to Costa Rica and we stayed here for our first night
in Costa Rica. We flew into San Jose and Hotel Don Carlos is about 20 min from the airport so you get a nice view of the city. We had a shuttle drive us there. If you do not know the city we recommend having a shuttle it is a little confusing to drive. We did get a rental car to drive to Arenal and it was well worth it since we were given very good directions from our travel company. Hotel Don Carlos was a very unique place to stay. Historical, food was excellent and service was good. Rooms are clean and older but go with the historical feel of hotel. We enjoyed staying here for the feel of Costa Rica. If you do not want to stay 20 min from hotel then this would not be where you would want to stay. There are other hotels to stay at closer.
If you plan to go to Guanacaste area or Tamarindo fly into a closer airport like Liberia because we were unaware that San Jose was about 3 to 4 hours from Tamarindo.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms were very quaint and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.