We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, very family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Grenada
1 review
“Wonderful hotel, very family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed here our first night in Costa rica, no problem getting there from the airport by taxi. Staff was so friendly. And we woke up the next morning to hands down the best breakfast experience in Costa Rica! Everything you could ask for, in a beautiful garden setting. Great for kids, we have a 3 year old and there were at least 3 other kids her age staying there. Loved it. And the best hot shower we had during our week-long stay at other hotels around the country.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    249
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
246
67
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

I stayed here with my best girl friend this April for a couple of nights before venturing off to see the rest of Costa Rica.

We arrived late at night, and were able to easily check in. Taxis are well aware of this place and so we had no trouble at any time during our stay getting to or from the hotel. The location is lovely, not too close to downtown so it's not noisy and has a safe feel, but it is just close enough to walk. We walked to downtown several times, and were able to easily find our way there and back, by taxis and on foot.

Everything you need is close to the hotel, restaurants, and little stores.. the front desk sells international calling cards, and also exchanges money, so it's very convenient.

The front desk staff was overall very kind, though there was one clerk who was a little difficult to handle, seemed as if he had a chip on his shoulder. Breakfast was good though we only had it once in three nights.. served from 7-9 and they offer omelettes, lots of breads and pastries, fruit, gallo pinto, cereal and other choices.

The breakfast area is beautiful with a huge garden and tables set up to eat at. The whole hotel is full of pretty sitting areas and mini gardens, as well as a patio for smoking. There is parking out front (though we didn't drive).

We stayed in room 1, and though charming, there were a few problems. The bathroom was really tiny.. smaller than an American closet. We literally could not fit two girls in there at once. The shower didn't work. Period. The water practically trickles down the wall and a couple of mornings we didn't even have hot water. There is also peeling paint and mildew in the shower and bathroom..

Our room faces right onto the street, and parking area for Hotel Aranjuez and as a result, we had zero privacy, and couldn't have natural light because you could literally see right into our room from the street if you opened our blinds. We had them open for awhile until we realized people were staring at us from outside.

Rooms are equipped with TVs and a safe, as well as outlets to plug in any electronics you may need to charge or use. They have free WiFi for guests as well as telephones in the room.. but our telephone had a problem with it.

We would give this hotel another shot for sure, but would request a different room next time! For $39/night it's a great value and we were more than willing to overlook some of the problems we encountered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

This is a great little budget hotel in a quaint residental area of San Jose. For the price it has everything you could ask for and more - wireless high speed, parking, fantastic breakfast which is included, big clean rooms. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is friendly and is very good value for your money. It seems pretty safe too. I know it looks like a good place to stay for your whole vacation, but I wouldn't stay in San Jose the entire time the next time I visit Costa Rica. It takes a loooooong time to get anywhere fun and beautiful - volcanos, rainforest, beach, etc... I would stay at Hotel Aranjuez for only the beginning and end of your stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

When we arrived in San Jose we stayed in Kaps Place which we had booked in advance, whilst our 2 friends discovered Hotel Aranjuez across the road. They absolutely raved about it and we too were impressed by what we saw, and couldn't quite believe that not only was Aranjuez much nicer, but it was also almost half the price of what we were paying at Kaps Place.
So, on our way out of Costa Rica, we chose to spend our last night in San Jose at Hotel Aranjuez, which turned out to be the best place we stayed during our whole trip!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants, booking taxis and giving advice.
There is free internet access, free coffee, and the rooms are beautifully clean, all unique and very comfortable. The walkway through the hotel separated by little garden areas gives the whole place an airy feel, and the old fiurntiture makes it feel like you are in someone's home. All this for only $26 for a double room per night! This was for a shared bathroom but this was also spotless with a big hot water shower, a welcome relief after a couple of weeks of cold water elsewhere in Costa Rica!
All this before I even mention the BREAKFAST whcih was also included in the price. UNBELIEVABLE! Fresh pancakes, omelettes and eggs, as well as a buffet of home baked bread and cakes, fruit, cheese and ham.
All in all a brilliant find and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed at both the apartments and the hotel. My party had a total of 5 rooms. They were all large and clean. The hotel is in a nieghborhood so its more quite then other hotels and safe enough to walk to dinner in the evenings. The breakfast is wonderful. Fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes etc. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. Also, a great place for dinning is Cafe Mundo within walking distance. There is also corner store for munchies. We just loved it!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in March and would definitely return. The rooms are clean and affordable. Our first night we stayed in room 2 and found it to be very noisy as it is right on the street and on the hotel's two gated parking spots. The other two nights we got a different room and had no problem with noise. Downtown is about a twelve-minute walk. Have someone point you in the right direction, as it is easy to get turned around (the street names in SJ are rarely posted at intersections). The neighborhood has seen better days but is hardly threatening. Take reasonable precautions when out at night. If you arrive late on a Sunday, as we did, you can get some 7/11-style snacks and staples at the gas station three blocks away. We loved everything about our stay at this hotel. The breakfast is fantastic and the computer terminals are a convenience that you won't find at the more expensive hotels. The staff is courteous and professional. It is apparent that this spacious budget hotel is someone's labor of love. I would also add that the hotel seems to attract low-key and family-oriented international travellers (Americans included) who respect quiet hours. Lastly, if you encounter a cab driver who claims not to know the hotel, find another cab, as the hotel bears the name the neighborhood and is well known to locals.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I stayed there for a couple of days in march 2009- It is a good possibilty taking into consideration that it has rooms of $40 a day. It is quite clean and comfortable. The rooms are big and it has a nice place to have breakfast outside (if it is not cold!!!). The only thing I noticed is that it is a little away from dowtonwn (although not that far). It might have some importance if you want to go out for dinner considering the streets are a bit dark.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#12 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.