We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, amazing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good price, amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was a bit concerned about the location but once we became familiar with our surroundings we felt better. It is walking distance to downtown San Jose. The service was great, and the food excellent. We would stay here again if we are ever back in San Jose.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Julia: Thank you for have written this review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Aranjuez and our breakfast. For providing better information about our location, we have included in our facebook a link to a map of the neighborhood and another one of the restaurants nearby. Our future customers will find in their rooms, our cultural map which includes the patrimony attractions located just at four or six blocks from the Hotel. Thank you for including a photo of our buffet breakfast. We hope you come back to Costa Rica and Hotel Aranjuez once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    249
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
246
67
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A delightful hotel reflecting a more real/local side of San Jose - provided a great atmosphere.
Rooms basic but very comfortable - a great atmosphere. While not right in the centre of the city it is within easy walking distance and provides some everyday living insights on the way. Breakfast was superb - a veritable feast of both the eyes and taste-buds - eating outside in the tropical garden too was a treat.

Room Tip: A room away from the reception area would be advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Amanda: We much appreciate you have considered Hotel Aranjuez as a “Hidden Gem”. Thank you for enjoying our “local” proposition. Our "vision" is introducing our guests to an autochthonous costarrican experience. The breakfast is a main point of this “vision” because in this way, we also introduce our customers to the costarrican food and native products. We will be very please of receiving you in our Hotel in the very near future. ¡Que le vaya muy bien!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at Aranjuez Hotel for a short conference in San Jose and loved it. It was very comfortable, very very affordable (I'm a student!), and the complimentary breakfast was absolutely delicious with a mix of American and traditional Costa Rican foods. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the space itself was truly unique (with so many hummingbirds in the ourdoor courtyard where breakfast is served).

The only downside - cab drivers could never seem to find it! If you come here, make sure you give the cab driver very clear directions (a map would be useful), and please don't walk around alone at night (I was told after my stay that it is not the safest neighbourhood after dark).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear guest: It is always stimulating to read that we achieve our goals of providing a “unique” and lovely stay. About the taxi problem, it is important to make sure of taking only official taxis (red color including an official number and company’s name). Unfortunately, some taxi drivers try to take visitors to others hotels or just pretend not to know the address for taking more time and extra-charge for the service. Please be aware of this situation. Our staff is ready to help you out and provide the best advice in this subject. On the security problem, as in any part of the world, we always suggest to follow the same preventions that we usually take back home at night time. Thank you so much for your review and we hope "verla de nuevo muy pronto".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I live in Costa Rica, but about 3 hours south of San Jose, so when we need to travel to the big city we always stay at Hotel Aranjuez - that's so long as I think far enough ahead and book as they are very popular!

We were introduced to the hotel by a friend and love it! It's located an easy walk from the city centre in the old barrio Aranjuez that has some of the nicest architecture. It is also near Café Mundo - our favourite restaurant!

The hotel is a converted series of houses and the old style has been maintained throughout with well-selected artwork and gardens. The breakfast patio is gorgeous - you can sit among the trees and flowering shrubs, or view from the patio, and the buffet breakfast is the best you can find in San Jose! Really worth the money.

We have had a few ups and downs with some of the rooms - showers not functioning etc. but the staff are always ready to sort out the issues. And they are great about arranging taxis and local info. I have not used their tour service - but there is one.

You will enjoy staying at Hotel Aranjuez - just make sure you book in good time!

Room Tip: Ask for the original building - the new annexe is comfortable enough but doesn't have the same c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JennyyPed : For us, is just a joy to have loyal guests as you. We much appreciate your preference. Thank you for the time you have taking for writing this commentary. We are sure this review will be very helpful for those who are thinking in booking a room at Hotel Aranjuez. We are always taking a “waiting list” during High Season. Always we receive last minute cancellations. Our Reservation staff will get in touch with the persons included in the list once they receive a cancellation. Also, we invite our customers to inform the Reception about any problem found in their rooms. They will look for solving the problem right away or they will move the customer to another room. Once again thank you for your review …y…¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is located up a quiet street in an historic neighbourhood 15 minutes walk from the centre of San Jose. The rooms are a bit basic but pleasant enough and adequate for what we required. The layout of the hotel is a interesting network of corridors branching out from various courtyards. The main courtyard where breakfast is served is a beautiful, peaceful oasis filled with tropical plants and birds. The breakfast itself was amazing and there was a real mix of foods on offer. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street outside so noise could have been a problem for light sleepers. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear PauliPlop.: We much appreciate the recommendation you are making of our Hotel. We are always happy to know that our customers enjoy the buffet breakfast included in our room rate as a bonus. Our customers must know that our rooms are part of the original houses. For this reason keep all the feeling and architectural details of those rooms. Besides, our rooms are “environmentally friendly rooms” equipped with LED lighting to reduce electricity consumption; high performance toilets, fed with rainwater collected through our Treatment Plant; showers and sinks with water reduction system; hot water heated by solar panels, dispensers with biodegradable bath products, furniture made by a craftsman in our joinery workshop with “cedar” and “caobilla” recuperating from old furniture. We hope you revisit us in the very near future. For us is just a big pleasure to receive the visit of old customers. ¡Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed the stay in the Hotel a lot. The rooms where ok. The bathrooms show some room for improvement, but the overall stay was good. As read on the webpage the breakfast was in fact very good and gave as a good opportunity to get used to local fruits and it was a good start for the day.
The surroundings of the hotel where something to get used to but according to the staff it was save. A nice little soda was in short walking distance.
The hotel was also in walking distance (20 min) to the city center, and the walk in the morning was a good chance to see the city.
Overall it was a good stay and the hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sigi: Thank you for enjoying the “autochthonous lodging experience” offered by Hotel Aranjuez. The breakfast is an important part of this offer. We had been working in the improvement of the bathrooms that permits so. Overall, we must respect the structure and architectural richness of the original houses, according to our commitment of rescue and preservation. Thank you for recommending us and we invite you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

During our trip to Costa Rica last June we decided to spend one night in San Jose before flying home. The original hotel I reserved, turned out to be in a not so good neighborhood as we did our research. A friend who has traveled to Costa Rica recommended the Aranjuez and it made our last day in country highly enjoyable. This is a moderately priced accommodation, do don't expect luxury appointments. What you do get is a quirky floor plan with lots of small places to sit and enjoy the splendid landscaping and tranquil environment they've created. Free Wi-Fi is robust and works well and the culminating factor in the enjoyment quotient is the fantastic buffet breakfast they serve each morning. Plentiful choices, fresh fruit, well prepared entrees make for a filling way to prepare for your trip to the airport. Staff is friendly and full of great recommendations for local businesses. If you need to stay in San Jose, I highly recommend the Aranjuez.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jerry: All our staff is proud of making your last day stay in Costa Rica “highly enjoyable”. We all feel happy of being in the “good way” for providing our customers what they deserve. Be sure that we will keep working in improving our customer service. We must thank you for “highly” recommending Hotel Aranjuez. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.