We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with local typical charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aranjuez Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aranjuez Hotel to your Saves list
Aranjuez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in San Jose
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with local typical charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We enjoyed the stay in the Hotel a lot. The rooms where ok. The bathrooms show some room for improvement, but the overall stay was good. As read on the webpage the breakfast was in fact very good and gave as a good opportunity to get used to local fruits and it was a good start for the day.
The surroundings of the hotel where something to get used to but according to the staff it was save. A nice little soda was in short walking distance.
The hotel was also in walking distance (20 min) to the city center, and the walk in the morning was a good chance to see the city.
Overall it was a good stay and the hotel can be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Sigi: Thank you for enjoying the “autochthonous lodging experience” offered by Hotel Aranjuez. The breakfast is an important part of this offer. We had been working in the improvement of the bathrooms that permits so. Overall, we must respect the structure and architectural richness of the original houses, according to our commitment of rescue and preservation. Thank you for recommending us and we invite you to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    250
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
98
246
67
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

During our trip to Costa Rica last June we decided to spend one night in San Jose before flying home. The original hotel I reserved, turned out to be in a not so good neighborhood as we did our research. A friend who has traveled to Costa Rica recommended the Aranjuez and it made our last day in country highly enjoyable. This is a moderately priced accommodation, do don't expect luxury appointments. What you do get is a quirky floor plan with lots of small places to sit and enjoy the splendid landscaping and tranquil environment they've created. Free Wi-Fi is robust and works well and the culminating factor in the enjoyment quotient is the fantastic buffet breakfast they serve each morning. Plentiful choices, fresh fruit, well prepared entrees make for a filling way to prepare for your trip to the airport. Staff is friendly and full of great recommendations for local businesses. If you need to stay in San Jose, I highly recommend the Aranjuez.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jerry: All our staff is proud of making your last day stay in Costa Rica “highly enjoyable”. We all feel happy of being in the “good way” for providing our customers what they deserve. Be sure that we will keep working in improving our customer service. We must thank you for “highly” recommending Hotel Aranjuez. ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful place, the room quite good, the staff pleasant and the location is at the right distance from the center. We only would have liked a pickup service from and to the Airport. Besides, we found very complicated the booking.
All the rest was super. We still miss those wonderful breakfasts......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Simonetta: Thank you for enjoying the services offered by Hotel Aranjuez. About the difficulties with the booking, we must let you know that we are working out to make it easy. In the next two months, we will offer booking online service. On the pick-up service, we include in our website our recommendations on this subject. Also, we send this information each time we confirm a reservation. We hope you will be able to come back soon and enjoy our breakfast once again. ¡Hasta entonces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Enjoyed three nights at this beautiful historic facility with two large courtyards full of tropical plants, trees, and local wildlife! No question, the best gourmet breakfast "feast" of our whole trip!! (buffet style w/ awesome chef, Javier.) Enjoyed birds, butterflies, and other wildlife while dining outdoors "under the trees". Also, found tasty food at a couple of local "sodas" within walking distance (1/2 to 2 blks). A bank is also close-by for currency exchange (2 1/2 blks), but we found the exchange rate at most businesses was higher. I would say the Aranjuez is more suited to "empty-nesters" or couples, but our family had a great time visiting a local children's museum nearby (5 min. cab ride) and a Poas volcano tour. (Gecko Trail Adventures) The hotel was a 20 min. cab ride from the airport ($26.00 USD for 4) and a 10 min. ride ($5.00 USD) to our bus terminal. The whole Aranjuez staff was very friendly and accommodating! Special thanks to Dennis at the front desk, who was also very professional, always had a friendly smile, and tolerated my poor Spanish!!

Pura vida en Jesus Cristo

Room Tip: Request supreme plus room # 5!! It was very quite and had an awesome "garden" view. (see u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Carl: We much enjoy reading your fairly specific comment about our Hotel feeling. We are sure that our future customers will appreciate a lot your advices. We give specially thank you for taking time for sharing with us and Trip Advisor users all this information and the 3 nice photos –specially the one of the kids watching the “bijagua” flower. We hope you and your family visit us in the near future. Once again ¡Muchas gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVERSIDE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just can not say enough about how good this place was.. The breakfast was just second to none. With the fresh baked goods everyday!

