We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel Don Carlos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed at several places in San Jose but always end up going back to Don Carlos. Rooms are spacious , clean and comfortable, staff are very helpful , interior is well decorated with Costa Rican art and the location is good for going to restaurants in the area without going too far in the dark. Don' t recommend walking around San Jose at night in any case.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    130
    56
    19
    9
See reviews for
61
120
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from a trip to the rain forest, just for one night while we waited for our flight. It was a very unique layout, with little courtyards and fountains to walk through to get to each room. We were greeted with welcome beverages and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very nice - a good size, clean and a nice bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance to a nice little town center with parks and places to sit, and there was a lovely shopping center nearby as well. We wished we had more time to stay here a few more nights!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Good service, great restaurant with a wonderful waiter, a limited dinner menu but very good breakfast buffet, and a nice, clean room. The hotel is wonderfully decorated with many drawings and Costa Rican art. It is close to downtown but in a better neighborhood than other hotels we watched on our search in San Jose. All services we requested were completed in a timely manner by the hotel staff. Overall, we stayed there for 3 nights ($ 80 each night, superior room, low season, and with a rebate).

Room Tip: Take a look at the rooms before you take it. Some rooms have a nice view, and lots of light especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I should preface this by stating that I haven't actually spent any time in San Jose OUTSIDE of the Don Carlos.

We booked our trip through Costa Rica Sun Tours, and they took care of making these arrangements for us, but I can absolutely say that we'd choose to stay here on another trip through San Jose. For anyone flying into San Jose before moving on to other parts of the country, the Hotel Don Carlos is a perfect stop-over hotel for the night you get in and the night before you leave. We stayed here after arriving in San Jose, and we stayed here again at the end of our vacation the night before we returned home.

The hotel is adorable and charming, and the staff is welcoming. Upon our first arrival here, we were given a free round of drinks to welcome us here. I believe that the tradition is a fruit punch o some sort, but we were offered a Guaro Sour and accepted it happily. Next, we ordered dinner and I tried my first Casado Tipico Comida, the typical Costa Rican dish of rice, beans, chicken (or another meat), and plantains (my favorite!). It was tasty, and a great introduction to Costa Rica.

We had an early bus the morning we left and would be departing before the included (complementary) breakfast started at 7am, so they had a breakfast box arranged for us so that we'd have some fruit and coffee on our way out. I think this was a really nice and courteous gesture.

As for a pool, they have one, technically, but it's more like a fountain that apparently you can wade in. I've never seen anyone in it, but it exists.

All in all, this is a great spot in San Jose that's the perfect place to crash when you get into Costa Rica, and the perfect place to unwind as you prepare to leave. I'd definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-9 are in the cute little courtyard area in the middle of the hotel, away from the registrati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Let me start by saying Don Carlos still offers a clean and quaint atmosphere. I have stayed at the Don Carlos in the past and just loved it (you can read my past review). However, the friendliness has left the building. Ironically, there were several of the same staff members as last time I was there (a year ago) but they seem to be unhappy this time around. What was missing from before? Smiles, hospitality, and the feeling of being welcome. I never hesitated to praise Don Carlos in the past, today however, I am disappointed and today I would not recommend Don Carlos:(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Under normal circumstance, I would’ve given this hotel a decent rating, however, several events unfolded that ruined an otherwise perfect vacation. Upon arriving to the airport at 4am, I realized that the camera I took out of my bag the night before to take a picture was left behind in the hotel room. The camera was left behind accidentally, but a pair of boots and two beach towels were intentionally left as well-they weren’t necessary and would have been more a burden than anything else to try and return to the states. When inquiries were made about the camera, no mention was made to the other items left behind-items that irrefutably and beyond a shadow of a doubt were in the hotel.

Though the hotel management was adamant that their staff is of the highest integrity, the absence of any mention of the boots or towel immediately indicates that the objects were taken by some unscrupulous staff member between our departure and the search. This readily suggests that there is a fundamental lack of integrity in the establishment. Additionally, a $300 reward was offered for the camera, or the option to keep the camera but return the memory card which held priceless memories, however, the hotel was unable to return my property and instead insisted that I must’ve left all of these belongings elsewhere.

Room Tip: In addition to the theft, the rooms have windows that only open within the the hotel (not to the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was out second time staying at Hotel Don Carlos. We love it! Old and charming hotel in a nice part of San Jose. Great place to stay when you arrive in Costa Rica and a nice place to stay the night before you leave Costa Rica. Rooms are a good size and clean. Not the most comfortable beds but the cool vibe of the place makes it worth the stay. From Hotel Don Carlos you can walk to parks and restuarants. I felt a lot safer in this area than I did 4 years ago. There were green parrots right outside our room too. The breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: We were a family of 4 so they put us in the family suite. 2 single beds on one side and one queen si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#13 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#14 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#12 of 86 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#19 of 86 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Carlos

Address: Avenida 9 y Calle 9, San Jose, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Don Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Don Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Carlos Hotel
Don Carlos San Jose
Hotel Don Carlos Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.