We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Aranjuez Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 85 hotels in San Jose
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“We loved the Aranjuez Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Arnajuez Hotel for two nights at the end of a 3 week trip through Nicaragua and Costa Rica. We loved the place. The rambling, strung together houses make the place sort of maze-ilke and my teenaged daughter loved that she could go off and find places to hang out and "face time" her friends in privacy, away from the adults but still within the hotel and entirely safe. The gardens are lovely, the breakfast are fantastic and plentiful, excellent service, what more could you want? We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear customer: Thank you for taking time for writing this review. Thank you for enjoying what Hotel Aranjuez offers: “a nontraditional and autochthonous lodging experience”. It is always very important to know that all the members of the family felt comfortable and welcoming. We are waiting to serve you in the very near future. ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    231
    41
    14
    12
See reviews for
91
227
62
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lovely stay in San Jose! Location was wonderful, gardens and breakfast devine. Friendly and helpful staff. We were travelling with young children, and the hotel was exciting and fun for them. Central for a nice city experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Russel: Thank you for your opinion. We are delighted to know that your children found "exciting and fun" our Hotel. We hope they keep this experience in his memory and the feeling of repeat it when they grow up. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is actually a group of homes that have been joined with various room arrangements (shared bath, private, and deluxe). The hotel has many lounging areas for reading, and conversation that are both inside and outside on the patios. There is also a new high rise (9 stories) with deluxe rooms which we had. Rooms were clean, comfortable and secure. Rate included secure parking.

We were referred to the hotel by an acquaintance and we are pleased with our decision. This is definitely not an American hotel and you can easily venture to see the nearby attractions, parks, and museums. Great restaurants nearby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Leo: Thank you for your commentary. In effect, Hotel Aranjuez is composed of two types of lodgments. The main one is made up of five houses that we keep as historical and architectural patrimony. The other one is a modern building that offers all the comfort of a recent construction, ideal for long stays. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the deluxe room located in the four floor of Apartamentos Aranjuez, with direct access by elevator. We are also very pleased that you have found attractive our location and all the restaurants located nearby. Thank you for including a photo of the garden of our dining room. We hope you visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Our stay was in May 2013. Our flights arrived and departed from San Jose, so we used Aranjuez Hotel as a coming and going point for the additional travel we planned for our trip. We arrived and stayed 2 nights before heading out for the rest of our trip and stayed again at the end of the trip before catching our flight home. The room was clean and the price was very reasonable, especially considering the incredible breakfast in the hotel garden that is included. Lots of fresh fruit, veggies - excellent vegetarian options and a beautiful setting in the garden yard that is between the homes that make up this hotel. The hotel is several older historic homes with covered open air pathways and lots of nice common areas, plants and art. The window and the door of our room opened into a covered walk with a garden across so we could hear the rain and the birds, and yet our exterior was not exposed to the street. The location is excellent for doing some exploring of the sites in San Jose. There is a hostel feel in that the other guests seemed to be mostly tourists / travelers such as ourselves from all different counties and all heading to different parts of Costa Rica. It was a great way to pick up travel tips and learn about places to visit in the area and in other areas of Costa Rica. Everything is within walking distance including places to eat, museums, shopping, etc. We used the hotel's service for planning our 3 day trip to Tortuguero that included transportation and lodging and everything went perfectly including an excellent guide (Alex), transportation, and no problems even with deviating from the trip to allow us to take a separate excursion to another location on our own before returning to San Jose to catch our flight. They also have information on local guides for local excursions. We used Experiencing Costa Rica with Laura and she was also excellent. Overall highly recommended and we will stay there again when we come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Desr Lucillebe: We much appreciate the time you have taking for writing this detailed review. Without a doubt, your comments will be very helpful for Trip Advisor users. Overall, we thank you for “highly recommending” us. For all of us, is a proud to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as for thinking in coming back. ¡Esperamos verle de nuevo muy pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southerners
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a four week trip through Central America , and were delighted with the friendliness of all employees. Although the rooms were basic, they were clean and spacious. Breakfast has to be seen and eaten to be believed, with pancakes cooked to order. It's location was not as remote as it appears, and is easy walking to anywhere, and it felt safe at all times, to be recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest: For us is always a big pleasure to know that you felt “delighted with the friendliness of all employees”. We all are enchanted of receiving our guests and providing them the most pleasant stay. Our commitment is to leave in all our customers a memorable sensation of costarican hospitality. Thank you for recommending us. ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was quite by chance that I ended up at this hotel and I was so glad I did. I had the opportunity to view a room prior to committing to the cost of $35. Dollars a night. What I saw was a very large well appointed room with a very nice decor and wall mounted TV. The bathroom was very modern and well appointed and came equipped with a blow dryer. All this for $35. A night.......oh no, there's more. You also get a buffet breakfast which consisted of an assortment of fresh fruits, home made breads, beans and rice, salads, tomatoes, ham and cheese, eggs any style, coffee, juice , yogurt, and sweet desserts.

This hotel is located within walking distance to downtown San Jose but far enough away from the hustle bustle of heavy traffic.

The staff was amazing and so helpful in every way. Sandra the owner of the hotel should be very proud of her staff and the excellent job they do to make your stay feel like home.

My only complaint was that my room was adjacent to a small courtyard where parents would let their young children play in the early hours of the morning. This had nothing to do with the quality of the hotel. I didn't complain and luckily for me they only stayed a few days.

I would highly recommend this hotel for either a short or long stay.

Room Tip: All their rooms are lovely but if your not an early riser ask for a room furthest away from the comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Jane: For us it was a big pleasure to have you as our guest and I must say that all of us are enchanted by your comment. Thank you so much for all the kind words addressed about our services and specially our staff. As I have written in another commentary, we are very proud of them. They are always supporting us in all our policies for improving our customer service and the Hotel itself. We will keep working hard for honor your recommendation to future customers. As you have promised, we hope you visit us very soon. ¡Feliz regreso a casa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is an old hotel yet it is in a safe and quiet neighborhood. I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks when I went to study abroad in Costa Rica. It was the only apartment hotel I found in San Jose that was affordable. The kitchen is very simple. The room furniture is quite old and I believe it is up for an upgrade. We stayed on the 2nd floor room and the TVs were small old tube one's. The remote did not even work. The internet was not reliable. It would come and go. The cleaning ladies were so sweet.
Overall, it is a good stay but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Bates: We much appreciate your feedback. During this Green Season we have been working out in repairing all the furniture of the Apartments and painting. We are working hard for finishing this job at the end of this year. During 2014, we will continue changing the televisions in the standard and superior studios. The TV's of the superior plus and deluxe had already been changed. On the internet service, we must notify that at Costa Rica, the internet does not work every time as punctually as we are looking for. Nevertheless, we invite our customers to contact the Reception if they have any problem with the connection. Our Maintaining staff will provide support immediately if is something related with our system or will contact the company in charge for solving the problem. We will keep working for making the Apartments Aranjuez a better and affordable deal. Once again thank you for your comment that allowed us to know to which details we should give the priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.