Staff is pleasant and super helpful.

Felt totally safe as my wife and daughter stayed there for a month!

Be sure to visit the farmers market just around the corner on weekends!

Room Tip: If you are doing an extended stay the apartments are nice and just across the street from the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ronald: We are very pleased that your wife and daughter enjoyed that much the month they spent at Hotel & Apartamentos Aranjuez. We are the ones who say thank you for choosing us. We must say that Javier, our Baker after 12 years, is always innovating baked specialties. For us, it is a great pleasure to feel the smell of freshly baked bread upon entering the dining room. We hope that future customers follow your advice of visiting the Organic Market on Saturday morning. Our staff is always inviting them to do so. At The Green Fair besides vegetables and fruits, you find jewelry, crafts, clothes and bags made of organically grown cotton fibers as well as artisan made jams, sauces, breads and pastries. The Fair is, overall, a meeting point for friends and family who share around a cup of coffee prepared by professional “baristas” at one of the many food booths. Once again: ¡Muchas gracias y hasta pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel itself is nice.
The prices are good.
The location is not the most ideal but If you are like me and dont mind a nice walk and prefer being away from the noise of city centers its a good location.
The rooms and beds are comfortable.
The staff needs some work. Some of the staff were very helpful.
Breakfast was good but they did not refill the food that was most popular once it was gone.

There were many errors by the staff. First they did not receive the reservation my friend and I had made. Ok no problem they had plenty of rooms available. They ask me to wait a minute. After waiting a couple hours I simply ask how much longer it will take because I want to go for a walk because its a beautiful day out and I dont need the room. They tell me they are doing me a favor by letting me check in early.. which I didnt ask for. I would have been just as happy leaving my stuff and going for a walk. After waiting a while longer I am finally allowed to check in. Then they put us in a better room than we had requested but charged us the higher price even though we had specifically requested the more economic option. I then asked to change rooms to a more economic one but they would not let us because we had used the bathroom. I know their English is not perfect but I also speak Spanish so there should be no communication problems. I felt both of the men at the reception were rude, but its probably not entirely their fault, I think its also a cultural difference, their attitude would not be acceptable in the US.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest: We much appreciate your feedback and we apologize about the errors mentioned by you. Our policy on early check-ins has always been to do everything is possible for not leaving customers waiting; at least it is strictly necessary. In this case, we communicate our guests how long can take to have a room ready. We offer while they waiting, the possibility of keeping the luggage in our luggage storage and we invite them to use the Internet Center or take a cup of coffee in one of our terraces. Our policy is also to provide the room’s category requested by our guest. Any upgrade is not charged to the customer. We just get in touch with all our Reception staff for refreshing training in this matter. Once again we apologize and we assure you that we are always after improving our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was so impressed with Aranjuez Hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed here just one night. Very much a quiet and peaceful vibe as opposed to a party vibe.

The breakfast buffet alone is worth the stay!
Food and service was good but really the atmosphere was beautiful and peaceful outdoor seating.

We stayed another night at a different hostel for the same price and we were sorely disappointed after our beautiful stay at Aranjuez.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AranjuezHotelCR, Propietario at Aranjuez Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear guest: We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the “quite and peaceful” stay that we are always looking to provide our customers. Thank you for planning to revisited us in the near future. ¡Hasta entonces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aranjuez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranjuez Hotel

Address: Calle 19, Avenida 11 & 13 | De la Iglesia Sta. Teresita, 200 mtrs. al norte, 200 mtrs. al oeste y 25 mtrs. al sur., San Jose 2070, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#5 Family Hotel in San Jose
#13 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranjuez Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live a true costa rican experience in our hotel. The hotel is build in 5 old fashioned followed costa rican houses and our breakfast is speechless!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Aranjuez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranjuez Hotel Costa Rica/San Jose

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aranjuez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.